Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Seared Chard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Seared Chard

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on June 05, 2011

      This was a nice way to prepare Swiss chard, which I had plenty of from the garden. I made this exactly as posted, finding the chard cooks very quickly. And when it cooks down, there is not a whole lot! I wasn't sure what to do with the cooked bacon, so I sprinkled it on top. The end result remind me of a spinach salad with hot bacon dressing (sweet and tangy). Thanks for sharing this recipe. Made for ZWT7 by a Hot Pink Lady.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2011

      ohhhh!! So yummy!!! I loved all the flavors here! Great way to use swiss chard, I can't wait to do this again when I get chard from the garden. OK, I will say that I used a couple extra pieces of bacon :)!! Made for ZWT-7 for the Count and his Hot Bites!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      This was great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      Delicious! I wasn't sure if I was supposed to put the bacon back in at the end or not, so I did. Why waste perfectly good bacon, right? Didn't have any red onion or feta, so I subbed yellow onion and goat cheese. Left out the sugar. Other than that, made it as written and really enjoyed the chard. It was more filling that I would have guessed and made a great light dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      *Made for Australia/NZ Swap # 31* Loved it - Loved it - Loved it !! We have a pretty healthy chard patch, which we share with the neighbor's burro, at night -- and I usually steam it with lemon pepper and salt, and serve with lemon juice, butter, and sometimes -feta. I had some cubed panchetta in place of the bacon, but used all remaining ingredients. It was truly delightful, and I will be preparing this many times. Thanks for posting, Paula !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2009

      Good recipe. I omitted the bacon because I didn't have any on hand. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      Wonderful! My variation: I added some sea scallops at the same time I tossed in the chard -- they both need to steam about 3 minutes, so it was perfect. And because of the scallops and my husband's tastes, I substituted lemon juice for the vinegar. I'm sure either would work perfectly. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      One word delicious; that lovely sweet and tangy taste. I was out of cider vinegar so used balsamic, used some of the stem chopped, didn't add cheese, and served with veal scaloppini (lemon, white wine, capers recipe), noodles & sauted chantrelles (worcheste sire, olive oil, red wine a nice sangiovese served with dinner)--the whole dinner took less than 20 min. Thank you by far the best chard recipe I have tried. Has anyone tried with garlic or fruit or pine nuts or other variations?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2008

      Outstanding swiss chard recipe! I have lots of chard growing in my veggie garden so was looking for some different ways to prepare it. I made it just the way the recipe specifies, and it is by far my favorite. My family loved it too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      I have tried several recipes for swiss chard. Most were okay but didn't wow me. I,rather skeptically< decided to try this one. Didn't have bacon so I used veg. oil and butter. Didn't use the onion(I forgot). Did not use the cheese. I have to say that this is THE BEST recipe for chard that I have ever found!!!! I can imagine how good it will be when I have the bacon. Something about that little bit of sugar made this dish delicious!!!!!I ate the whole thing myself!(supposed to be 4 servings)I made a pig of myself!!!!Great recipe!!! What a great way to get in some extra nutrition.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      I had never had swiss chard before. found this recipe and my husband and I both loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Yummy- I used a vidalia onion, balsamic vinegar, feta cheese, and added some crushed red pepper. I will definitely make this again as a way to increase my family's veggie intake, but I don't think i will add the sugar next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Seared Chard

    Serving Size: 1 (181 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 52.5
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    35%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.7 mg
    0%
    Sodium 276.1 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.0 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.0 g
    12%
    Protein 2.7 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes