Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sesame Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sesame Chicken

    Average Rating:

    457 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 457

    Sort by:

    • on November 09, 2010

      I substituted the water with fresh squeezed orange juice, and added orange zest. It was fantastic. Very quick and easy. My seven year old daughter said, "mom, this is pretty grown up food, but I really like it." :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2011

      Tried this recipe for dinner tonight over jasmine rice and it was wonderful! I scaled it down for just one serving though. I did modify a few things. The first thing I changed was the amount of soy sauce. When I scaled my recipe for 1 serving the recipe calls for 1/8 a cup (Two Tablespoons) soy sauce. That is over 100% of the recommended daily sodium intake, so i cut that in half. My other modifications were adding a splash of cider vinegar and a splash of rice vinegar. I felt the sauce needed a tinge of tang and I think that adding these to my sauce really payed off in my final product. The spice level with the ginger and crushed red pepper were in my opinion perfection! It had just a small bit of spice in the aftertaste which is what I like in my Chinese food. This was easy and delicious! Using a 4oz chicken breast and putting this all over rice I calculated was only 430 calories, not to mention free of processed sugars or any nasty food additives. Cook this recipe up, you wont regret it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      I love it! A chinese meal I can make for my hubby without all the mess of frying! I added about 3 tsp of minced garlic as suggested by others and doubled the sauce. I also ended up not having enough honey so I used part honey/part brown sugar and it worked out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2003

      This was really tasty. I cooked it last night and we devoured it. And it was so simple and easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      This is my second time making this recipe this month-- it is fantastic!! Quick, simple, and delicious. I added some broccoli and onions and served it with steamed rice. One recommendation I have is if your sesame seeds are not toasted, place them in a dry, non-stick skillet and toast them just until they are golden (it only takes a few minutes). I never realized that you actually need to toast sesame seeds to release the oils and flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      I've done a couple of variations on this and both were really tasty: first I used a tablespoon or two of sesame oil to brown the chicken in (does add calories and fat but hey!) and second I skipped the sesame oil but browned the chicken in a cast iron grill pan (next best thing to an outdoor grill) to add a crunch. I've steered clear of the red pepper so far but may try it next time. A dash of lemon juice in the sauce is also a great addition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      Recipe is not bad, but, 2 tablespoons of corn starch is way too much. I bet it is supposed to be 2 tsp. highly recommend that you use less corn starch. the sauce thickened up immediately and became a gooey mess. I had to add a bunch of water to make it thinner. It started to thicken too much before I was ready to let it cook uncovered, so I served it without the last 10 minute cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2010

      Im sorry this was way to salty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2010

      This was very good! I like that you get the taste of sesame chicken without the take-out guilt. We served over brown rice and will definitely be trying this again. Next time I plan to add some broccoli. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      This was tasty, but the batch I made had adjustments based on previous reviews. Doubled the sauce, added garlic while chicken cooked, added a splash of vinegar, used fresh ground ginger and a bit of sesame oil at the end. With my adjustments I needed more cornstarch to thicken the sauce. I used the lower suggested amount of red pepper flakes. This dish definitely needs some spice to it, but I will reduce the red pepper flake even further next time. I used the full amount of soy sauce but used a lower sodium soy, which was perfect. This is a great basic recipe that uses ingredients you probably already have in your kitchen, and I'll use this again to give a new option to using up boneless chicken breasts. Thank you Jenny.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      I'm Asian but for my boyfriend, he prefers a more American route to Oriental dishes. So we tried General Tso's (http://www.food.com/recipe/super-easy-general-tso-chicken-148303) and we loved it. Everyone who tried it was asking for the recipe. With such success, we thought we'd try another. I love making sesame beef, but we found this recipe. He and I like to test the sauce before committing to it by adding the chicken. I took a taste of it (and mind you, these sort of tastes should be right up my alley) and I absolutely lost all my appetite. We ended up taking the chicken we fried and just eating chicken nuggets because we were both so disappointed and disgusted. I STRONGLY suggest using much less soy sauce. These portions for sauce are rather ridiculous. Even my boyfriend who loves to eat anything couldn't put himself through another taste test. It was a waste of delicious honey. It was a waste of time. I wouldn't try this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      A very good recipe. My tongue was dry a little from the high sodium. I will make it again, just need to cut back on soy sauce a little. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

      Mmmm"!!! this is a very good recipe, believe it or not I cut it down to one serving and it worked out just fine, and nothing was lost as sometimes happens when you cut a recipe down. I was looking for something healthy and quick for dinner, I am cooking for one at the moment and this was just perfect. I used ready cooked chicken breast I had in the freezer all chopped up so I just took out what I needed and I stir fried some veg and wholewheat noodles. It was fantastic This is one recipe that I will definitely be making again, and its better than anything you get at the takeaway Chinese where we live. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2010

      Yummy! The family, including three picky children, gobbled it down. Next time I'll double the sauce for more flavor. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Really yummy! Great alternative to Chinese takeout. I didn't have cornstarch so I used 2 tbs whole wheat flour, the sauce was the perfect consistency and the chicken was nice and moist. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Unbelieveable!! This was so easy to make and low in fat an calories...my family loved it. Only thing I added was garlic powder...to taste...and def use fresh ginger...I ground mine up and it was amazing!! I doubled the sauce too. Serve with brown rice for a great meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      This recipe is FABULOUS! Made it exactly as stated in the recipe (using the sesame oil) and I wouldn't change a thing! Thank you so much for such a great recipe! I can't wait to try it with beef, shrimp and/or pork!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2013

      Wow, this was soooooo good! I have several very good Chinese type recipes in my file, and my husband ( a take out addict ) said this was my best yet. It was so easy, worth making over and over. I added carrots, celery, and bell peppers to the chicken before I added the sauce, it was almost like Kung Pao Chicken. The sauce was perfect, not too thick not too thin. The adults added extra red pepper flakes to their bowls to up the spice, made as directed it was just warm. Great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2012

      I substituted the 1 cup of water with 1/2 OJ and 1/2 Water...Very simple to make and very delicious (topped it over jasmine rice). My very picky 13 year old son had a craving for Sesame Chix from the Chinese Restaurant and I was able to convince him that this was healthier and delicious;) Thanks for the great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2012

      I made this for my mom when I was recently in Florida visiting and she loved it. I served it over brown rice. It is so easy and gluten free (using gluten free soy sauce), and it is not fried. We had leftover turkey meat so I made a double batch of sauce and poured it over the heated meat, and then simmered it for a while to thicken it. It was fabulous! The turkey meat was so moist and delicious. One of the best recipes I have made. My family likes this one, and I make it quite often, instead of going out and risking gluten in my food.

      This one is a keeper! Thanks so much for posting the recipe!

      I Also wanted to add that when I make this, I use half soy sauce and half sesame oil for the full amount of soy sauce. I love sesame oil in this, it adds perfect flavor, very authentic.

      Thanks for posting this! Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 23

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sesame Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 258.8
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    14%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 1480.3 mg
    61%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.7 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 23.6 g
    94%
    Protein 28.0 g
    56%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites