8 Reviews

WOW this was good! I only had ground of everything and it worked just fine. I just threw in a little of each to just do one cooking and it tasted FAB!!!! Will make this more for my family. Eating it cold in a sandwich right now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Secure Amy May 21, 2010

Five stars for uniqueness and great flavour! I have to admit, the dry mix kind of reminded me of Noxema (probably because of the cloves) but when cooked, this is very tasty. I cooked mine on the outdoor grill, and it was very tender. It also has great plate appeal, with the contrast of dark chocolate brown with the white meat. I will definitely make this again... thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barrdbarrbarr March 09, 2010

I made this last night with my brother and it was fantastic!! Didn't have cloves so substituted allspice. Didn't have coriander seed so used ground. Didn't have white pepper so just used a little black-freshly ground. Next time will try it as written, but it was amazing just like that. We also made a cherry-chiante sauce with polaner all fuit, wine, a pinch of cinnamon and a dash of allspice. Perfect with the cocoa rub.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PALisa August 09, 2009

Made them for the crew onboard USCGC Assateague and it was well received. It smelled really yummy cooking and then the finished product was tasty. It was surprising how well the flavours blended together with the pork. I will definately put this one in my recipe box. Thanks for such a good recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stevie Oertel October 31, 2007

Like other reviewers I too was skeptical with how the spice rub would flavor. The end result is richly flavored,a nice bit of zing from the white pepper with nothing dominant or overbearing. The method of cooking left a wonderful crust on the pork, with a juicy and moist interior. Do make sure you use a heavy bottomed skillet for a nice crust. I should add I halved the recipe with great results and still have spice rub leftover to prepare this again. Thank you Kozmic Blues for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ June 14, 2007

Gotta love it! Wonderfully different flavor. No one guessed that there was cocoa in it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ktdid May 27, 2007

This is very good,would like to try it on chicken next,thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lin1 October 19, 2004

This ingredient list really intrigued me. For the first time I couldn't fathom what the combination of spices would taste like so I decided to make this last night. I am SO glad I did. The flavor was outstanding and searing it kept the pork tenderloin juicy and moist with a nice thin crust on the outside of the spice mixture. The flavor is reminiscient of Five spice powder with a little Middle Eastern twist and the amount of each spice is perfect as they compliment each other without one spice overpowering the other. I really wasn't sure how to serve this and since I am doing the South beach diet I served it over a bed of mixed salad greens and napa cabbage, chopped roma tomato, chopped cilantro, chopped fresh mint, sliced green onions and a homemade dijon-balsamic vinagrette with just a tiny bit of plain nonfat yogurt blended in to add a little creaminess. I can't wait to have this again, it was fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shimmerchk July 23, 2004
Seared Pork Tenderloin With Cocoa Spice Rub