11 Reviews

This was good, but I took the advice of a previous reviewer and cut back on the salt by half Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pammyowl May 08, 2013

05/05/13: I made this seasoning today to use on 'home-made steak fries' that I served tonight with shredded beef 'Sloppy Joe' sandwiches. I followed the exact measurments, using level measuring spoons, but there was just way too much salt. So I started over and halved the salt and adjusted all the other ingredients, and it was spot on! I'm sorry, but your version was just too salty for us, but I appreciate the concept. I plan to make an extremely big batch to keep in a Tupperware in the cupboard when I can get the measurements accurate to our taste. I've made my own meat rubs, etc... but I have never thought of making my own seasoning salt. Thank you for posting your "special blend". (Made for "Name That Ingredient" tag game). EDITED 05/07/13 to say: I did not use the entire mixture on the fries, only a sprinkle. I was just pointing out the fact that the original recipe (as written) only tastes like "salt" and seems like a waste of the other ingredients. (I did not even have the entire 1/4 cup of salt on the plate in the photo before mixing).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosie316 May 07, 2013

YUM!
I halved the recipe for the 2 of us, (left out the celery seed coz we didn't have any) & have lots left over to share with friends next time.
Here in Melbourne there's a local vego burger franchise called Lord of the Fries (clever, eh? :) & this definitely rivals their seasoning.
5 stars all the way!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon and Matt September 07, 2012

This is now in my TNT file,it takes fries to a whole new level,thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelle jadaa June 15, 2011

I use this recipe whenever I need seasoning salt! A couple times, I omitted the celery seed (didn't have it at the time) and onion powder (didn't have it at the time) and replaced the regular salt with onion salt. It turned out well both ways. Thanks 3KillerBs!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pale Rose January 20, 2011

very very yummy!! i LOVE cumin but think next time i might reduce it by half. thanks for a super seasoning!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef GreanEyes November 19, 2009

Great on baked potatoes too! We loved it! You can sprinkle this on just about anything!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImACookingDiva July 28, 2009

This seasoning has the best flavor, we loved it. I did cut down a bit on the cumin and chili powder because the bbq sandwiches we had with it were pretty spicy already! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! March 15, 2009

We enjoyed this over frozen french fries from the oven. I especially liked the flavor that celery seeds add to the seasoning mixture. I made 1/4 of the recipe, using one tablespoon of salt and 1/4 of all the other ingredients.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Sue September 01, 2008

Everyone loved the spices in these fries. They came out crispy and packed with flavor. We enjoyed them along with crab cakes. It was a winning combination!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaThurston67 June 26, 2008
Seasoning Salt for French Fries, Home Fries, and Fried Potatoes