14 Reviews

So good - and one of our favorite meals, along with broccoli or green beans. I omit the onion & garlic powder in favor of fresh onion & garlic cooked along with the lentils like some other reviewers suggested.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Linorama September 26, 2008

I made some changes to this one, with favorable results. I fried a bit of onion and garlic in some butter before adding the lentils and cut out the dry spices. Also, when the lentils were ready, I tossed in dash or two of bread crumbs to make the consistency more like mashed potatoes; just enough to get the lentils a little tacky. Great side dish for vegetarian comfort foods. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aram August 23, 2013

This tasted pretty good on it's own, but I used it as a sandwich spread and unfortunately, it got a little lost amongst all the other flavors. Next time I'll just eat it as a side dish or a dip. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Autsayder October 27, 2010

This recipe has become a staple part of my diet. Absolutely love it. Never felt compelled to write a review before, but this is so simple, quick, affordable, and tasty! Excellent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruth Platt June 28, 2009

Delicious! Simple, filling, inexpensive and SO tasty. I will definitely be making this dish a lot!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jacquelyn.barry March 27, 2009

I absolutely loved this!!...you hit it on the head with the statement so simple yet so good...this will be a new staple side in my house... I can pull it out quick as can be 'cause I always have a bag of lentils from the bulk store in the pantry for sprouting...I tagged this for "I Recommend", and made it twice in less than a week...I have taken to doing it in veggie broth because I happen to have a giant pot of it freshly made this week and because of that I skipped the oil...but I can see this being good with the oil, margarine, additional spices or even a nut milk to really make it creamy...the way i had it it was incredibly "buttery" tasting, melt in your mouth yumminess...a new go to comfort food for me...I can eat a whole pot myself -> I'll say it againYUM :) - SO SIMPLE YET SO GOOD! Thanks So Cal Gal!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free February 25, 2009

This is ok...it was my first time making and eating lentils. It is a unique taste and I don't think it really resembles mashed potatoes...I think I will try making it again because of the health factor, but next time I will be sure to blend it instead of mashing it. I think if it were whipped more, the texture would have been better.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amlaphq September 25, 2008

I love this! I added a little extra water and put some chicken boullion in it to stretch it, while still giving it flavor. Excellent! I too added some fresh onions. I've also made it adding a couple of tablespoons of pizza sauce, which is excellent too! THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.R September 24, 2008

Really liked this recipe. Added a couple of slices of bacon (everything is better with bacon in my house). Also, I used fresh chopped onion and minced garlic to replace the powders. Great stuff. Would make this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NELady August 25, 2008
Seasoned Mashed Lentils