Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Seasoning for Ground Pork (Italian-Style Sausage) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Seasoning for Ground Pork (Italian-Style Sausage)

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2010

      Another great one KITTENCAL! We're trying to cut out pork from our diet, and also try to stay away from nitrates found in the store bought stuff, so by using ground turkey with this recipe we can still have sausage without paying the exorbitant organic prices. It's very easy and tastes wonderful! Excellent pizza topping, and awesome in spaghetti sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      I'm giving Four Stars here. This formula includes the essential basics for "Italian Sausage." Some may wish to add other components. Remembering that seasoning, especially for a raw sausage product is a very personal thing, this is a good place to start. I've deducted one star from the perfect five because the sum of the parts here is a bit on the wimpy side; there simply was not enough flavor for Two Pounds of meat. Increasing the quantity of most components (except salt) produces a much tastier bulk sausage. Each to his/her own, but don't be afraid to increase the quantity of the flavors that you are seeking in your sausage. I've nearly doubled the Fennel seed (and I grind it to powder just before use). The Red Pepper Flake must be a typo as I'm up to a tablespoon and yes, I grind this as well. This is a very good place to start and then develop it to suit personal taste. If you've read this far then you aleady know a good bit about grinding your own meat. Especially with pork, the need to keep everything seriously COLD cannot be over-stressed. That means the meat and the grinding parts. If necessary, grind your meat in smaller batches and combine later. It simply MUST be kept COLD.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      I used this seasoning in ground venison and it was outstanding. We all agreed you would never have known you were eating venison! I used a mini food processor and ground up all of the seasonings because I don't like the overwhelming taste of any one seed/spice. I used Fennel seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2011

      I used sea salt and added Sage and Marjoram. Excellent mix.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Well,Folks,This is another five star winner from Kittencal :).I made half of this recipe on 2/5/08.Since I just made half,this is how it was done.I combined 1 lb.of ground pork,1/2 tsp.of black pepper,1 tsp.of dried parsley,3/4 tsp.of Italian seasoning,1/2 tsp.garlic powder,the full amount of crushed red pepper,also the full amount of crushed fennel seeds,1/4 tsp. of paprika ,full amount of minced onion and 1/2 tsp.salt.After browning I combined this with leftovers from Papa John's Pizza Sauce and it made a great sauce for my pasta dish.This will be made again.Thank you so much for posting,and "Keep Smiling :)"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2007

      My son, the Boy Scout, decided to make spaghetti sauce with spicy Italian Sausage for a Camp out cooking contest. Went to the grocery store for Italian sausage and not one package of Italian Sausage to be found--they were entirely sold out of either hot or sweet Italian Sausage. I purchased a pound of ground pork and told my son we'd think of something. Of course, I was thinking of Recipezaar--the community boards if nothing else. Was I pleased to find this recipe. This turned out well and, yes, it was a winner! I mixed the meat and seasonings before we left on the trip knowing they would use it the next day. It was great!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      I am another one of your new fans. I too tried a substitute in the meat department. I used ground taco meat on a Garlic and Herb pizza dough from Trader Joe's. I received my greatest complements ever!!!! I will be a follower of yours forever. I pass this to you with my thanks and gratitude. This is a must try to appreciate this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

    • on May 25, 2013

      This is now our go to recipe for making lasagne or bolognaise, we simply add some passata or diced tinned tomatoes to make it tomatoey! Yummo Kittencalskitchen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2013

      This worked perfect for my recipe that needed Italian sausage. Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2013

      I made up three pounds of this to substitute for the corn syrup and chemical laden junk at the store. The flavor blended well with the pizza soup that I used part of it in, but I forgot to taste it plain after I browned it. I'll be using more this weekend for a meat sauce and have a bit in the freezer. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      Pretty good. I used all the listed ingredients, just tweaked the amounts for a 20 oz. package of ground pork. I used the sausage to top homemade pizza (number 479921).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2012

      I used this seasoning with ground pork as I wanted to make http://www.food.com/recipe/pasta-with-sausage-tomatoes-and-cream-32844 and didn't have sausages at home. Thank you so much for sharing, I'm sure I'll be using this one alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2011

      Loved it and my kitchen smells wonderful! Thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2011

      Great Italian pork. I used this recipe in fried polenta with pork and peppers. Wonderful flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      I would use a little less salt and add about twice the red pepper flakes, other then that it was perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      that was ok

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Yummy in the tummy. I halved the recipe. Used up my bulk sausage I had in freezer. Very tasty. Its in my fav recipe file box.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2010

      This is a great recipe. It isn't possible to get Italian sausage here so I thought I would try this for Penne & Sausages a La Vodka and it was wonderful. I think I will make this Italian sausage more often now as it is really good and I have been wanting to try some recipes with Italian sausage. I didn't use salt or pepper because the pork I bought already had that in (Mett).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2010

    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Seasoning for Ground Pork (Italian-Style Sausage)

    Serving Size: 1 (23 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 16.6
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    15%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2329.6 mg
    97%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.5 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    dried Italian seasoning

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites