18 Reviews

What a nice pudding! The only thing is that I would have liked a 'richer' taste - and I think that's from the addition of the water. Has anyone ever tried something similar using hot milk? I think it would make a world of difference in flavour. this is very good as is though and will be made very often.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens May 27, 2003

I checked 3 similar recipes after reading the 2 reviews that wanted extra richness. This has more cocoa than any of those did, and thy all use water. They also all used an egg. I bit the bullet and added the egg as I couldn't have put it in the oven without it in the end. This was good, real comfort food for a cold night, but consider adding a large egg with the milk.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS August 30, 2003

This is an amazingly simple and delicious recipe. Two caveats: (1) the cake part of the recipe, which starts on the bottom and floats to the top during baking, could not, at least for me, be "poured" into the prepared dish as per step 5 because it is more like a dough than a batter. It worked beautifully anyway. (2) I agree with the comment that the sauce part might be better if made with milk rather than water. Even skim milk or the addition of some nonfat dry milk might make it a little thicker. I baked mine in a standard loaf pan.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimstoic July 09, 2003

This is splendid! I did substitute the butter with margarine and since my brown sugar had turned rock hard, I used a little less than 1/2 cup of white sugar and the remainder, I used brown sugar to come up to 3/4 cup in total. I allowed the pudding to sit in my oven for 8 minutes after it was done(I baked it for 40 minutes at 180C in my oven that was pre-heated to 180C). I made this pudding for my little 7 yr. old friend, Abi, who surprised me with a phone call early this morning and told me she got her results(70%) and is now promoted to Std. III!!! So happy for her! I decided to equally surprise her with this pudding, and, you know what, she was asking me for your phone number so she could call and say Thank you, Auntie Annelies! HAHA!! Thanks for such a good recipe! What I was drooling over was the chocolate sauce at the base...mmmm....!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani May 27, 2003

Try using coffee instead of water. Really makes a difference!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sharon.guinn March 28, 2015

It was a little bit hard to spread the batter in the pan. But I think it still worked. I hard to remove it from the oven after 35 minutes. For me I would have liked with more chocolate sauce. I'd try to add more liquid another time. And the milk is a great idea. The taste is really good :) Made for your cook-a-thon

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette August 06, 2011

Made in memory of Pets'R'us, another one of her recipes that is 5 star as she was. I had the pleasure of knowing and meeting Annelies since we both live in The Netherlands, and she was a lovely person and It was a pleasure knowing her.
Thanks Annelies for yet another no-fail recipe added to my collection, this was VERY popular in our house and I'll be making it again soon. R.I.P my friend, you will be missed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch August 06, 2011

Wow!!! What a wonderful dessert and so easy!! I made 1/2 of the recipe, but I used too small of a pan (not deep enough) to add all the water. I wasn't sure how it would turn out, but went ahead and baked it. It turned out perfectly, the top was a nice cake and the bottom had a nice pudding, plenty thick enough that I didn't need to add cornstarch. This is a recipe I will be making again for desserts!! Made for the Pets'R'us Cook-a-thon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
diner524 July 28, 2011

Delicious!! We really loved this quick and easy chocolate pudding. Served warm with a glass of cold milk...yummy! I took a couple of liberties with this recipe based on some previous reviews. I added an egg to the milk mixture before mixing into the dry ingredients. Also, to thicken up the chocolate sauce, I added 1 TBSP cornstarch to the brown sugar/ cocoa mixture before sprinkling it onto the batter. I baked this in a 7"x11" baking pan for 40 minutes and it turned out perfect. This is definitely a keeper!!
**Made for Pets'R'Us cookathon**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill July 18, 2011

This is so goooood, im trying to hold myself back from eating everybody else's. Followed recipe exactly

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aleigha Nicole June 30, 2011
Self-Saucing Chocolate Pudding