52 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This truly is a five star soup. I'm not exaggerating when I say this - this is the Best Soup I've Ever Had. And I'm utterly flabbergasted that something I made has earned this title. I made my second batch yesterday and a good friend - a friend who knows me and thinks well of me - looked at me cockeyed when I tried to assure him that, yes, I made it and hadn't picked it up from a restaurant. With every subsequent bite he took - I'm pretty sure I heard him mumbling: Liar.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristina+Enno February 04, 2010

As everyone else has reported--FANTASTIC!! My 12 lady friends ALL thought it was excellent (even the picky one:) as I served it for a luncheon/card get together. Chickens were on sale so I bought two, one for the freezer, cooked the other Sunday in the Crockpot and made the soup yesterday based on others' reviews saying it was better the day following. In the process of trying to find all the ingredients (particularly the yellow curry paste and the sambal oelek chili paste), I luckily found a new Asian SUPERmarket in Tucson which not only had exactly what I wanted but SO much more. I made a batch and a half which was more than adequate for 12 (even had some left over). I cut down on the cayenne a bit in consideration for some of the ladies and as they said, "It's spicy but not really hot--just has a nice bite." I encourage all you are debating to take the plunge. You won't be sorry you did. It's an exciting change from all the usual soups we ge caught up in making routinely. Thank you so much for posting; this will be made often!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judikins January 12, 2010

This was amazing! I made it vegan by subbing the chicken broth with vegetable broth and in place of the chicken I added sweet potatoes, russet potatoes and corn. I used red curry paste, but only used 1/2 tbsp. and I also halved the cayenne and red chili paste. Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lusciouslisa119 May 19, 2010

This soup may be the best thing I've ever made. It's amazing. I didn't change a thing. Thank you so much for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachael J. March 10, 2014

This is a MUST make! I first made this soup beausce it sounded so yummy and it had 5 stars. I often make it and serve it over rice...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michie101 February 12, 2014

Delicious! Made almost as written. I couldn't find yellow curry paste so substituted green, didn't have sambal oelek, so I used siracha. It was a fantastically flavored soup. Will definitely add to my rotation. Thank you Kirstin.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wirkwoman1 October 24, 2013

Excellent soup. Follow the recipe, and you can't go wrong.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jensunnyside October 09, 2011

I was searching for a recipe for Senegalese Chicken and Peanut Soup and after coming across several different versions I finally settled this one. WOW! It's exactly what I was looking for. Absolutely delicious. I will definitely make it again. It was a huge hit with two of my husband's friends who popped by just after I made it and wanted to know what smelled so good.

Had to make a couple of substitutions: My grocery store only had Green Curry Paste or Red Curry Paste in the Thai food section so I chose the green. And I could not find any red chili paste so I used 1tsp of hot sauce instead. Not sure how much of a difference these changes made but they worked out just fine.

I kept trying to figure out if there was anything I would change when I make it again and I couldn't come up with anything to really change the taste. It's just right the way it is. I might try adding some rice in when I add the tomatoes and stock to make it a bit more like a stew than a soup just to see how that could change it up. But overall if you are a fan of Thai or Indian food this will be a hit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dryz April 04, 2011

This is a very flavorful soup and I loved the ingredients; however, I felt the soup would have been better with a thicker consistency. I may thicken the leftovers up a bit to see if I like the change. Overall, this was a very tasty dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy's Pantry February 15, 2011

Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hlbingham February 13, 2011
Senegalese Chicken and Peanut Soup