Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sesame Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sesame Chicken

    Average Rating:

    462 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 462

    Sort by:

    • on June 27, 2012

      Pretty good. Not my favorite. My husband liked it, but didn't compliment it without me asking his opinion; however, he did eat the three remaining pieces off my plate. I was generous with the hot peppers & seems I didn't need to be--my lips are still feeling the heat--30 minutes later. Should have been more generous with the sesame seeds & also the idea of adding orange flavoring to it (suggested by k8t) by using orange juice instead of water sounds like it gives me just what I was looking for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      The dish was easy to prepare but fell a little flat for some reason. The flavors were very good, but the recipe made a lot more sauce than I was expecting for the amount of chicken used. As for modifications, I would add a little more ginger and maybe a few more red pepper flakes to bring things up to a good, subtle, heat. I also substituted low-sodium soy sauce for full sodium soy sauce. Other than the few little tweaks, I would definitely make this again. I've even thought about how hard it would be to make the sauce and freeze it, then just thawing and cooking it when needed. I definitely plan on making this again. Simple, delicious, quick--what's not to love.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2012

      I added the pepper and it was too spicy. Think I would skip that next time. Needs to be sweeter so I plan to try the apple juice someone else recommended. Cooking the chicken in a little sesame oil adds a lot of flavor. It may be a regular at my house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2012

      I absolutely love this recipe. I tried to use lite soy sauce and was not as happy with the result. The original recipe is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

      This was really good. Everyone liked it except for our pickiest eater (a 21 year old!). We served it over brown rice with steamed veggies and it will be making its appearance in our regular meal rotation. We used 1/2 tsp of the red pepper, but everyone except the toddler added extra red pepper when it was served as it helped balance the sweetness. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2012

      This was very yummy but a little too salty. I will definitely make it again but with low sodium soy sauce. I used fresh ginger and added garlic. The meal was quick and easy to prepare. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2012

      I'm Asian, and this was a complete lifesaver for a party that needed help. The basic recipe is a fantastic start. THANK YOU for sharing it. Sesame oil is definitely an acquired flavour-best used lightly and go by taste. The orange juice/zest substitution is fantastic, and the honey/brown sugar is quite clever. If you're wary of the sauce, whip some up to test. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      I tried it and this was fabulous! Made as directed except used sesame oil -- delish! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2012

      YUM! This was so easy to make and delicious too! I was so surprised it literally took me less than 20 minutes to have this done as well as make a side dish of rice and stir fry some veggies! Definitely a keeper, it is SOOO GOOD!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      Too sweet. The sauce never thickened - I followed the recipes to a T - will not make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2012

      Very good! I left out the red pepper flakes (personal preference) and served it over brown rice. Everyone loved it. Thanks for the recipe, Jenny!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2012

      Hubby made this for dinner the other night... it was so easy and WAY better than the 'Chinese' takeout in our little town. Loved it! Will definitely make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      Wow so Amazing! My husband I loved this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. No need to make any changes. Will make this again and again. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      So good I made it twice in a row! I substituted agave nectar for the honey (since I need low on the glycemic index) and added 1/2 tsp garlic. Perfection! I threw some green beans in with the chicken and it made a perfect meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2011

      The trick to get the sauce thickened, some folks said it was too thin, was the thickening of the sauce right after the chicken is cooked through. Some people may have skipped this part and went on to just simmer. This was super easy and delish! I just mixed all the sauce ingredients in a 4 cup measuring cup and continued just as the recipe said. Thank you for a quick and easy, perfect for weeknight, supper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

      This was so easy and delicious! I served with brown rice and glazed carrots and it was so good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2011

      For being how easy and tasty this is, it gets 5 stars. So incredibly easy. I did everything the recipe stated except added 3 crushed garlic cloves to the sauce, as well as a drizzle of sesame oil, omitted the pepper flakes, and tossed the chicken in cornstarch prior to cooking. I cooked it in a tablespoon of oil until it just started to brown then added the sauce and cooked the chicken through. Once finished, I added steamed broccoli and served over steamed rice. Voila! The kids I babysit for gobbled it up (very picky eaters).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2011

      This was awesome! I made it tonight for me and my girlfriend, and my best friend who lives nextdoor came over and tried it too. Fantastic. I followed it to the letter and it turned it out just right, the only thing I did was add garlic powder to the chicken while it was in the pan by itself, cuz I'm crazy about garlic..lol--can't understand how anyone would give this recipe less than 5 stars. Amazing, and thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      This was GREAT!!! Made it according to the recipe. Sauce was great and I really liked the fresh ginger. Served with steamed veggies and rice. I will be making this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2011

      DELISH!!!!! First time ever going on line for a recipe.. and had great success!!! I was so proud of myself.. Still am. LOL
      Easy, quick & Delish~!
      Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sesame Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.8
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    14%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1480.3 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 23.6 g
    94%
    Protein 28.0 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes