Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sesame Bok Choy Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sesame Bok Choy

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on January 21, 2012

      I toasted my seasame seeds and only added half to the marinade and used the other half to sprinkle over the plated dish. I used 2 baby bok choy for 3 of us. The only change I would make would be to divide the marinade and add stalks to one half and the leaf to the other and cook the stems for 2 minutes and then add the leaf for a minute for though the stems were nice and crispy the leaf was overdone for us but still the taste was very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2009

      I Love bok choy and this was Exactly what I was looking for!!!! I'm also crazy about very hot food so I used chili sesame oil and instead of soy sauce and brown sugar, I used hoisin sauce.. Made it last night and I'm making it again tonight!! YUMMY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      An ideal side! We like everything about this the way I prepared it as I did make one minor change. The change I made was to toss the stems in one bowl and the leave in a second so as both the stems and leaves would be well sauced and could be cooked evenly by first putting in the stems in the pan for a few minutes and when almost done added the leaves, resulting in tender stems and bright lightly cooked leaves. I did not and would not change the ingredients as the flavors were perfect. This is going into my will make again book, thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      What a great treatment for Bok Choy! We love it and eat it often so I'm always looking for new ways to make it. I have used all of the ingredients in this recipe before but not in this combination. It's a winner in this house. :) I used 4 baby Bok Choy for the two of us and there were no leftovers! Thanks for posting a recipe we will use often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2012

      This was great! I cooked 1 chicken breast in a bit of oil in the wok before adding bok choy, onion, and the sauce. Worked with rice as a nice main dish. I found the bok choy leaves to be quite tough so I cooked them a bit longer than I thought was necessary. The stem of the bok choy held up well, though, and still had a nice crunch. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2012

      This is so good. I have never made bok choy before and we loved it. I will continue to make your recipe, its really good. thank you for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2012

      We really enjoyed this side dish. The flavor was a nice balance between sweet and salty, and we liked the fact that the bok choy wasn't cooked long, as the crunch of the stems was a nice contrast to the wilted leaves. Thanks for sharing an easy and delicious way to prepare bok choy, Parsley! Made & enjoyed for the Asian Cooking Forum's Chinese/Vietnamese New Year Tag Game. :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2014

      Made this last evening! I've never known what to do with Bok Choy but have wanted to try a recipe whenever I see it goes on sale at the grocery. This was so easy and I had all the other ingredients on hand. Like another reviewer noted, next time I make it I will cook the stems a few minutes longer before adding the Bok Choy leaves. Thanks for a great easy side dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2014

      Quick easy and tasted great. I'd never used bok choy before so this was great for a first timer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2014

      This was good, quick and easy. I doubled the sauce recipe and then added 2 chicken breasts halved and cut into thin strips, 1 carrot sliced, 1 stalk of celery sliced, 3 baby bok choy, 1/2 cup of onion and 2 tsps each of fresh garlic and ginger. I served this over 1/3 of a package of boiled wonton noodles. I will definitely be making this again. Next time I will try it with beef strips. Thank you Parsley for posting this delicious and time saving recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2013

      Absolutely delicious! I added a little sesame oil to the base recipe, and just dumped the whole thing a lidded skillet and let it braise for 10 minutes or so. Yum yum yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Very tasty...I toasted the sesame seeds and like I'mPat I used half in the marinade and used the other half to sprinkle over the bok choy in the end. I also divided the stalks and the leaves and added the marinade to both then cooked the stalks first and leaves second. One recipe I will make again. Thank you Parsley for submitting. Made for Chinese/Vietnamese New Year Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

    • on August 21, 2011

    • on June 19, 2011

      This was delicious. I used rice wine vinegar, and just a drop or two sesame seed oil as I had no seeds. Other than that, I stuck with the recipe, and it is good. Very satisfilying. My first time trying bok choy, and enjoyed the crunch it had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2011

      We love this recipe. Just found it this spring and have been using it each week after our trip to the farmers market. We double the recipe and still go through it quick as a side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2011

      Delicious. My family loved this dish. I also added some other veggies and doubled the sauce so we could have left overs. Served with jasmine rice for a nice meatless meal. The sauce is nice and light and worked so well with the bok choy. Thank you *Parsley* for posting, this one is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      This was good, thank you. I did have to add some salt at the end, and used rice vinegar instead of rice wine vinegar. I also added mushrooms. Don't overcook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2010

      We really enjoyed this dish ~ me, especially the little bit of sweetness from the brown sugar! I think I'll try it next time with a bit of red pepper flakes. Very easy to make, and cooked up fast in about 6 minutes. Thanks for posting ~ made for ZWT 6 - ASIA for the Queens of Quisine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2010

      I made have overcooked the bok choy, but the bottom line for us was that this was not a keeper. It didn't have a flavor we appreciated. It tasted more edible when we put some teriyaki sauce overtop though. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sesame Bok Choy

    Serving Size: 1 (235 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.5
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    32%
    Total Fat 2.6 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 516.2 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.6 g
    10%
    Sugars 6.1 g
    24%
    Protein 4.4 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites