Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Senate Bean Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Senate Bean Soup

    Average Rating:

    49 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 49

    Sort by:

    • on May 13, 2011

      AWESOME!!! Best bean soup ever. I used 3 cans of white kidney beans because I didn't want to wait a day. Freezes beautifully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      I've been trying for years to replicate an excellent Senate bean soup I had in a restaurant and not only did I replicate, I improved it! I'm a 'soak the beans overnight' kind of person so I did that in place of the boiling step. I used a locally smoked ham hock and then added some leftover ham scraps when adding the meat from the hock. Also, I started it kind of early and let it simmer on the back of the stove so I probably cooked for about 4 hours total and I mashed the beans down a bit with a potato masher, which adds to the creaminess. I read some of the comments from people who said they had sticking issues with the potatoes so I added the potato flakes after I removed the ham hock and then just stirred every once in a while and it was fine, no sticking. I do like to remove the ham hock, or bone, before adding lots of the major ingredients because it seems that the removal of that bone sucks some of the veggies and stuff along with it. BUT, I don't like to remove it too soon because it's an integral part of the flavor in the soup. Anyway, I made a really good pot of soup on this snowy afternoon (yes, it's April but it snowed here) and my husband got the warm fuzzies from it and went to sleep and for that, I thank you very much for this excellent recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      I used large lima beans and added some carrots as well. Good stuff! Made in the crock. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2010

      Love this soup! Perfectly seasoned and healthy to boot! This will be a regular at our house. I used mashed potatoes as I didn't have instant and it worked great. 2 ham hocks is the perfect amount, in my opinion. Thanks for sharing this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      Wanted something different from the usual Yankee Bean Soup, and this fit the bill! Thanks for the great recipe; terrific blend of seasonings to go with the ham, bean, and potato combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      This is a keeper for sure! Used a meaty bone from our Easter ham. Made exactly as the recipe specified with on small change...used great northern beans. We loved it. Thanks Di.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Good soup recipe, especially when you have an extra ham bone laying around! I had to cook my soup for much longer than the directions called for to get the beans soft.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2009

      I made this with our Thanksgiving ham leftovers as directed, the only variation was that I put it in the crockpot. Not sure as to why but this really didn't agree with our tastebuds, the soup itself wasn't bad...just not for us! Thanks for giving us another recipe to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      My husband didn't like this soup as much as I did until he added ketchup to his bowl...ewwww! He lost his right to vote; I mean, come on, ketchup? I am giving it five stars as I think it has a wonderful taste especially with the addition of the nutmeg. It gets even better overnight. Will make this again and hide the ketchup :) Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2009

      I may try this again but with the addition of a carrot, or maybe something acidic. DH and I both thought it was missing something and found it bland. I loved the addition of nutmeg. Thanks for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      That was fantastic! I had to substitute ham hocks for the ham bone and I threw in 1/4 teaspoon Old Bay seasoning and it came out great. Leftovers are going to friends at our church.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      Delicious. Nice balance of flavors, hearty and satisfying. Wonderful winter comfort food. Freezes well too, making this a great candidate for OAMC. Served with crusty bread and spinach salad for a balanced meal. Thanks for sharing. Diane

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2009

      Made this some time ago. I was looking for a recipe for this today and realized I never gave it it's due. Awesome soup and I am looking forward to using my left over Easter ham. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Really hoped it was going to be different from any other bean soup but was disappointed. Was bland & overly peppered. Recipe calls for 1 1/2 t, I only used 1 t and still most of the flavor came from the pepper. The only thing I did different was cook in a crockpot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      My first run with this I couldn't find my nutmeg. I added it later and, WOW! This has great flavor. My family cleaned our ham bone pretty well but this was a great way to get a second use of the bone. I will definitely keep this recipe on hand for future use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      I have dubbed this "Herby Senate Bean Soup." It is delicious and the herbs and nutmeg make an amazing difference in taste! (The version I grew up with has only salt, pepper and lots of parsley.) I like slightly larger beans so used great northern rather than navy beans, and 4 medium smoked ham hocks--that yielded quite a bit of meat. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      I made this recipe a few years ago, and then forgot where I got it from. Thank goodness I found it again. This is the best bean soup ever. People that don't like bean soup love this . Canefan1947

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2008

      This is about as good as it gets! The spice combination is fantastic. I doubled the recipe and am glad I did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      I've never made bean soup because I don't care for it. My boss' husband gave me a huge grocery bag full of navy bean fresh off the combine, so I figured I would give it a shot. DH gave it a very enthusiastic 5 stars, saying it is better than his dad's bean soup (ssshhhh!!). His partner at work gave it 6 stars, saying it is even better than the Fairgrove Bean Festival soup (which is apparently a VERY big deal)! It made the house smell wonderful while it was cooking. I made exactly as directed, but added some extra diced ham. I even tried it and I must say it was pretty good! This recipe may just have made me a bean soup eater! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2007

      EXCELLENT...I got a HoneyBaked Ham bone and made a broth while the beans cooked. The ham broth was strained and I cooled in the fridge and removed most of the fat. The broth was added to the beans with about a cup of chicken broth.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Senate Bean Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (78 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 111.2
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    45%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 151.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 7.0 g
    28%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    ham bone

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes