9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I thought this was tasty and it relies on things that I pretty much always have in the pantry, a plus. I changed the recipe around a bit. I started with step 2. I added the chickpeas and the peanut butter in at step 4, and simmered everything for probably 10 or 12 minutes to make sure the chickpeas heated through. I then took the stick blender to it. I used 1 tbl of curry powder and some red pepper flakes instead of the cayenne. I might use less broth or add a potato to this, it was just a bit thin for me. Might add just a bit more peanut butter. This is a very good soup for very little effort.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
duonyte January 15, 2011

This was an excellent and easy soup. The fresh ginger and the peanut flavor was a delicious combination and you could certainly add more ginger if you were a fan (which I am) The only addition I made was a tsp of sambal oeleck for a bit of heat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FranBow March 10, 2012

At first taste I was disappointed as I was wanting more peanut butter flavor. As I ate though I was delighted by the other flavors and ended up very happy I had selected to make this recipe. I loved the creaminess and balance of spices. I opted to puree half of the tomatoes and did top the soup with cilantro and cayenne. I do agree that other veggies could mesh well. Thank you for sharing the recipe! =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D January 07, 2011

This is a great recipe. I was more generous with the peanut butter and the curry powder because I like it spicy. You can also vary the amount of chicken broth depending upon how thick or thin you like it. Very fast and easy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kcmaney December 17, 2009

This was great, and got a rave review from the husband as well. As others have said, more veggies could be added if you want.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
neraulia September 27, 2009

I just made this and it was great!!! Very delicious and super quick. A keeper! I didn't drain my tomatoes, and used extra ginger since I and DH love it. I think adding frozen veggies or potatoes would be a good idea next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shalabhanjika March 02, 2008

Wow ! Interesting flavor, easy, delicious! Like something exotic you could make for company that seemed like you slaved ! I followed the recipe exactly, except I drained the canned tomatoes - wasn't sure if I should but seemed the right thing to do. My husband does not like tomatoes, so I will make again without. I don't think the tomatoes changes the flavor too much, but adds nice color. Will definitely make again and again! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TwoKiwi February 04, 2006

Very good, fast & easy --- I used a heavy hand with the ginger & spices, & added a lot of frozen veggies

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beevil January 16, 2005

This soup reminded me of my Spicy Peanut soup Spicy Peanut Soup. Mine is chunky and hearty! Carianne you soup is Creamy Good! I added chipotle pepper in adobe sauce which gave it a slight smokey flavor. I used 1 red onion which I found to be plenty. This makes a nice serving size. Thanks Carianne!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rita~ October 13, 2004
Senegalese Peanut Soup