Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Secretly Delicious Spinach Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Secretly Delicious Spinach Pie

    Average Rating:

    165 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 165

    Sort by:

    • on January 30, 2011

      This was fantastic!!! Even my son, the world pickiest eater, ate his whole piece. I used a whole wheat tortilla for the base. I used another reviewers suggestion and sauteed the onion and 3 cloves of garlic, then added the fresh spinach to the pan till it got wilty. I spread that on top of the cheese. I didn't have lemon pepper, so I just added pepper and a tbsp of lemon juice to the mixture. I also added a bit of Herbamare seasoning and a pinch of cayenne. Served it with salsa. Sooooo delicious!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      Recently, my wife asked me if I could cook meals once per week. I rarely cook, when I do it's 99% of the time limited to some sort of pasta dish... and most other times when I am in the kitchen end up becoming a disaster! Not only was this easier to make than pasta, but it was a lot of fun, satisfying, and really really delicious. I'm pretty proud of myself, and my wife was so happy with it that she took pictures (which we uploaded to this site). We will definitely be making this "easy quiche" again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2010

      I love this and make it at least once a month. Usually I substitute flax for a couple of the eggs and use whatever cheese I have, but otherwise make it just as it says. So easy and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      Delicious! I added onion and used montreal seasoning instead of lemon pepper. I minced regular garlic and sauteed it with the onions. Made this dish just to use up spinach and ate it for breakfast every morning for a week and didn't get tired of it. I'm making it again next week. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2010

      I love making breakfast for company and decided it was time to try something new rather than all of my usual favorites. I had my daughter help by tearing the spinach and layering it with the cheese and I have to be honest, she thought it looked rather disgusting. Once it was out of the oven though, she tried it and declared that it would be perfect to serve at the brunch on the morning after her wedding!! I made two of these "pies", along with bacon and other egg dishes and they ate every bit of them. I followed the recipe except that I forgot to get garlic so I added garlic powder to the eggs. The one thing I will do differently next time (and there will be lots of next times!) is to layer the bacon with the spinach and cheese. Pouring it in with the eggs, it stayed on top of the pie and was a bit overcooked and dry. Thanks for a new favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      cooked this for dinner tonight and me and my hubby loved it didn't have a circle cake pan to do it in but just put it in my small cassarole dish and it worked out. 5 stars from this family!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2010

      With my limited cooking utensils, I ended up making a double serve in my rectangular baking dish. Worked a charm!! I am a huge fan on thin crusts on most crust foods, like pizza etc. This was delicious and so easy. I like easy.... :) thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      Tasty spinach pie. I made this a lower calorie and fat recipe by using 2 cups of egg whites with 2 whole eggs, soymilk, and reduced fat cheddar cheese. I enjoyed using a tortilla for the crust. Easy to put together and cooks up beautifully. I had to cook it an extra 20 minutes for whatever reason before the middle firmed up. I also added some sriracha and fresh basil to the eggs in step 1. This is something I would make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2011

      Love this! Used frozen spinach and yogurt instead of the milk, as it's what I had on hand. Skipped the tortilla since we didn't have any, and used about half the cheese... I did sprinkle the top with grated parm when it came out of the oven. All 4 of my kids loved it... next time the kids want to use broccoli in place of the spinach.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      Oh my! This was so good! First time I'd ever roasted garlic...what a fantastic aroma! Could hardly wait to taste it added to this dish. It was delicious! I used a cheese blend of pepper jack and cheddar. I also used turkey bacon, which was a great addition to this flavorful mixture. I placed the flour tortilla in a 9-in layer cake pyrex dish. That gave it the nice shape of a "quiche" pie. Topped it with picante sauce, and I tell you, I loved every bite! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2010

      Love this recipe! I have made it with cheddar cheese and feta cheese - both times it came out great. I use more egg whites than whole eggs, too. Just delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2005

      Be sure to use a glass pie plate, will stick less. If you use aluminum - you will need to spray with oil first. Enjoy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      Made this for breakfast and I loved how easy & adaptable it was; DH loved how great it tasted and said this is a keeper AND a repeater. The flour tortilla was the perfect crust. We added a chopped jalapeno and used sausage (that's what we had) instead of bacon & also saute some sliced onions to go in it. The fresh spinach was awesome I used the mixed cheddar & jack cheese combo but can see where shredded Swiss would be great too. This is going right into my Best of 2014 Book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2013

      I loved this. Great flavor and so easy to make. thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      We enjoyed this recipe. Quick & easy to make. Enjoyed the addition of the lemon pepper & nice variation for the tortilla vs a quiche bottom. Increased the bacon & added one more egg and it was perfect for us, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      Loved it! easy and tasty. I added sweet bell pepper, cayenne pepper, onion to the egg mix and fresh chives and parsley on top. I also used canned spinach. Wish I had fresh, but didn't.I should say, my tortilla wasn't crunchy and it is impossible to have the egg only on the tortilla. I will make this again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2013

      Quick and easy for a hearty weekday breakfast. I will experiment with cheeses and herbs on this base recipe. Thanks for the great idea of using a tortilla.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2013

      Quick to make and delicious. Served with a carrot-raisin salad. I used only 6 large eggs and added 2 tablespoons of plain fat yogourt. Must use deep pie shell.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2013

    • on January 07, 2013

      It's easy, quick, and the idea of using a tortilla as a base is great. Flavour-wise, it's pretty good, but nothing to write home about. I fried the onion, garlic, and spinach (glad I did!), and also added about a tsp of mustard powder to the egg mixture. Serving it with salsa adds a bit, tho I'd also suggest trying it with cranberry sauce.
      I don't think I'll be making this frequently, but I'm filing away the idea of using tortilla as a base for quiches/etc.! I love making a traditional pie pastry, but this is certainly a lot lighter. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Secretly Delicious Spinach Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 284.1
     
    Calories from Fat 147
    51%
    Total Fat 16.3 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 256.9 mg
    85%
    Sodium 610.4 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    3%
    Protein 17.3 g
    34%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    lemon pepper

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes