8 Reviews

So flavorful! The beef fell apart in the crock pot, and the au jus was amazing! I added sliced onions, red, orange, and yellow bell peppers, and half of a jar of sweet banana peppers about an hour before it was done cooking. I also made homemade hoagie buns to serve it on, which were great! (Pammy's Hoagies #161440) Thank you! We will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky Clover February 23, 2012

Excellent! Just what I was looking for. I didn't have any nice crusty rolls so made a pot of white rice to serve it over. Great combination. I didn't do anything different with recipe, except left out the green peppers since my Hubby doesn't like them. Definitely high salt though, so cut back if you don't have a salty palette. For once he didn't have to ADD salt to his dinner. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
EppiRN November 05, 2010

we thought this was really good! we did not add the bell peppers but didnt see the need to after eating it..i felt it was a little salty but my husband loved it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thales's mommy June 27, 2010

Delish! We had this tonight on fresh ciabatta buns with provolone cheese. We used the yummy broth as au jus and dipped away! I made this as directed and wouldn't change anything. The spices were very nice and not overpowering. Made for 2009 Faves. Thanks Hill Family! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nif February 18, 2010

I was looking for a recipe w/out onions, garlic or tomato (allergies). I left out the garlic, used 1/8 tsp powdered bay leaf, 3 lb roast and broth. I also browned the roast on all sides first. Made a lovely broth that I am freezing for future recipes that call for beef broth. The meat disappeared quickly! Thanks much. UPDATE: This made it into my Top Fav's of 2009 cookbook. Original Review 9-10-09.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WI Cheesehead January 04, 2010

Everyone loved this(even my FIL,who is used to very plain food). I used the water and bouillion but left out the green pepper because I only had red and didn't know if thast would matter. I served it "open face" style on white sandwich bread. The only complaint was (from my fiance) that at the end all the flavors got to be a little "strong",but he cleaned his plate!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris April 06, 2009

I've never made a pulled meat recipe before and I really didn't expect DH to like it. On the contrary, it got 5 stars from him! In fact we were 3 tonight and we all gave this recipe a 5 rating. I couldn't get any dry salad dressing mix at our store so I used a cup if fat free Italian dressing in a bottle and skipped the water ( I made a half amount). I still added the rest of the ingredients and was a bit paranoid when I tasted the finished seasoning mix because, boy, was it strong! I forged ahead and I'm so glad I did because we got the tastiest beef we have had in a very long time. I didn't have the buns and the guys wanted potatoes so I split baked spuds and topped them with the beef. I didn't add any bouillon (didn't think it was needed) but I did add red bell pepper. OH, and I didn't add the salt and pepper first listed and never missed it. I can't wait to try it in buns. I loved the way the pulled meat absorbs all of the liquid when I put it back into the crock pot to rewarm before dinner. I made it yesterday and chilled overnight so I could skim off all of the fat. I'm sure that this will show up repeatedly at our house. Made for Photo Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia March 11, 2009

YUMMY! I love Italian beef and this is the first time I've tried making it at home ... but it won't be the last. This recipe is awesome and so easy -- the crock pot does all the work. I followed it exactly with the exception of the meat ... I had a chuck roast I was planning to fix today anyway and then decided to use it in this recipe. I even added the bouillon cubes and green pepper at the end. It made great sandwiches which I topped with swiss cheese. The blend of spices is just perfect. This recipe rocks! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mary K. W. August 20, 2007
Season's Crock Pot Chicago Italian Beef Sandwiches