Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Senegalese Chicken and Peanut Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Senegalese Chicken and Peanut Soup

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2010

      This truly is a five star soup. I'm not exaggerating when I say this - this is the Best Soup I've Ever Had. And I'm utterly flabbergasted that something I made has earned this title. I made my second batch yesterday and a good friend - a friend who knows me and thinks well of me - looked at me cockeyed when I tried to assure him that, yes, I made it and hadn't picked it up from a restaurant. With every subsequent bite he took - I'm pretty sure I heard him mumbling: Liar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      As everyone else has reported--FANTASTIC!! My 12 lady friends ALL thought it was excellent (even the picky one:) as I served it for a luncheon/card get together. Chickens were on sale so I bought two, one for the freezer, cooked the other Sunday in the Crockpot and made the soup yesterday based on others' reviews saying it was better the day following. In the process of trying to find all the ingredients (particularly the yellow curry paste and the sambal oelek chili paste), I luckily found a new Asian SUPERmarket in Tucson which not only had exactly what I wanted but SO much more. I made a batch and a half which was more than adequate for 12 (even had some left over). I cut down on the cayenne a bit in consideration for some of the ladies and as they said, "It's spicy but not really hot--just has a nice bite." I encourage all you are debating to take the plunge. You won't be sorry you did. It's an exciting change from all the usual soups we ge caught up in making routinely. Thank you so much for posting; this will be made often!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      This was amazing! I made it vegan by subbing the chicken broth with vegetable broth and in place of the chicken I added sweet potatoes, russet potatoes and corn. I used red curry paste, but only used 1/2 tbsp. and I also halved the cayenne and red chili paste. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2014

      This soup may be the best thing I've ever made. It's amazing. I didn't change a thing. Thank you so much for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2014

      This is a MUST make! I first made this soup beausce it sounded so yummy and it had 5 stars. I often make it and serve it over rice...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2013

      Delicious! Made almost as written. I couldn't find yellow curry paste so substituted green, didn't have sambal oelek, so I used siracha. It was a fantastically flavored soup. Will definitely add to my rotation. Thank you Kirstin.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Excellent soup. Follow the recipe, and you can't go wrong.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      I was searching for a recipe for Senegalese Chicken and Peanut Soup and after coming across several different versions I finally settled this one. WOW! It's exactly what I was looking for. Absolutely delicious. I will definitely make it again. It was a huge hit with two of my husband's friends who popped by just after I made it and wanted to know what smelled so good.

      Had to make a couple of substitutions: My grocery store only had Green Curry Paste or Red Curry Paste in the Thai food section so I chose the green. And I could not find any red chili paste so I used 1tsp of hot sauce instead. Not sure how much of a difference these changes made but they worked out just fine.

      I kept trying to figure out if there was anything I would change when I make it again and I couldn't come up with anything to really change the taste. It's just right the way it is. I might try adding some rice in when I add the tomatoes and stock to make it a bit more like a stew than a soup just to see how that could change it up. But overall if you are a fan of Thai or Indian food this will be a hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      This is a very flavorful soup and I loved the ingredients; however, I felt the soup would have been better with a thicker consistency. I may thicken the leftovers up a bit to see if I like the change. Overall, this was a very tasty dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      Followed the recipe exactly. We really enjoyed this soup, but I guess I was expecting a little more from all the reviews. Really good, but I can't honestly say it was the best soup I ever had.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      This has got to be one of my favorite soups. I used smooth peanut butter as that was all I had. I like things very spicy, so I added a heaping tablespoon of sambal oleck. I used a store bought BBQ chicken. This freezes well. Thanks Rita

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2010

      This was great!!!! My only complaint is that we were sick of eating it as leftovers after a few days since the flavours are so distinct. Dont get me wrong though, there is NOTHING wrong with this recipe. It deserves the full 5 stars!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2010

      5 Stars! Taste is very authentic which originates from Senegal, Africa - but tastes too like traditional Thai, and is of Restaurant quality. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2010

    • on January 24, 2010

      This was amazing! The first bite was delicious... and each bite after that got better and better. I made it the day before I served it with broth and meat left over from a large roast chicken. Have to repeat an earlier reviewer - if I could give it more than 5 stars I certainly would. It is divine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      DH loved it, thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Great soup! At first I was disappointed; I couldn't find the yellow curry paste, and because of other reviews, I didn't want to substitute the green or red paste. I added a little extra curry powder, but when I was finished, it just tasted like it was missing something. So I found a recipe for yellow curry paste, and found that it had ginger and corriander (among other things!), which I had. I added some fresh grated ginger and corriander, and some brown sugar (the peanut butter I used didn't have any, thought that might have made a difference, too) and now it ROCKS. I hope I can find curry paste, because I'm sure it will be even better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      Oh my god! All I can say is this was thee best soup ever. I made my own curry combo, I always do. I also always make my own rich chicken stock. This was amazing....my whole family thanks you for posting!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      This is a very tasty, flavorful, rich soup. My family just loved it and I served it with a fresh-baked baguette as I normally do when I make soup. I can't wait to make it again. This is worth the effort and it's like taking a flavor vacation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Senegalese Chicken and Peanut Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (570 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1036.6
     
    Calories from Fat 662
    63%
    Total Fat 73.6 g
    113%
    Saturated Fat 28.3 g
    141%
    Cholesterol 112.2 mg
    37%
    Sodium 1126.2 mg
    46%
    Total Carbohydrate 42.8 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 10.6 g
    42%
    Sugars 16.7 g
    67%
    Protein 61.9 g
    123%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    yellow curry paste

    sambal oelek chili paste

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites