Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sesame Eggplant (Aubergine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sesame Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on March 04, 2003

      Simply delicious! I broiled it a little in the beginning just to brown it a bit. And when I was eating it, it soaked up some of the salad dressing on my plate (a vinaigrette) and the tart flavor was the perfect accompaniment. I also coated some chicken in the batter and that turned out great as well. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2002

      Easy, Quick and Delicious!!! I love eggplant and this is wonderful. I served this with Inez's Sausage Creole and substituted this for the rice and it was the perfect match, it made an excellent meal!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2010

      These are fabulous, even if you don't happen to have any sesame seeds on hand. I'm going to try using them in an eggplant parmasan recipe, so's to skip the frying step.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2008

      This was very good. I substituted Vegenaise for the mayonnaise and Health Valley multigrain crackers for the saltines. I only had black sesame seeds on hand, so I used those which gave the eggplant a festive look. Faira

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2007

      This was very easy and tasty. I enjoyed it. I think it needed just a touch of salt. I would have thought the saltines were enough. I used a basting brush to apply the mayo - so I would use as little as possible. Thank you very much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2007

      This was really excellent and so easy to make. I also used panko crumbs (find at Trader Joes) and it was perfect. A great way to enjoy eggplant.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2007

      Wonderful! I used Panko crumbs as we don't get saltines over here. They were very easy to put together and cooked beautifully. I left the skins on for ease of handling and they cooked up fine. They were wonderfully crisp and the eggplant was soft and tasty. Very easy to make and very tasty too, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2007

      This was a really good way to prepare eggplant, I halved my little turkish eggplants ( finger eggplants ) and salted them before preparing this dish. Quite quick to cook, and a good weeknight treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2005

      I didn't have any parmesan cheese, so maybe this was why it was lacking in flavour, so I served it with some ketcap manis (sweet soy sauce) and extra mayonnaise on the side, and everyone loved it. The texture was absolutely beautiful, as was the simplicity. Thanks for a simple and cute appetizer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2005

      I have made these twice now. The first time I followed exactly as written and found them good texture but rather bland. The second time I decided to try something other than mayo so I dipped them in egg whites instead. I put a hardy dash of hot sauce into the beaten egg whites. These turned out just as nice as the first time but with more flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2005

      Really delicious! I used breadcrumbs rather than saltine crumbs, and added some garam marsala and cayenne pepper. Baking at 425 made the rounds very crispy and attractively browned. Excellent with tahini sauce spooned on top for a light veggie lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2005

      Very good. I think next time I would add some Italian seasoning and turn the heat up to 425 degrees.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2005

      These were very good. Didn't know whether to toast sesame seed and didn't. Next time I will for more sesame flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      Terrific. I made it first for a Christmas potluck and got compliments from all sides. It is so easy to make and gives plain vegetables, not just eggplant, a nice twist in taste. I do use Italian bread crumbs instead of the saltine crumbs. You also only need very little mayo, just enough to make the crumbs stick. I also have used the same recipe since with zucchini, same result: tasty and makes anyone eat their veggies with joy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2004

      Very easy and IMO perfection. We loved the crispness and the flavor that the sesame seeds gave the eggplant coating. Not greasy at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sesame Eggplant (Aubergine)

    Serving Size: 1 (646 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 19.4
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    45%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 1.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 33.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.9 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes