Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Self-Saucing Chocolate Pudding Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Self-Saucing Chocolate Pudding

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2003

      What a nice pudding! The only thing is that I would have liked a 'richer' taste - and I think that's from the addition of the water. Has anyone ever tried something similar using hot milk? I think it would make a world of difference in flavour. this is very good as is though and will be made very often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2003

      I checked 3 similar recipes after reading the 2 reviews that wanted extra richness. This has more cocoa than any of those did, and thy all use water. They also all used an egg. I bit the bullet and added the egg as I couldn't have put it in the oven without it in the end. This was good, real comfort food for a cold night, but consider adding a large egg with the milk.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2003

      This is an amazingly simple and delicious recipe. Two caveats: (1) the cake part of the recipe, which starts on the bottom and floats to the top during baking, could not, at least for me, be "poured" into the prepared dish as per step 5 because it is more like a dough than a batter. It worked beautifully anyway. (2) I agree with the comment that the sauce part might be better if made with milk rather than water. Even skim milk or the addition of some nonfat dry milk might make it a little thicker. I baked mine in a standard loaf pan.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      This is splendid! I did substitute the butter with margarine and since my brown sugar had turned rock hard, I used a little less than 1/2 cup of white sugar and the remainder, I used brown sugar to come up to 3/4 cup in total. I allowed the pudding to sit in my oven for 8 minutes after it was done(I baked it for 40 minutes at 180C in my oven that was pre-heated to 180C). I made this pudding for my little 7 yr. old friend, Abi, who surprised me with a phone call early this morning and told me she got her results(70%) and is now promoted to Std. III!!! So happy for her! I decided to equally surprise her with this pudding, and, you know what, she was asking me for your phone number so she could call and say Thank you, Auntie Annelies! HAHA!! Thanks for such a good recipe! What I was drooling over was the chocolate sauce at the base...mmmm....!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      It was a little bit hard to spread the batter in the pan. But I think it still worked. I hard to remove it from the oven after 35 minutes. For me I would have liked with more chocolate sauce. I'd try to add more liquid another time. And the milk is a great idea. The taste is really good :) Made for your cook-a-thon

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2011

      Made in memory of Pets'R'us, another one of her recipes that is 5 star as she was. I had the pleasure of knowing and meeting Annelies since we both live in The Netherlands, and she was a lovely person and It was a pleasure knowing her.
      Thanks Annelies for yet another no-fail recipe added to my collection, this was VERY popular in our house and I'll be making it again soon. R.I.P my friend, you will be missed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2011

      Wow!!! What a wonderful dessert and so easy!! I made 1/2 of the recipe, but I used too small of a pan (not deep enough) to add all the water. I wasn't sure how it would turn out, but went ahead and baked it. It turned out perfectly, the top was a nice cake and the bottom had a nice pudding, plenty thick enough that I didn't need to add cornstarch. This is a recipe I will be making again for desserts!! Made for the Pets'R'us Cook-a-thon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      Delicious!! We really loved this quick and easy chocolate pudding. Served warm with a glass of cold milk...yummy! I took a couple of liberties with this recipe based on some previous reviews. I added an egg to the milk mixture before mixing into the dry ingredients. Also, to thicken up the chocolate sauce, I added 1 TBSP cornstarch to the brown sugar/ cocoa mixture before sprinkling it onto the batter. I baked this in a 7"x11" baking pan for 40 minutes and it turned out perfect. This is definitely a keeper!!
      **Made for Pets'R'Us cookathon**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2011

      This is so goooood, im trying to hold myself back from eating everybody else's. Followed recipe exactly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      I have had this recipe saved for a few years now...I wish I'd made it sooner! I only had a-p flour so added 1 1/2 tsp baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt to the flour mixture. Used skim milk but otherwise didn't change anything. 40 minutes baking was perfect for my oven. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      This was a really easy but rewarding recipe!! Everyone loved it. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2007

      I have been using a very similar recipe for years to great effect. The only difference is I use 2 cups of hot water. So there is room to experiment depending on whether you like a thick or more runny sauce. Its one of the easiest deserts to make yet it always impresses. Thank you PetsRus, I don't need to post my recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      Adding a tablespoon of cornflour to step 6 may help to thicken the sauce. Beautiful dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2005

      Very good dessert that is great for kids to make. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2005

      My daughter is learning to cook and we chose this for dessert last night. It was a beautiful dessert. We served with pouring cream. No left overs :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2004

      Very nice. I'm fourteen and found it a very simple yet tasty pudding to cook. I enjoyed it more the first time I cooked it than the second. Overall this is a good dessert that can just be whipped up in no time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2003

      An indulgent little dessert that has many new fans in this household. I followed Jan S's advice and added an egg in with the milk. My family had a wonderful dessert served with vanilla bean ice cream. Thanks Annelies for the wonderful treat that will be made again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Self-Saucing Chocolate Pudding

    Serving Size: 1 (173 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 504.2
     
    Calories from Fat 74
    14%
    Total Fat 8.2 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 19.5 mg
    6%
    Sodium 479.2 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 107.3 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 77.7 g
    311%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes