17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the THE BEST seitan log I have made to date. It was very moist and flavorful. I chose to omit the cinnamon, cumin and allspice. I added 1 teaspoon of onion powder instead. It was such a huge hit, we ate 2/3 of it for dinner tonight. Thanks for posting a fantastic recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggie_mama May 27, 2009

After discovering this recipe on the site, it is now one of the most versatile recipes in my arsenal. Like user veggie_mama, I also omit the cinnamon, cumin, and allspice. I add onion powder in their place. My household enjoys just snacking on the log throughout the day. Its so good! When I make tofu lasagna, I crumble part of the log up and throw it in my vegan "ricotta" mixture. It gives it an extra kick! So many ways to use this recipe in others.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacey.moore October 15, 2009

Fabulous! I tripled the recipe, and changed up the spices a bit. I was aiming for a "smoked turkey" tasting substitute. The addition of liquid smoke, onion powder and poultry seasoning helped. I left out the cinnamon, allspice and cumin. I used half tamari, and half Braggs. I ended up slicing this pretty thinly on an electric slicer, and making panini with it and some brie, pesto and baby spinach. Wonderful directions, Ajo, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Edlear April 02, 2009

My first experience with making my own meat substitute. I left out the "sweeter" spices, but added onion like others did. I'll definitely make this again, cause I can see flavoring this with crumbled seaweed to make a fish patty, using poultry seasoning for turkey type things. I will either double wrap this next time or cook less, as mine got pretty dark on the down side of my log. Tasty though. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie April 09, 2015

I'm new to vegetarian cooking and this recipe was easy to follow and turned out beautifully. I look forward to trying other spice combinations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
James M. July 14, 2014

This recipe is awesome! It was my first attempt at making my own seitan & i'm so happy with the way it came out. I didn't use allspice or cinnamon because I didn't have any on hand. I also added onion powder (1 tsp), as suggested by some of the other reviewers. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PescatariYum May 04, 2012

This is delicious. I made it exactly as the recipe calls for and can't believe how tasty it is. I am going to try to experiment with other spices next. I think it comes out much more compact than when I boiled my seitan for an hour in a broth mixture. That was also very good but the seitan was not nearly as firm as baking made it. This was also very easy to do. I highly recommend trying it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vegimanic April 10, 2011

The first seitan recipe I made, and it was a huge success! I always play around a bit with the spices and sometimes add some liquid smoke to make it taste sausage-y, but it always turns out fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lovaskon April 06, 2011

This recipe is awesome! Definitely try it once as is and then break out the customizations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Heavyfoot November 18, 2010

Delicious, amazing, and so simple!! This was my first time making it, so I decided to use the combination of spices as written. I think I did omit the cinnamon only. The allspice comes through loud and clear... I ight make it one more time exactly as written, and then try some other spice combos. I used the seitan sliced thin for sandwiches: wheat bread, lettuce, tomato and mustard. I also diced the rest of the log and made it into a taco filling, YUM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kozmic Blues November 01, 2009
Seitan Log