52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I toasted my seasame seeds and only added half to the marinade and used the other half to sprinkle over the plated dish. I used 2 baby bok choy for 3 of us. The only change I would make would be to divide the marinade and add stalks to one half and the leaf to the other and cook the stems for 2 minutes and then add the leaf for a minute for though the stems were nice and crispy the leaf was overdone for us but still the taste was very good.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 21, 2012

I Love bok choy and this was Exactly what I was looking for!!!! I'm also crazy about very hot food so I used chili sesame oil and instead of soy sauce and brown sugar, I used hoisin sauce.. Made it last night and I'm making it again tonight!! YUMMY!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spatula Licker January 27, 2009

An ideal side! We like everything about this the way I prepared it as I did make one minor change. The change I made was to toss the stems in one bowl and the leave in a second so as both the stems and leaves would be well sauced and could be cooked evenly by first putting in the stems in the pan for a few minutes and when almost done added the leaves, resulting in tender stems and bright lightly cooked leaves. I did not and would not change the ingredients as the flavors were perfect. This is going into my will make again book, thanks for the post.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl January 22, 2012

What a great treatment for Bok Choy! We love it and eat it often so I'm always looking for new ways to make it. I have used all of the ingredients in this recipe before but not in this combination. It's a winner in this house. :) I used 4 baby Bok Choy for the two of us and there were no leftovers! Thanks for posting a recipe we will use often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
K9 Owned October 18, 2012

This was great! I cooked 1 chicken breast in a bit of oil in the wok before adding bok choy, onion, and the sauce. Worked with rice as a nice main dish. I found the bok choy leaves to be quite tough so I cooked them a bit longer than I thought was necessary. The stem of the bok choy held up well, though, and still had a nice crunch. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DanPatch June 03, 2012

This is so good. I have never made bok choy before and we loved it. I will continue to make your recipe, its really good. thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 05, 2012

We really enjoyed this side dish. The flavor was a nice balance between sweet and salty, and we liked the fact that the bok choy wasn't cooked long, as the crunch of the stems was a nice contrast to the wilted leaves. Thanks for sharing an easy and delicious way to prepare bok choy, Parsley! Made & enjoyed for the Asian Cooking Forum's Chinese/Vietnamese New Year Tag Game. :D

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** January 20, 2012

Made this last evening! I've never known what to do with Bok Choy but have wanted to try a recipe whenever I see it goes on sale at the grocery. This was so easy and I had all the other ingredients on hand. Like another reviewer noted, next time I make it I will cook the stems a few minutes longer before adding the Bok Choy leaves. Thanks for a great easy side dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
slminva August 25, 2014

Quick easy and tasted great. I'd never used bok choy before so this was great for a first timer.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookworm August 05, 2014

This was good, quick and easy. I doubled the sauce recipe and then added 2 chicken breasts halved and cut into thin strips, 1 carrot sliced, 1 stalk of celery sliced, 3 baby bok choy, 1/2 cup of onion and 2 tsps each of fresh garlic and ginger. I served this over 1/3 of a package of boiled wonton noodles. I will definitely be making this again. Next time I will try it with beef strips. Thank you Parsley for posting this delicious and time saving recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camden Cook May 16, 2014
Sesame Bok Choy