Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Senate Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Senate Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-49 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on January 02, 2007

      Excellent soup ~ Hearty, satisfying, and even better the next day! Mine was cooked in a crockpot, with the potato flakes, nutmeg, oregano, and basil added just a few minutes before serving time. Having used the full 8 cups of water I doubled the potato flakes for a nice thick-bodied soup. And I omitted parsley and reduced the nutmeg to 1/4 teaspoon. Note: For best flavor do not skimp on the salt ~ I used 1 1/2 teaspoons. Thanks NurseDi for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2006

      Hey There~ Loved Your Soup-MUCH better than mine! I used the mashed potato option, and reduced the nutmeg to 1/4 t. as my fiance dosnt care for it to much. I pureed 1/4 of the mixture before serving. This is now my new "what to do with the ham bone" recipe! Thanks for posting, Di

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      I love this recipe! I originally got it from the Templeton, IA Centennial cook book (1882-1982). Great recipe, thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2006

      We liked this. I think next time tho I will double the beans as we like more. I added more instant potato flakes to get a thicker consistance just because I could tell we would like it better from the way it looked. Will make again. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2006

      Excellent bean soup withgreat flavor. Followed the recipe as stated and wouldn't change a thing. Thank you NurseDi for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2006

      We love our soups. And this is just another great recipezaar soup recipe, we will make time and again. I used ham soup bouillion base for flavoring. And used a leftover leek for the onion,wonderful flavor.NurseDi you did it again... Thank U for this recipe,as well as others of yours I've tried.......

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2005

      I keep kosher so I used beef neck bones - I have no idea how it compares to a ham bone, but I get the impression a ham bone would've given it more flavor. I found it bland, so I added the juice from the pot roast cooking right next to it on the stove.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      This was excellent! I made due with what I had on hand so no ham bone went into the pot. I tossed in about 1 1/2 pounds of Smithfield Center Cut Ham. I’m certain that a ham bone would’ve made this even better than it was but I was too busy to go to the store. (I’ll use one next time though). I used a 48 oz jar of Randall’s beans to speed things up . To get it as thick as I like I used about 2 or 3 heaping teaspoons of cornstarch in a sippy-cup of water. Everything else I followed to the letter and it was wonderful! I’m sure it will be even better tomorrow. I’ll be making this during the winter, thanks to you, NurseDi.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      Outstanding flavor. I used the unsliced last portion of a honey baked ham (the bone still attached) which had a lot of meat,and I also used all fresh herbs. We like it just a little thicker, so next time will add a little less water in step 3. We're still enjoying the leftovers. Thanks for posting a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Senate Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 111.2
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    45%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 151.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites