Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Serbian "pogacha" Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Serbian "pogacha" Bread

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2011

      Loved this bread! It had a different texture than the other breads I have been making and had a slightly sweet taste. It was very easy to make and since the KitchenAid did all the kneading I managed to make bread without getting flour all over! We enjoyed it with some soup for dinner. (8)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Just lovely, lovely, bread, with a wonderful crumb! Soft, yet slices and holds together perfectly. I threw it all in my bread machine on dough (after scalding the milk and melting the butter), and it worked out perfectly. The decadent smell woke DH from a sound sleep! This is definately a keeper! Thanks for posting, diner - and thanks for recommending it in Best of 2010, gailanng!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      This is defintely a Five-Star recipe! So easy to make using a stand mixer, and the texture is wonderful! I make this often - Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2010

      This makes a BIG loaf, but I'm a more is more kind of gal. More of this is more better. I think that sounded funnier in my head. Made for PRMR. (p.s. The texture is wonderful!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

      This dough is lovely to handle. I reduced the recipe somewhat to make a single standard loaf of bread. The butter, milk and oil contributed to a tender crust and crumb, but the bread slices well for sandwiches. I did use some white whole wheat instead of all plain flour. I will be making this into rolls, as well. Oh, I threw everything into the bread machine, straight from the fridge for the milk butter and egg, and it worked beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2009

      This was so good! It was easy to make and tasted great. I was looking for something to serve with a Serbian beef and potato bake and this hit the spot. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      This was my first attempt at bread and it turned out great. A Winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      Absolutly delicious! What a wonderful bread (even with my lightening). The texture is just like cake and it slices beautifully. I cut the recipe back to 2/3 and I still got a huge loaf (a lot of the oversized loaf *could* be because I got busy with something else and forgot the bread was rising, when I remembered to check it it was easily 3 times original size, oops). I used skim milk, 1 Tbs "good fat" margarine and 2 Tbs of canola oil, 1 Tbs Splenda, fat free sour cream and just egg white. This would be very fitting for any hoilday or special event table (I'm adding it to my Book#118900 cookbook). I just really can't rave enough about this fabulous recipe. Made for Photo Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Serbian "pogacha" Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (216 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 990.5
     
    Calories from Fat 374
    37%
    Total Fat 41.6 g
    64%
    Saturated Fat 17.7 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 115.4 mg
    38%
    Sodium 780.6 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 131.0 g
    43%
    Dietary Fiber 4.8 g
    19%
    Sugars 8.7 g
    35%
    Protein 21.9 g
    43%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites