Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Seasoned Mashed Lentils Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Seasoned Mashed Lentils

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2008

      So good - and one of our favorite meals, along with broccoli or green beans. I omit the onion & garlic powder in favor of fresh onion & garlic cooked along with the lentils like some other reviewers suggested.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2013

      I made some changes to this one, with favorable results. I fried a bit of onion and garlic in some butter before adding the lentils and cut out the dry spices. Also, when the lentils were ready, I tossed in dash or two of bread crumbs to make the consistency more like mashed potatoes; just enough to get the lentils a little tacky. Great side dish for vegetarian comfort foods. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

    • on October 27, 2010

      This tasted pretty good on it's own, but I used it as a sandwich spread and unfortunately, it got a little lost amongst all the other flavors. Next time I'll just eat it as a side dish or a dip. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2009

      This recipe has become a staple part of my diet. Absolutely love it. Never felt compelled to write a review before, but this is so simple, quick, affordable, and tasty! Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      Delicious! Simple, filling, inexpensive and SO tasty. I will definitely be making this dish a lot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

      I absolutely loved this!!...you hit it on the head with the statement so simple yet so good...this will be a new staple side in my house... I can pull it out quick as can be 'cause I always have a bag of lentils from the bulk store in the pantry for sprouting...I tagged this for "I Recommend", and made it twice in less than a week...I have taken to doing it in veggie broth because I happen to have a giant pot of it freshly made this week and because of that I skipped the oil...but I can see this being good with the oil, margarine, additional spices or even a nut milk to really make it creamy...the way i had it it was incredibly "buttery" tasting, melt in your mouth yumminess...a new go to comfort food for me...I can eat a whole pot myself -> I'll say it againYUM :) - SO SIMPLE YET SO GOOD! Thanks So Cal Gal!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      This is ok...it was my first time making and eating lentils. It is a unique taste and I don't think it really resembles mashed potatoes...I think I will try making it again because of the health factor, but next time I will be sure to blend it instead of mashing it. I think if it were whipped more, the texture would have been better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      I love this! I added a little extra water and put some chicken boullion in it to stretch it, while still giving it flavor. Excellent! I too added some fresh onions. I've also made it adding a couple of tablespoons of pizza sauce, which is excellent too! THANKS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2008

      Really liked this recipe. Added a couple of slices of bacon (everything is better with bacon in my house). Also, I used fresh chopped onion and minced garlic to replace the powders. Great stuff. Would make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2008

      Quite tasty and very quick!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2008

      Surprisingly tasty, nutritious, and the kids loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      I was skeptical, but this really was good. I also used fresh onion when boiling the lentils and a little milk when mashing, but the milk caused the mashed lentils to turn an unattractive green color. Luckily my husband has an open mind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      Very tasty, almost like garlic mashed potatoes, except better for you! I complicated it a bit by using fresh onions (1/3 cup) and garlic (1 clove), which I cooked together with the lentils. I also added about 2 tablespoons of milk while mashing, for extra smoothness. I might use a bit more next time, but this is really very good even without it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Seasoned Mashed Lentils

    Serving Size: 1 (52 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 191.6
     
    Calories from Fat 24
    13%
    Total Fat 2.7 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 293.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.3 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 14.7 g
    58%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 12.4 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes