8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I loved the sauce, but next time I think I would add kielbasa or some other type of sausage instead of the hotdogs. I made it for my 11 year old son and 2 of his friends when they were over for a sleepover. I got very mixed reviews. One seemed to really like it and cleaned off his plate, another just picked at it, and my son really enjoyed the pasta and sauce, but not the hot dogs so much. Again, I think it would be a favorite if I substituted a different type of meat, and I will try that. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
afghanmom March 22, 2008

Very kid-friendly! My kids came in from outside and said "I smell pizza!" It really did smell like pizza. I made this as directed, but used tomato sauce instead of spaghetti sauce; I just added oregano, basil and sugar. I'll be making this one again. Thanx for a great kiddo recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Parsley* September 24, 2007

I found this recipe in my new Better Homes and Gardens (BHG)
"potluck-132 favorite dishes you'll love to share" cookbook magazine but it is listed as 'Hot Dog and Pasta Bake.' I was checking to see if it was here on Food and it was EXACTLY but under this name. The same recipe but has one extra thing: 4oz can sliced mushrooms drained. I made Seashell Pasta Bake as written with the mushrooms added for flavor. The whole family enjoyed it. It tasted like baked ziti to me. I am not a hotdog person but it was a nice, easy, filling meal that made my husband and kids finish every morsel. That is what will make me come back to meals again and again. Paired with salad and bread made weeknight dinner a snap. Thanks for posting MA HIKER you saved me time! Enjoy! ChefDLH

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH June 14, 2011

The kids liked it but I didn't care for it. I think there was to much hotdog for me so I might try again with less.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracie2 February 03, 2009

Absolutely wonderful! I used elbow macaroni instead of shells, as I didn't have them. I omitted the tomato for the same reason. I also doubled the recipe and threw the other pan in the freezer. My 8 y/o had 3rds of this. Then the following day he wanted for lunch again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladygwyn February 19, 2008

So good and so easy! This is a dish that everyone will love from age 15 months to age 77. Our 15 month old twin granddaughters couldn't get enough, my 77 year old Dad loved it as did the rest of us. One of the great things about this dish is that you can pretty much keep the ingredients on hand for a while to make this on the spur of the moment. We were supposed to go out to dinner on Saturday but because of the big snow storm, I just threw this together! Thanks for the great recipe Ma Hiker!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sooz Cooks December 10, 2007

made this for dinner on sunday the husband and i loved it. this will definitely be something i make again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chrissy the cook November 06, 2007

This is a very kid-friendly recipe; as a matter of fact, the adults enjoyed it as much as the kids. My changes, due to what was on hand, were to use 1 tablespoon of onion power instead of an onion (my kids won't eat onion). I also used a 16 ounce package of polish sausage instead of hot dogs. I didn't use the chopped tomato (kids again) and I used a combination of mozarella and parmesan cheese which replaced the provolone and mozarella cheese, again, because it's what I hand on hand. This was a very yummy dish that will be made many times to come. Thanks MA HIKER for sharing this super kid and adult-friendly recipe. We loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Hippie September 26, 2007
Seashell Hot Dog Bake