Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sesame-Ginger Beef and Asparagus Stir-Fry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sesame-Ginger Beef and Asparagus Stir-Fry

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2009

      We really liked this and it came together quickly. I doubled the sauce recipe b/c I had a bit more than a pound of sirloin AND we like extra sauce for rice. I didn't use the fish sauce (we don't really care for it) instead did 1 tablespoon oyster sauce and 1 tablespoon soy sauce. Nice meal w/ingrediants I ususally have on hand. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      What a great tasting, wicked simple one-dish meal! I made only one change and one addition. The change was that I used blade instead of sirloin steaks (cut out the center line of gristle and then cut the two halves of each steak into thin strips). Blade steaks are more affordable than sirloin and stand up really well to pan frying. And I also added two carrots, cut on the bias into slices about 1/4", with the asparagus. Thank you Hey Jude, this was a real week-day winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      I decided to try this as a beef stir fry with a couple 16 oz. bags of frozen stir fry veggies that I had. I didn't have peanut oil or fresh ginger so, I used canola oil and ground ginger. I just mixed a teaspoon of ground ginger with the beef broth before adding it to the veggies. All in all this was really good and with a little tweaking I think it will be fantastic. Next time I think I'll add just a tad more ground ginger. It just needed a little more saltiness so I think a little more fish sauce or some soy sauce would take care of that. It was also a tad oily, so I'll cut the canola oil in half next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      We have an overabundance of fresh asparagus this year, so I gave this recipe a try. We loved it! I substituted soy sauce for the fish sauce and had to thicken it with a little more cornstarch at the end. I served it with pearl barley instead of rice because of a diabetic in the family. Next time I make it I might toss in a little more fresh ginger. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2010

      This was very good ! I did not have any fish sauce so I just used soy sauce and that worked really well. I also doubled the sauce recipe so we would have a little extra to serve over our Rice. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2010

      Thanks jude for this recipe, i did some changes on it. I marinate the beef with salt, pepper, wostershire sauce, oyster sauce and minced fresh ginger just put right amount of these ingr. for like 4 hours or longer if u want.. then i followed the recipe.. I used red bell pepper and potatoes since i dont have asparagus. ff. the procedure to plus I added right amount of wostershire sauce, after 1 minute, I add some oyster sauce, and mixed knorr beef to 1 cup of water and put it in the wock. to make the sauce thicker put some water on a cup mixed with 1 tbsp of cornstarch then mixed it in the wock just right amount of it. the more u let it boil the more the taste of the ginger will have. put some sugar to make sure not a lot coz it will have a weird taste. if u put a lot just add some oystersauce... when the sauce is thick i then add the cooked beef and add on some sesame seeds and well done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      This was really good. My husband doesn't eat asparagus so we used red and green peppers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2009

      Thanks for a delicious, week-night recipe! We used shaved beef instead of cutting up sirloin (it was on sale!) and it turned out really well. We meant to add mushrooms, but forgot, so will do that next time. Also, added some garlic powder, but next time will use fresh garlic. We also served it with brown rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2009

      This is quick, nutritious and yummy! I too used white onions only because I was out of green. But it was still wonderful. I used brown rice because out of the white rice again. I like this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      Wow! This was excellent! I went to a fiends today and got a pound of asparagus right out of the garden, added snap peas, mushrooms and onions, and followed the rest of the recipe to a T. Thank you for posting this great recipe! It's a keeper for sure!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I thought this was excellent. Very tasty and easy to make. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      This was really good and really easy to make. I didn't have cornstarch, so I used flour. I also added some mushrooms and used chicken broth instead of beef broth. I was skeptical about the fish sauce in this dish, but it tasted great. Super easy. I will have to make this one when my boyfriend is out of town as he is not a fan of asparagus, but this will be one of my keepers! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2007

      We loved this dish--actually liked it better than our favorite restaurant--goes together very easily--and is darn good--Doubled the sauce--but always do--personal preference--glad I did cuz it was so yummy--goes in the 5 Thumbs Up Book--

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2006

      Great recipe. Wonderful taste, aspargus gets the ginger flavor but the meat doesn't. Took a short cut after the second batch of meat and just tossed it all in and browned it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2006

      My husband loved this dish. No leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2006

      This was very good, but I had to add some salt that was not listed on the ingredients, otherwise it was a bit tasteless. I don't know whether it was left out on purpose, or the author simply thought that everyone should know to put salt. I followed the recipe as stated, except for asaparagus which was subtituted with broccoli and fish sauce with Worcestershire sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2004

      This was a really lovely meal. I used white onions, instead of green, but otherwise followed the directions exactly. The next time all I'd do differently is make twice as much sauce because it sure is good over the rice! I served it with my Aromatic Sticky Rice (#90126).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sesame-Ginger Beef and Asparagus Stir-Fry

    Serving Size: 1 (207 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 424.6
     
    Calories from Fat 289
    68%
    Total Fat 32.1 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 9.3 g
    46%
    Cholesterol 76.1 mg
    25%
    Sodium 524.1 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 3.4 g
    13%
    Protein 25.5 g
    51%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lean sirloin steaks

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes