Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Seared Pork Tenderloin With Cocoa Spice Rub Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Seared Pork Tenderloin With Cocoa Spice Rub

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on May 21, 2010

      WOW this was good! I only had ground of everything and it worked just fine. I just threw in a little of each to just do one cooking and it tasted FAB!!!! Will make this more for my family. Eating it cold in a sandwich right now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2010

      Five stars for uniqueness and great flavour! I have to admit, the dry mix kind of reminded me of Noxema (probably because of the cloves) but when cooked, this is very tasty. I cooked mine on the outdoor grill, and it was very tender. It also has great plate appeal, with the contrast of dark chocolate brown with the white meat. I will definitely make this again... thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      I made this last night with my brother and it was fantastic!! Didn't have cloves so substituted allspice. Didn't have coriander seed so used ground. Didn't have white pepper so just used a little black-freshly ground. Next time will try it as written, but it was amazing just like that. We also made a cherry-chiante sauce with polaner all fuit, wine, a pinch of cinnamon and a dash of allspice. Perfect with the cocoa rub.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      Made them for the crew onboard USCGC Assateague and it was well received. It smelled really yummy cooking and then the finished product was tasty. It was surprising how well the flavours blended together with the pork. I will definately put this one in my recipe box. Thanks for such a good recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      Like other reviewers I too was skeptical with how the spice rub would flavor. The end result is richly flavored,a nice bit of zing from the white pepper with nothing dominant or overbearing. The method of cooking left a wonderful crust on the pork, with a juicy and moist interior. Do make sure you use a heavy bottomed skillet for a nice crust. I should add I halved the recipe with great results and still have spice rub leftover to prepare this again. Thank you Kozmic Blues for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2007

      Gotta love it! Wonderfully different flavor. No one guessed that there was cocoa in it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2004

      This is very good,would like to try it on chicken next,thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2004

      This ingredient list really intrigued me. For the first time I couldn't fathom what the combination of spices would taste like so I decided to make this last night. I am SO glad I did. The flavor was outstanding and searing it kept the pork tenderloin juicy and moist with a nice thin crust on the outside of the spice mixture. The flavor is reminiscient of Five spice powder with a little Middle Eastern twist and the amount of each spice is perfect as they compliment each other without one spice overpowering the other. I really wasn't sure how to serve this and since I am doing the South beach diet I served it over a bed of mixed salad greens and napa cabbage, chopped roma tomato, chopped cilantro, chopped fresh mint, sliced green onions and a homemade dijon-balsamic vinagrette with just a tiny bit of plain nonfat yogurt blended in to add a little creaminess. I can't wait to have this again, it was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Seared Pork Tenderloin With Cocoa Spice Rub

    Serving Size: 1 (247 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.2
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    41%
    Total Fat 16.4 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 5.0 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 149.6 mg
    49%
    Sodium 3601.8 mg
    150%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 0.2 g
    1%
    Protein 47.3 g
    94%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    white peppercorns

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites