14 Reviews

i have been searching for this texture and flavor for years. Melts in your mouth.. Our UPS man says its heavenly and I think so too!!S.Rutherford

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Rutherford December 18, 2002

This is ok, but it's not the original See's fudge recipe. I got the recipe in 1962 while living in Los Angeles. It has 2 sticks butter, 4 1/2 cups sugar, 2 jar marshmallow cream, 1 can evap. milk, tablespoon vanilla, 2 cups nuts and 2 cups chocolate chips. I'm not saying this is a bad recipe, it's pretty good, but butter makes it richer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
825898 December 03, 2012

I have never had See's fudge. All I know is that this is an easy, delicious recipe. Honestly, to the reviewer that said more butter will make it richer, I don't think I would want it to be any richer. It is plenty rich!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrivener1 August 16, 2015

It's hard to say if this is really the recipe used by Sees Candies?, but I have used this recipe (reported as such) for more than 30 years; in my opinion it is the very best. Taking the time to melt the butter and marshmellows in a double boiler, as described, gives far superior results than the lazy combination of marshmellow cream found in other recipes. Timing is of the essence, pay close attention while preparing this recipe. Here's three pointers that will really make a difference:
1) It is very important to boil the sugar and evaporated milk precisely for 6 minutes; if it is over-cooked it will become brittle and if it is undercooked it will not have a good creamy texture.
2) Do not substitute margarine for butter; it will not set up well with margarine.
3) Some may find milk chocolate chips produce fudge a little too sweet (I am one of them); I always use semi-sweet choclate chips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cyberwwwiz December 10, 2012

This is the exact recipe my grandmother fixed years and years ago. My mother now fixes it also, during Christmastime--only she uses a jar of Marshmallow Fluff instead of marshmallows. This recipe is an all-time favorite of mine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cazadora January 03, 2009

My Grandmother used to make this every Christmas, all of us in the family loved it! She made other cookies and goodies and bundled all into a christmas package for us. Yummiest Fudge on earth ! Thanks for making Christmas for me this year ! I am going to make it, & give away like granny did !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
szoconn December 15, 2008

Yummy! I made some of this for DB to take to work his co-workers and the contractors that were doing work that day devoured it! I have never made fudge before and wasn't sure how, so in step 8 "stir until well blended" I wasn't sure if it meant just until the items were mixed, or until the chocolate melted. I wanted it to be creamy so I stirred it until the chocolate was mostly melted :-) MMMM MMMM good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teddy's Mommy December 17, 2007

I've been making this recipe for years, but my recipe makes a whopping five pounds per batch. So this made it easy because it pretty much cut my old recipe in half so I can now make several flavors at a time. I love this recipe as a base, I then add nuts, or peanut butter cups, peppermint patties, or even snickers in the mix. This recipe is a no fail and is one of the only recipes for fudge I use. I love it tons!! Edit : Also you can use this exact same recipe for white chocolate fudge as well. Just use White chocolate chips- best fudge ever! Also use same recipe for a neopolition fudge. Just use white chips with Strawberry in place of vanilla extract. Instead of using regular marshmellows Use strawberry. I repeat the recipe three times layering chocolate, vanilla, then strawberry. Omg not only pretty but yumm..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RobinS Smith March 09, 2007

I made this fudge for my sister who loves See's Chocolates. Though she had never had their "fudge", she says this was "Verrrrrrryyy Goooood!!!" I heard the same things from others that tried it. Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie December 31, 2006

As an adolescent in the 70's this recipe was passed around as the "Million Dollar Fudge" recipe. The story goes that someone ate this fidge recipe and wrote to the company for the recipe, they were excited to receive the recipe but along with it was a bill for a million dollars for that recipe. It is an easy and great tasting recipe! I tried to find it in our family's recipe baxes and coldn't. Thanks to Sharlene and RecipeZaar I can add it to my collection and share it with the next generation. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vogel4341 December 22, 2006
See's Fudge