9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was a very different dish for our house; however, it went over really well! DH was very apprehensive about this one but gave in and thought it was tasty, light, well balanced, and had subtle tasty flavors (tasty is his favorite word to describe food :) ). I was going to serve it with a couple slices of cauliflower on top but forgot when I was chopping them up so just threw a couple sauteed onions on there. Have to agree with Magpie Diner - the agave & vinegar really developed the flavor on this one. Thanks so much WICC!! Recipenap'd for Veggie Swap 23!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious June 05, 2010

This soup is fantastic! It is hearthy, thick and soo yummy! I loved the addition of the apple, it made the soup special without being very noticeable. The curry is a nice touch as is the vinegar. I left out the honey as my apple was of the sweet variety, but other than that stuck to your recipe and loved it!<br/>THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this keeper here with us, WICC!<br/>Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #58 May 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula May 07, 2013

This is a wonderful soup. I wasn't sure what to expect from a cauliflower soup, but curiosity overcame me, and am I glad it did! The flavors of the curry, apple, and the finishing touches of rice wine vinegar and honey blend wonderfully and really dress up the simple cauliflower. Like other reviewers, I used a Granny Smith. Thanks for sharing! Veggie Swap 51

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews October 28, 2012

This soup was very delicious! I also added celery when I was sauteeing the onions. I didn't have a granny smith, so used another apple and it was still great. I am glad it is lighter than other cauliflower soups that I looked at. I will definitely put this soup in my tried and truly good cookbook.
Thanks a lot.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosemere December 19, 2011

Excellent! It was even a big hit with a confirmed cauliflower hater. I used a granny smith apple, agave and pureed it with my trusty stick blender. Many thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Kate July 30, 2011

I found this to be delicious as well as extremely easy. I used a pretty strong curry powder, maybe a little too strong for this....I think a generic mild store brand would work really well in this. I'm the only fan of curry flavours in our house, so I can freeze some of this now just for me - yay. I really like the addition of agave & vinegar at the end. And it's really filling, so you get some bang for your calorie buck. Thanks WICC - another fab one! Made for Veg*n Swap Jan10.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
magpie diner January 08, 2010

I really enjoyed this as a nice change of pace from the usual vegetable soup at lunchtime! DS and DH were not brave enough to try it, so more for me LOL! I discovered too late that my apple had been eaten, so I subbed in a few healthy spoonfuls of tart applesauce, which worked fine. I like the touch of vinegar; it was subtle but did add a nice unique flavor. Thanks for posting! Made for Veg*n Swap #15.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian October 31, 2009

Great soup - but i'm a hard marker and i didn't absolutly love it. Husband would probably give it 4 stars. Would make it again if had a glut of Caulis. Used the leftovers as a base for a Chickpea Curry (added chickpeas, spinich, red peppers, more cauli florets, mustard seeds and curry leaves) - was really yummy, like a creamy curry but healthy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
taniamcgowan September 01, 2009

Delicious! I used my immersion blender to blend it and the texture is very creamy -- almost like a cream-based soup minus the fat and calories. I had to add a bit of water after blending it as the soup was a bit thick. I'm definitely making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn W May 12, 2009
Secret Ingredient Curried Cauliflower Soup