10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I sure wish I could give this recipe more stars! We loved it, I prepared it exactly as written. I would not change anything. Very very good!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
debbillem January 28, 2003

FANTASTIC!! What more can I say?? The only thing I changed was to use chicken brother wherever it called for water and added a touch of ketjap manis to the sauce. Excellent! I have searched the world over for something that actually tastes like I went to the Chinese restaurant. Now I have found it. Brings a tear to my eye. Sniff. :-)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aemilehi March 21, 2003

This sauce is excellent! Usually, when I try to make any Chinese dishes at home it never turns out quite right, but this is just as good, if not better! Realized too late that I could make the sauce veg by using vegetable broth. Will do that next time for a great dipping sauce(and add a little more hot chili to spice it up for me!) Oh, didn't have ginger paste so substituted a little ground ginger.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi September 26, 2002

This was great! I doubled the chili paste because we like a little "heat" and I didn't have ginger paste so I just used 1/4 tsp ground ginger. We thought the sauce was terrific. DH and I ate just about the entire recipe -can we say "oink"?

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luby Luby Luby March 14, 2004

Well I have tried many times to get a recipe for sesame chicken,and have not found one that tasted like that at Nong Chen's.TILL NOW!!! Oh thank you so much,this requires some time and effort,but worth every thing you do to make it.I went exactly by the recipe,did not stray one bit,and it was absolutely wonderful,Thank you Sooooooo Much for this recipe.Darlene

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene Summers January 21, 2004

I only used 1/2 half cup sugar & only had red wine vinegar (used 1/2 cup). Next time I might use even less sugar. My family enjoyed it very much & would be happy to have an encore presentation. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strider March 15, 2004

Inedible. the chicken was rubbery tough, the sauce was awful. One of my boys drowned his in hot sauce and ate it but everyone else rinsed their servings and gave them to the dog :<

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
libidess March 10, 2004

Just delicious, and actually pretty fast. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stonecoldcrazy April 24, 2010

This got thumbs up all around. I found that there was more than enough sauce to go around! I loved the coating on the chicken, as that is the one thing I've found most homemade Chinese recipes are missing. Thanks so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nonnie4Two May 04, 2008

There is no need to look for another sesame chicken recipe. Tastes just like the real thing! - I have substituted chicken for tofu, but cut back on the chili paste if doing so. Also I tried vegetable broth instead of chiken broth, but did not come out quite the same. Overall a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andre #001 January 28, 2007
Sesame Chicken