Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Senor Pico's Baked Chile Rellenos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Senor Pico's Baked Chile Rellenos

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on October 23, 2002

      This is really good. I love chili rellenos. I would suggest modifing the ingredient list so that it is clearer there that you need both the monterey jack and the cheddar as I read it to be one or the other until I read through the directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      This tasted really good!! I opened the chilis flat, did a layer of the egg, then flat chilies, some cooked shredded chicken (seasoned with southwest seasoning), lots of cheese, another layer of the flat chilies then the top layer of egg. I cooked it some in the oven to set the egg before I put the cheese on. It was so good that way!! Not authentic, but the flavors came across.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2003

      Mizz Annie, you've done it again!! You know I made your DP picante sauce recently...Now, your SP rellenos...Together...Divine!! Really a scrumptious dish! Whipping the egg whites makes all the difference...Did use canned chilies...worked great. Thanks for sharing...We'll be doing this one again, for sure! Laudee

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      Great hit with everyone at the party, next time I'm going to try queso fresco cheese. All in all the taste is great and even better than the fried rellenos I usually make and cold they even make a great sandwich! Add any sandwich meat!! Yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2013

      I would roast Poland peppers first then

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2012

      This dish was just so-so. I added cumin, salt and garlic powder to the egg whites for flavor. The picante sauce was a bit bland. When I make it again I will tweak the recipe a bit more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      This is basically the same recipe that my mother-in-law gave me from Zacatagas (sorry I'm sure I chopped the spelling!) The only difference is that I saute onions in butter and then add 2 large cans of tomato sauce. Once the chiles are fried up I add them to the sauce and simmer for approx 45 minutes. Serve over rice and it is always a hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Super good. I had only shredded cheese (jack/cheddar mix), so I cut the chiles into about 1" wide strips, layered them over the first layer of egg mixture, spread the shredded cheese over the chiles, then topped with the other half of the egg mixture. I used fresh-roasted poblano chiles. These are similar to anaheim chiles and have a nice mild but rich flavor. Didn't have time to make the suggested sauce, so I used a can of mexican style stewed tomatoes blened in my food processor, heated. I will probably continue to make these this way, because the results were excellent - and so easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      I also used Hatch chilies and this turned out really good. Everybody liked it. I did have to bake this a lot longer then 15 minutes for the eggs to get done. I'm making this again tomorrow & will put in a larger baking dish. I think it will turn out even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      Delicious and so easy. I love chile rellenos and could never make them correctly, but these are so simple. You don't have to be nearly as careful with the peppers as you do when you fry them. I just made a big batch and scoped them out for dinner. I was amazed at how easy and good they were.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Great Rellenos. I made half a recipe and they were great! Also made Senor Pico's Picante Sauce to top the rellenos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2009

      I love this recipe. I was looking for a way to use the Pasilla peppers growing in my garden and didn't want to deal with frying chiles in oil. This baked method is so much healthier and so yummy. Just a few notes: The recipe doesn't say whether the cooking dish should be covered or not - I choose to use a glass cover that goes with my dish. Also, I put the seed pods from the chiles loosely on the custard base near the chiles and I put some additional cheese pieces on the custard before I cover the chiles with the remaining custard. Very important - don't over cook or it gets rubbery - 15 minutes max like the recipe says - maybe less if you need to adjust for your oven's performance.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

    • on June 28, 2009

      Outstanding !! I've always (30 yrs.) made Elena Zelayeta's rellenos, and this is sooo close to the taste, except they're baked . Yeah !! The first time I used canned chilies, but today I used freshly roasted and peeled poblanos. I consumed 1/2 of one, and they are heaven ! And they weren't even for dinner. They sure will be tomorrow !! Thank you, Senor Pico's . And I'm of Russian heritage. Have always loved my roasted beets and Kasha.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      This was an excellent alternative to the messy (and fattening) fried version. Not quite as tasty since it was fried, but once I topped it with salsa and sour cream, it made a world of difference. Hubby, who is the real chile rellenos fan, thought it was very good and said he would like to have it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2007

      This was just the recipe we were looking for. My aunt would make something very similar, so we modified it slightly to emulate her dish.. To the batter we added about 2 tblsp of flour and one tblsp cornmeal. and then once in the pan, we dusted the top with a bit of flour to encourage it to brown. We also left it in the oven for ~8 additional minutes until the top was browned nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2005

      I had trouble with this - the eggs never all set up. Probably something I did (or didn't do). Of the portions that did set up it was good - quiche like. I still like traditionally fried rellenos better, but this is a good alternative when you don't want the mess and fat associated with frying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2005

      My family really enjoyed this recipe. I used fresh hatch chiles and roasted them under the broiler. The chile rellenos were surrounded by a light and fluffy batter (that didn't taste greasy like the fried ones. I couldn't resist adding some grated cheese on top before baking. The Senor Pico's Picante Sauce really added great flavor. A bit time consuming with the roasting of the chiles, but very delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2005

      I made a couple of these for myself tonight.This was my first experience with handling fresh chilies. I bought 3 poblanos (yes- I'm a wimp) and did them in the broiler,then saved the two best-looking ones. I had one tonight - saved the other. I wasn't up to tackling the picante sauce just for myself, so I bought a jar of Pace with cilantro. Really delicious and it sure satisfied my craving for something Mexican besides enchiladas or tostadas-the latter of which we have a lot. And I like the fact that these don't have to be fried.I'd like to say I'll make this again but I'm pretty sure my Family Unit wouldn't dig it. Well, maybe when I'm on my own again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2005

      Very quick, very easy, and very yummy. I only had cheddar cheese and La Victoria mild salsa on hand, but we thought they were wonderful this way. I served them with Mexican Salad #73438

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Senor Pico's Baked Chile Rellenos

    Serving Size: 1 (1063 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.4
     
    Calories from Fat 286
    71%
    Total Fat 31.8 g
    49%
    Saturated Fat 18.2 g
    90%
    Cholesterol 322.6 mg
    107%
    Sodium 489.3 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 23.1 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites