Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sensei's Japanese Sweet & Sour Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sensei's Japanese Sweet & Sour Sauce

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2013

      It's very, very good. But has anyone noticed the sodium content ? It has 8,702 mg's ! That is over 4x the entire daily allowance of sodium for a healthy person, and over 8x the daily allowance for someone on a restriction ! I made afew modifications to lower the sodium and it still tasted great. These were: nix the 2 teaspoons of salt (the soy sauce has enough and this one step eliminates over 4,000 mg of sodium), next use a low sodium soy sauce ( I use kikkoman's lesser sodium sauce and it actually taste better then their regular version). Next cut the soy sauce amount to 2 or 3 tablespoons instead of 4. Trust me the changes to not really effect the quality of taste in this great sauce, and it cuts the sodium down to just over 2,000 mg. Still high, but tolerable if you only have a little. Great sauce. I would have gave it 5 stars if not for the horrendous amount of sodium in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      Love this. Have used it with stir-fries twice now. This will be one of my go-to stir-fry sauces.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      This is outstanding! I used this as a stir fry sauce and it was the best stir fry I've had let alone made myself. Thanks so much for sharing, will make often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Really great -- I served this with panko chicken-- sort of reminds me of ponzu sauce--but better. Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Great tasting sauce. Thickened it to use with eggrolls. I will certainly make again. Thanks for sharing this simple to make sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2006

      This made a great stir-fry sauce for noodles. I made a couple of changes to the recipe, substituting Chinese cooking wine for the vinegar and not thickening the sauce with cornstarch as it was being stir-fried with. I also used fresh garlic and added some finely sliced red chilli. Very tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2006

      this recipe is awsome!!! I am stupid in the kitchen and I did it and it turned out sooo good!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      I was looking for a cheap recipe to make a sauce for stir fry, and this beats all the shop bought sauces I've had lately, as well as being something I can make in the time it takes for the hot plate to heat up to frying temperature. I agree on it being better than the pineapple recipes as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2005

      This is GREAT! And very simple to make, thanks for this one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2005

      I didn't want to rate this because I never had 'authentic' sweet and sour sauce and didn't want to be an unfair judge. However, it was, to me and my family who is accustomed to the pink and real sweet sweet and sour sauce, too punchy, much too sour. I think this would be GREAT to stir-fry with and will use it for that next time instead of for dipping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sensei's Japanese Sweet & Sour Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (387 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 371.4
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    93%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8702.5 mg
    362%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.8 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 81.6 g
    326%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes