470 Reviews

I substituted the water with fresh squeezed orange juice, and added orange zest. It was fantastic. Very quick and easy. My seven year old daughter said, "mom, this is pretty grown up food, but I really like it." :)

26 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
k8t November 09, 2010

Tried this recipe for dinner tonight over jasmine rice and it was wonderful! I scaled it down for just one serving though. I did modify a few things. The first thing I changed was the amount of soy sauce. When I scaled my recipe for 1 serving the recipe calls for 1/8 a cup (Two Tablespoons) soy sauce. That is over 100% of the recommended daily sodium intake, so i cut that in half. My other modifications were adding a splash of cider vinegar and a splash of rice vinegar. I felt the sauce needed a tinge of tang and I think that adding these to my sauce really payed off in my final product. The spice level with the ginger and crushed red pepper were in my opinion perfection! It had just a small bit of spice in the aftertaste which is what I like in my Chinese food. This was easy and delicious! Using a 4oz chicken breast and putting this all over rice I calculated was only 430 calories, not to mention free of processed sugars or any nasty food additives. Cook this recipe up, you wont regret it!!

19 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrisryanfox July 08, 2011

I love it! A chinese meal I can make for my hubby without all the mess of frying! I added about 3 tsp of minced garlic as suggested by others and doubled the sauce. I also ended up not having enough honey so I used part honey/part brown sugar and it worked out fine.

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
run for your life July 07, 2010

This is my second time making this recipe this month-- it is fantastic!! Quick, simple, and delicious. I added some broccoli and onions and served it with steamed rice. One recommendation I have is if your sesame seeds are not toasted, place them in a dry, non-stick skillet and toast them just until they are golden (it only takes a few minutes). I never realized that you actually need to toast sesame seeds to release the oils and flavor.

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quinn17 March 24, 2011

This was really tasty. I cooked it last night and we devoured it. And it was so simple and easy to make.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Williams January 23, 2003

Recipe is not bad, but, 2 tablespoons of corn starch is way too much. I bet it is supposed to be 2 tsp. highly recommend that you use less corn starch. the sauce thickened up immediately and became a gooey mess. I had to add a bunch of water to make it thinner. It started to thicken too much before I was ready to let it cook uncovered, so I served it without the last 10 minute cooking.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suegab7 December 11, 2011

I've done a couple of variations on this and both were really tasty: first I used a tablespoon or two of sesame oil to brown the chicken in (does add calories and fat but hey!) and second I skipped the sesame oil but browned the chicken in a cast iron grill pan (next best thing to an outdoor grill) to add a crunch. I've steered clear of the red pepper so far but may try it next time. A dash of lemon juice in the sauce is also a great addition!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*~ It's J! ~* May 04, 2010

This was tasty, but the batch I made had adjustments based on previous reviews. Doubled the sauce, added garlic while chicken cooked, added a splash of vinegar, used fresh ground ginger and a bit of sesame oil at the end. With my adjustments I needed more cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I used the lower suggested amount of red pepper flakes. This dish definitely needs some spice to it, but I will reduce the red pepper flake even further next time. I used the full amount of soy sauce but used a lower sodium soy, which was perfect. This is a great basic recipe that uses ingredients you probably already have in your kitchen, and I'll use this again to give a new option to using up boneless chicken breasts. Thank you Jenny.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyKatarina February 06, 2010

This was very good! I like that you get the taste of sesame chicken without the take-out guilt. We served over brown rice and will definitely be trying this again. Next time I plan to add some broccoli. Yum!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tiffanylynn444 June 14, 2010

A very good recipe. My tongue was dry a little from the high sodium. I will make it again, just need to cut back on soy sauce a little. Thanks!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scout Aunt April 07, 2011
Sesame Chicken