Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Self-Frosting Anise Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Self-Frosting Anise Cookies

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2013

      These are amazing! I considered putting anise seeds on the cookie sheets, but didn't in the end. The anise flavor is still very strong. The directions in this recipe were very concise, and I followed them all. I have never used my hand mixer for 15 minutes straight (with time-out for scraping down the bowl) before. I made half a recipe, and, with very sloppy portioning, got 47 cookies. So, I think the "about 10 dozen" yield for the entire recipe is more than likely correct. I did not think so before I made these. The flavor is wonderful. They do form a "frosting" layer. My oven is new, and I had a hard time deciding what temperature to set it for, and how long to bake these. Many of mine got overbaked. They still taste fabulous. I will be practicing on these again. Thank you very much for taking the trouble to post these here.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      The way I was taught this was to grease and flour the cookie sheet, cover with anise seeds, then drop the cookies onto the seeds. Go through a lot of seeds. Once made, let the cookies get real hard. An old style cookie you dip in coffee, etc. Great cookie if you like anise.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2008

      I have never tried Anise Cookies but heard about them from a friend. Excellent recipe and cookie!! Will certainly add this recipe to my favorites. I used a small cookie scoop and got 51 ( approx. 4 dozen ) cookies from the recipe not the 10 dozen as stated. Thank you LDJ for a great recipe !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2013

      I'm hoping these are the same cookies that my grandmother made when she was still with us. It does sound like them [I remember her having trays laying all over the place overnight :)], she use to put sprinkles or hard silver balls on them. Will try for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2008

      Cookies came out kind of flat, but they tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      I love these! The texture and flavor are awesome, will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      I have never gotten so many compliments from these cookies. They just taste great. The only problems are trying to find space to allow the cookies to dry, and to make sure you have a heavy duty mixer. Mine broke the first time I made these, but it's ok. My husband loved the cookies so much, he bought me a mixer the next day. I will definately be making these again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

      L DJ, these cookies turned out exactly how I expected them! They have a crisp top shell and chewy center. Aside from being thin drop cookies, they remind me of easier to make and eat springereles. My family is going to be so happy when they taste these. Thank you and thank you for your help, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      I am so happy that I found this recipe. My grandmother was originally from Germany and made these every Christmas for us and strangely I never got the recipe. She has now passed but making these cookies certainly reminded me of many cold winters munching on these YUMMY cookies wiht my Grammie. I slightly over cooked my first batch but they were still great. Will be making them again this weekend! Thank you so much for putting this recipe here!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Self-Frosting Anise Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (891 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 287.7
     
    Calories from Fat 19
    81%
    Total Fat 2.1 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 74.4 mg
    24%
    Sodium 105.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 61.7 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 40.1 g
    160%
    Protein 5.4 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites