8 Reviews

This is a knock-your-socks off recipe!! Wonderful flavour - we loved it! I followed the recipe exactly, using turkey sausage. I served with garlic toast. Then... the next day, I reduced the soup a little bit to make it even thicker & served over angel hair pasta - I think that was even better than the soup - YUMMY!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbb March 24, 2008

Really delicious soup. I did not have any celery seeds so I chopped up a celery rib, used hot turkey Italian sausage, and added: about 3/4 can of red kidney beans, a pkg. of frozen spinach, a diced zucchini, yellow squash and a handful of macaroni (in the last hour). YUMMMMMM! This soup is definitely a keeper! Thanks so much for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hollyfrolly September 22, 2007

This was really good and sooooooo easy. I'll definitely make this one again and maybe even add some other vegetables next time - always trying to find ways to sneak more veggies in our diet. Thanks Hill Family for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LARavenscroft October 25, 2007

This was a wonderful, easy recipe! I would never normally consider eating sausage in a stew because I'm not too fond of meat at all but I'm glad I tried this! I modified it a little by adding one 15.5 oz. can of cannellini beans, two handfuls of frozen, chopped spinach (no need to defrost), 2 cups of frozen, sliced zucchini and squash, and two 14.5 oz. cans of cooked, sliced potatoes. I also omitted the ground turkey altogether and substituted canned vegetable broth for the chicken broth. It was delicious! I had enough leftovers to be able to serve four more meals, give my mother a takeout dish, and still freeze 4 more servings! This freezes wonderfully so its great for cooking ahead for your work week. Rave reviews all around and it will be a regular in our house! Thank you so very much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Spatula Wielder May 05, 2007

Very simple, good soup. I used ground beef and hot Italian sausage, but made the rest as directed. It filled the house with a wonderful aroma the last couple hours of cooking which certainly made us rush to the dinner table. I think that a little pasta might be good in this too. Thanks Hill Family for sharing the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme March 02, 2007

Really quick and easy to prep. I used Italian turkey meatballs, as the store didn't have the sausage I wanted, and subbed onion powder as my onion looked a little past its prime, but other than that followed the directions. Great flavor for what there is, but it seems incomplete. I think it really needs veggies added. Next time I would try adding mushrooms, great northern beans, zucchini, and spinach. Will also serve with fresh bread or garlic bread next time. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
littleturtle February 22, 2007

What a great soup to throw together! There were no complaints at this dinner table. I used lean ground beef because I didn't have any turkey on hand and 40 minutes before serving I added two cups of frozen mixed vegetables and sliced up 2 cans of potatoes. MMMMMM.....good. I served it with a side salad and homemade bread.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M February 20, 2007

This was a tasty easy soup. We thought it tasted even better the next day. Couldn't be easier. Thanks Hill Family Bullwinkle

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bullwinkle January 24, 2007
Season's Italian Crock Pot Soup