Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Seafood Recipes >

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    Recipes With Reel Flavor
    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Get Ready to Go Fish
    Everything Seafood

    Everything Seafood

    Shrimp, Salmon, Tuna & More
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Seared Sesame-crusted Tuna Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Seared Sesame-crusted Tuna

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2014

      Love this recipe, toasted the sesame seeds and ate it over marinated baby octopus and marinated seaweed. Topped with hiss ho spicy sauce. To die for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2014

      Cook for longer than 10 sec on each side, and it's NOT seared.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      Awesome! Just what I was looking for. I'm new to the fish world and had something like this in a restaurant. I sliced mine paper thin and put it on a bed of greens with mandarin oranges, pecans, red bell pepper and a ginger dressing. OMG!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      This was great! We used cracked black pepper because we didn't have black sesame seeds. I think it would be better as written, though (all sesame seeds). We made this with #311191. It needed the sauce. I wouldn't have liked it as much without it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2010

      Made this tonight for dinner and it was really delicious! Very quick and easy too. Thanks, I would definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2010

      I am a bachelor with limited cooking experience. I love sesame crusted tuna when I dine out, so thought I'd give this recipe a try. This is a very simple recipe to prepare and the results were great! The tuna turned out perfectly and the flavor from the roasted sesame seeds was great! I think the only thing that could have improved the result would be to add a small amount of some sauce. Something wasabi or ginger based would be an excellent match.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2010

      We tried this tonight and it was very good. We topped it with a pat of garlic butter and it was wonderful! I would definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Very good. Because my tuna was frozen, gasp, I had lemon, soy sauce and wasabi, as an accompaniments. I also took KateL's advice and served it with Emerald Rice Bake, yummy. I think this would also be good with a nice romaine salad and wild rice. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      Fantastico, RESTAURANT QUALITY, straight to Top Favorites of 2009 Cookbook, DH says it's a bargain even when yellow-fin tuna is $20/pound at Wegman's. Couldn't find black sesame seeds, so used poppy seeds instead to offer the visual contrast, with no detraction from the superb taste. To sate our appetites, I served this with Emerald Rice Bake (Broccoli) #361987, which was also delicious. Thank you for posting this recipe, Miraklegirl! Made for Top Favorites of 2008 Tag, on recommendation of Maito.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      WOWEE! This is a great crust. We liked it dipped simply in soy sauce, so we could fully taste the flavor. The black and white sesame seeds make for a beautiful presentation (see my photos). We seared it about 20 seconds per side, until maybe 1/8 to a 1/4 inch of the flesh was turning white from being cooked. That is best way to eat seared tuna!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2008

      I make mine with just white sesame seeds and coarse black pepper for a crust. I then place the tuna on top of a slaw made of the follwing ingredients: coleslaw mix, asian style salad dressing, red pepper strips and sunflower seeds. I also cook mine 3-4 minutes on each side for medium rare. NOTE: I just made this again tonight and used Soy Dipping Sauce (For Pot Stickers or Egg Rolls) as a dipping sauce. . .devine!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Delicious and very easy to make. I used all white sesame seeds & followed the recipe as stated adding fresh coarse black pepper & garlic powder ,it was delicious. Thank you for posting the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Very simple, very tasty. I've tried to pan sear tuna before without success and I was nervous about doing it with sesame seeds... but it came out exactly like how restaurants do it. I used toasted sesame seeds. Came out beautifully, and the seeds do stick, amazingly enough, without any extra paste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2008

      I had eaten sesame crusted tuna in a New York Restaurant. This was every bit as delicious. It was easy to prepare, and we both loved it. I served it with the wasabi sauce. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      I made this as and appetizer for our father's day dinner and it did not disappoint! It looked beautiful and tasted super yummy. In addition it was fast and easy to make. We served it with the recommended sauce, 89827, which was also a hit. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2005

      My husband and I made this for my mil birthday party. We couldn't find black sesame seeds, so we used only the white ones and everyone raved! This is very simple yet tasty. We used the Wasabi Sauce #89827. Fresh tuna is expensive, so if your on a budget you may not want to choose this recipe. 5 STARS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2004

      This was very good and could not be simpler! I served it with Spicy Pineapple Mango Salsa #67080, and red beans & rice. Next time I may try cooking a bit of minced ginger or orange zest in the oil before adding the fish - we felt this was good, but needed a little "something" to perk it up (but yet I don't want to add too much since a major part of the allure of this dish is its simple flavors and preparation). This will work equally well as a weekday recipe or for company. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2004

      This was great!! I made it according to the recipe, except I forgot the black sesame seeds, so I only used white. I also cooked it just a bit longer, but it was till quite pink in the middle. DH has been requesting tuna steaks for a while, and when I saw this recipe I knew we had to try it. We also used the wasabi sauce recipe that Miraklegirl posted along with this one. DH loves wasabi, I wasn't too sure. If anything, we would have made the sauce a little stronger. It was good, but really mild. Definitely an easy keeper recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2004

      OH MY GOSH---THIS WAS AMAZING!!! Simply beautiful to look at and the flavor was to die for!! I give this thirty stars! Perfect texture of the tuna--if I had had sushi grade tuna I would have allowed it to remain pink in the middle, but it was still really good! Fiance absolutely loved this. I was going to use your wasabi sauce, but didn't have the wasabi paste or the coriander so I whipped up a mustard vinaigrette and served it sliced on a bed of spinach. Phenomenal! And I took a picture and will post it when it's developed. Thank you for recommending!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Seared Sesame-crusted Tuna

    Serving Size: 1 (204 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 460.6
     
    Calories from Fat 257
    55%
    Total Fat 28.6 g
    44%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 64.6 mg
    21%
    Sodium 69.2 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.3 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 44.4 g
    88%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites