8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My DD has befriended a recently jobless homeless young man from St. Bernard Parish, LA, whose home was destroyed by hurricane Katrina. He hasn't had good Cajun food since he evacuated to Texas, and was missing it, so we invited DD and her friend to share this recipe with us. He said it was seasoned just right, and he ate every drop in the bowl. Considering the expert source, that's a high compliment for the recipe. We thought it was mighty tasty too, by the way. Thanks for sharing it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan September 11, 2005

Yummmmm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janell76 October 26, 2013

It was some of the best gumbo I have ever had or made. It is very easy to make, and I only added one additional thing, Craw Dads. Nothing better than the little river lobsters.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ldieckhaus June 18, 2009

Excellent flavor and just the right amount of heat!! I followed other reviewers suggestions and took it easy on the Tabasco (added just a splash) because the cayenne already adds quite a bit of heat. I will add additional seafood next time like squid because you do have a lot of the broth. I also think okra would make a great addition as well. Thank you very much for a taste of the bayou!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brew City Chef February 22, 2008

Loved it. I would add more seafood next time. Also would cut back a bit on the cayenne pepper (but just for company!!). I personally loved it the heat it was...I actually added more tobasco to mine. Thank you !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valerie in Florida August 15, 2007

This recipe was absolutely delicious. I had an old friend from New Orleans that use to make this for me and this tastes really authentic just the way I like it! A+

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tammysbh October 12, 2006

Very Very good except go lightly on the tobassco sauce, excellent dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pat Adams March 07, 2006

This was absolutely delicious! I cut the roux in half to lower the fat content. I don't know how that affected the flavor or consistency, but we certainly didn't think it was missing anything.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisa72 December 22, 2005
Seafood Gumbo - New Orleans Style