Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Seitan Log Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Seitan Log

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on October 15, 2009

      After discovering this recipe on the site, it is now one of the most versatile recipes in my arsenal. Like user veggie_mama, I also omit the cinnamon, cumin, and allspice. I add onion powder in their place. My household enjoys just snacking on the log throughout the day. Its so good! When I make tofu lasagna, I crumble part of the log up and throw it in my vegan "ricotta" mixture. It gives it an extra kick! So many ways to use this recipe in others.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      This is the THE BEST seitan log I have made to date. It was very moist and flavorful. I chose to omit the cinnamon, cumin and allspice. I added 1 teaspoon of onion powder instead. It was such a huge hit, we ate 2/3 of it for dinner tonight. Thanks for posting a fantastic recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2009

      Fabulous! I tripled the recipe, and changed up the spices a bit. I was aiming for a "smoked turkey" tasting substitute. The addition of liquid smoke, onion powder and poultry seasoning helped. I left out the cinnamon, allspice and cumin. I used half tamari, and half Braggs. I ended up slicing this pretty thinly on an electric slicer, and making panini with it and some brie, pesto and baby spinach. Wonderful directions, Ajo, thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2014

      I'm new to vegetarian cooking and this recipe was easy to follow and turned out beautifully. I look forward to trying other spice combinations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2012

      This recipe is awesome! It was my first attempt at making my own seitan & i'm so happy with the way it came out. I didn't use allspice or cinnamon because I didn't have any on hand. I also added onion powder (1 tsp), as suggested by some of the other reviewers. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2011

      This is delicious. I made it exactly as the recipe calls for and can't believe how tasty it is. I am going to try to experiment with other spices next. I think it comes out much more compact than when I boiled my seitan for an hour in a broth mixture. That was also very good but the seitan was not nearly as firm as baking made it. This was also very easy to do. I highly recommend trying it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      The first seitan recipe I made, and it was a huge success! I always play around a bit with the spices and sometimes add some liquid smoke to make it taste sausage-y, but it always turns out fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2010

      This recipe is awesome! Definitely try it once as is and then break out the customizations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      Delicious, amazing, and so simple!! This was my first time making it, so I decided to use the combination of spices as written. I think I did omit the cinnamon only. The allspice comes through loud and clear... I ight make it one more time exactly as written, and then try some other spice combos. I used the seitan sliced thin for sandwiches: wheat bread, lettuce, tomato and mustard. I also diced the rest of the log and made it into a taco filling, YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2009

      I too found this on the PPK, and love it! I am not vegan, but am vegetarian and was looking to not rely on so many foods like cheese and eggs (I still eat them, just trying to moderate things). I use the spices as-is, but haven't been able to find vegan worchesterschire sauce, so instead, I use 2 tbs red miso. I love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2009

      This was good, very meaty. We aren't vegan or vegetarian, but have been trying to find some healthier and less processed substitutes for some meats, and this is a winner. We put it in the food processor to substitute as ground beef as another reviewer suggested. Next time I think I will change the spices up too, to make it more meatball-like instead of pepperoni-like. Thanks so much AJO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2008

      we liked this a lot. I skipped the cinnamon based on one of the reviews that it resembled pumpkin pie flavorings. I also skipped the allsice. I found this to be very easy. Such an all purpose recipe, you could change the seasoning to make it like sausage, pepperoni, chicken etc. Never pay for high priced seitan again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      Really good, super easy and SO versatile...a MUST basic for any VEG HEAD...LOVE IT!!! :) my husband has patiently put up with my vegetarian whims for 20 years and he was thrilled with this!!! thanks AJO...made for "Healthy Choices Tag Game" - **A WINNER**

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2008

      I made this recipe after finding it on the PPK site and loved it. I ended up having a few meals with it (BBQ Seitan and 2 different types of chili). It was pretty easy to make as well. This is going to sound so weird, but it tasted like a mix between pumpkin pie and pepperoni. Next time, I'll leave out or cut back on the cinnamon. ***EDIT: I changed the spices around the 2nd time and it was even better: salt, cumin, garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, and used broth instead of water. MUCH MUCH better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      This was delicious - very meaty. I did not have any paprika or allspice so I substituted it with additional cayenne pepper. It turned out great, super easy and quick to prepare, I will definitely be making this again. I doubt I'll need to buy meat substitutes again! Next time I will try baking these in smaller logs in an attempt for sausage. The taste was great. My boyfriend ate it with mashed potatoes and saurkraut, I had some with bbq sauce. Fantastic, thanks for posting! *Edit: I just wanted to add that I continue to make and love this recipe. I've had success making a double batch and cooking an extra 15 minutes, I also make meat crumbles out of this by putting it in my food processor. This is good stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I enjoyed this. It makes a nice, plump log and slices so cleanly. It's pretty versatile; thinly sliced in a sandwich, breaded and dipped in BBQ sauce. Thanks for posting AJO.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Seitan Log

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 83.8
     
    Calories from Fat 47
    57%
    Total Fat 5.3 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 646.2 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.1 g
    12%
    Sugars 1.4 g
    5%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vital wheat gluten

    vegetarian worcestershire sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes