21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

As a seafood and nacho lover, this combination is hard to beat! Easy to prepare,a colorful presentation and very tasty. The only thing I did wrong was to chop the crab and shrimp up too fine, but I won't make that mistake next time. Can't wait to make it again. Thanks for a keeper!

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terrilynn August 23, 2002

Dynamite appetizers. I used fresh crab meat but otherwise followed the recipe. I thought the seafood base was very well seasoned. The toppers just added extra umpfh. These went over very well with all my guests. Thanks Tara.

30 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FruitLoop August 16, 2002

These were wonderful Tara. I did as a couple of the reviewers suggested and kept the crab and shrimp on the chunky side. Well seasoned and looked beautiful when assembled. I doubled the recipe because this was supper for us. The whole family gave this high marks. Thanks, Gladys.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gladys58 October 06, 2002

THESE NACHOS ARE FANTASTIC!!! The chili powder and cumin makes the seafood come alive! These are definitely restaurant quality. We had company over for cards and we each made two appetizers, and hands down these were the hit of the night by all! I would even go as far to say you could make these a meal!! We also decided that you could probably make KILLER enchiladas with just a few changes. Can't wait to make these again. Thanks for the AWESOME recipe! :) Note - As another reviewer recommended, I also recommend chopping the shrimp and crab into fairly chunky (about the size of the tip of your pinky) pieces. Anything smaller and I don't think the effect would be the same.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shae September 09, 2002

Very delicious! Yum.. this reminds me of seafood stuffed potato skins that I had in Ocean City Maryland one year. I did make a few changes. I added chopped cooked scallops and some cooked orange roughy to the seafood mixture. I left out the salsa and served that on the side. This recipe sounded so good that I doubled the recipe from the start (thank goodness because it was soooo good). Next time I'll add a little shredded cheddar cheese in with the Jack cheese. I took this to a 'crab picking' party and everyone enjoyed it.

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmybge September 04, 2002

This was fabulous. I took it to a dear friends new home and we had kind of an appetizer feast. We loved it and so did 2 picky 12 soon to be 13 year old boys. I served the salsa on the side as I was worried about it being too soggy. Thanks for the recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
khvizda October 20, 2002

We really disliked this. The ingredients are all ones we love, but the combination left lots to be desired. I think it was the sweetness of the seafood (I used fresh crabmeat and shrimp) and the green chilis made it seem that the seafood was spoiled. sorry for a bad review.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Mike F October 21, 2002

I enjoyed this and so did everyone else. I think next time I might try canned or leftover crab rather than imitation.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barby1225 January 23, 2010

Last night I tested this out for a party next week. I made this using 1/2 lb. fresh shrimp, chopped coarsely in a bit of butter and seasonsed with cajun seasoning, and one 6 oz. can of crabmeat, well drained. I used about 3/4 cup of chunky salsa and no olives... this was so delectable, we ate it for dinner. Definitely restaurant quality! Could use this as a hot dip. Would indeed make dynamite enchiladas or burritos for a special occasion, or maybe fill crepes with this filling. Too bad there was none left for today. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Clare Bear December 07, 2007

LOVE THIS RECIPE. I've been making this variation for years. You added the seasonings when combining the seafood. PERFECT. I don't put the salsa on it until after they are cooked. I like the hot cold variation. Also makes for a less soggy chip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shadowgirl... November 21, 2011
Seafood Nachos