51 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I am making this soup at this very minute. My house smells incredible and the soup base is delicious....giving this recipe to all my friends!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jilybean901_10094833 August 26, 2012

This was good. I doubt I will make again as my husband couldn't get over the fact it wasnt regular ham and beans. i liked the navy beans in it. Thanks!1

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.church August 25, 2012

AWESOME!!! Best bean soup ever. I used 3 cans of white kidney beans because I didn't want to wait a day. Freezes beautifully.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debby H May 13, 2011

I've been trying for years to replicate an excellent Senate bean soup I had in a restaurant and not only did I replicate, I improved it! I'm a 'soak the beans overnight' kind of person so I did that in place of the boiling step. I used a locally smoked ham hock and then added some leftover ham scraps when adding the meat from the hock. Also, I started it kind of early and let it simmer on the back of the stove so I probably cooked for about 4 hours total and I mashed the beans down a bit with a potato masher, which adds to the creaminess. I read some of the comments from people who said they had sticking issues with the potatoes so I added the potato flakes after I removed the ham hock and then just stirred every once in a while and it was fine, no sticking. I do like to remove the ham hock, or bone, before adding lots of the major ingredients because it seems that the removal of that bone sucks some of the veggies and stuff along with it. BUT, I don't like to remove it too soon because it's an integral part of the flavor in the soup. Anyway, I made a really good pot of soup on this snowy afternoon (yes, it's April but it snowed here) and my husband got the warm fuzzies from it and went to sleep and for that, I thank you very much for this excellent recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey Jude April 16, 2011

I used large lima beans and added some carrots as well. Good stuff! Made in the crock. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aronsinvest April 10, 2011

Love this soup! Perfectly seasoned and healthy to boot! This will be a regular at our house. I used mashed potatoes as I didn't have instant and it worked great. 2 ham hocks is the perfect amount, in my opinion. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Epi Curious May 28, 2010

Wanted something different from the usual Yankee Bean Soup, and this fit the bill! Thanks for the great recipe; terrific blend of seasonings to go with the ham, bean, and potato combination.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IrishEyes.NYC May 27, 2010

This is a keeper for sure! Used a meaty bone from our Easter ham. Made exactly as the recipe specified with on small change...used great northern beans. We loved it. Thanks Di.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanaD April 18, 2010

Good soup recipe, especially when you have an extra ham bone laying around! I had to cook my soup for much longer than the directions called for to get the beans soft.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaDonnaS February 10, 2010

I made this with our Thanksgiving ham leftovers as directed, the only variation was that I put it in the crockpot. Not sure as to why but this really didn't agree with our tastebuds, the soup itself wasn't bad...just not for us! Thanks for giving us another recipe to try!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Blue Skies December 02, 2009
Senate Bean Soup