Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Seared Ahi Tuna Glazed With Wasabi Butter Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Seared Ahi Tuna Glazed With Wasabi Butter

    Average Rating:

    43 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 43

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2009

      This was awesome!!!! I love tuna and this was a restaurant-quality dish. Definitely a great meal to make for guests! I used about 20 oz of tuna, but only made half the sauce....still more than enough and very tasty. We are low carb, but I bet this would be fantastic served with white or jasmine rice. I also coated the tuna in a mixture of black and white sesame seeds before searing and that really made it phenomenal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2014

      Fantastic sauce! It would go very nicely with other fish like salmon, too. I halved the butter, was plenty still.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2014

      Used real wasabi, this was wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2013

      Easy, yummy and MAKE it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2012

      This was an awesome recipe! I read the reviews and changed it up a little bit. For the two of us, I only made 1/3 of the sauce recipe. Cut down a bit on the butter and on the soy sauce, added a bit more wasabi to our taste. Yes, this is high calorie, but it's a sauce - not a soup! Even cutting it back, had a bit left over. We had this over wasabi mashed and steamed french beans. Yum!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2012

      Fantastic flavor. This recipe is going in my top favorite list!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2012

      My husband loves ahi and I am so-so with it (usually) so I never make it cause the kids don't like it either. But I decided to treat my husband for Valentine's day and I made this for him and me last night and he (1) was amazed and (2) thought it was absolutely delicious. And it was! It was so fast and easy and the sauce is "adjustable" and the flavor to die for. I did use low-sodium soy sauce and didn't add salt until it tasted it, having read some of the comments on saltiness from prior reviewers. The next day I ate the leftover and put the remaining sauce on some salad. This goes into my "Keep Forever" recipe book and I'm filing the sauce recipe separately because I think you can use it on just about any fish or chicken that is grilled, pan-fried, baked or broiled. Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2011

      SO Good! I added 2 T. of brown sugar to the sauce and everyone raved. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2011

      This is excellent! It's really bad for you (HIGH fat), but it's delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2011

    • on July 08, 2010

      Fantisticoso! I cooked mine 1 minute per side and was pink in the middle. I like mine red, so anything longer than 45 seconds per side is a crime. Sauce does appear salty if you taste it by itself, however when served with the fish over a bed of Jasmine rice - is absolute perfection and it works. YUMMO!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      Wonderful tuna. Easy to do and great with the sauce. Served with Wasabi Coleslaw, and Cilantro Coconut Rice with Ginger Crinkles for dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      We found the sauce to be very salty...we will not make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      Hello VenomousKate; Another fantastic recipe. I thoroughly enjoy Ahi Ahi Tuna (Yellow fish tuna) The Wasabi sauce was most delightful. I buy the Wasabi in powder form and mix it myself, so much cheaper and you can mix to suite your taste. I also sprinkled some granulated garlic powder on the steaks, just great. My Ahi Ahi steaks were 1 inch thick and I seared them on very high heat for 50 to 60 seconds, absolute perfection. These steaks are better tasting than most restaurants and to me. these are #1. Thank you Kate, I will be making these often. "Uncle Bill"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      As much as I love butter, this was a very heavy dish. I had to try it once, but will not be making it again. I like what the lemon did to it, but overall, I felt like the recipe ruin a beautiful piece of meat. I will stick to lighter recipes for my ahi. I don't recommend this one.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      This was EXCELLENT! We will definitely make this again. Next time I will add a bit more Wasabi as we like a little more bite. Maybe another teaspoon would do it for us. Unfortunately, this recipe doesn't say what to do with the Wasabi butter once everything is ready. We looked at the picture and decided to pour it into the pan over the cooked tuna. Then immediately placed the tuna on heated plates. Spooned a little of the Wasibi butter over the tuna and placed the rest of the butter into a gravy bowl. This makes a lot of butter. Way too much for just two tuna steaks. We seared ours for 3 minutes per side. Next time we will only sear 2 minutes per side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2009

      As others have mentioned, I found it a bit salty, but quite tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      Very tasty! Being from the Salmon capitol of the world, I've never cooked tuna before so wasn't sure what to expect. This is a very easy recipe that was a big hit with my wife. My only complaint is that it was a touch salty for my taste. I might double the sauce next time, cutting the soy sauce with water, so I've got extra to put on rice. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      Yum! This was simple and the sauce was great! Thanks VenomousKate for a nice keeper. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      One of the easiest dishes I have ever made. Wife loved it. I though it was very good. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Seared Ahi Tuna Glazed With Wasabi Butter

    Serving Size: 1 (242 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 521.6
     
    Calories from Fat 343
    65%
    Total Fat 38.2 g
    58%
    Saturated Fat 17.6 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 125.6 mg
    41%
    Sodium 1024.8 mg
    42%
    Total Carbohydrate 2.1 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.6 g
    2%
    Protein 41.5 g
    83%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    wasabi paste

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites