Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Seafood Gumbo - New Orleans Style Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Seafood Gumbo - New Orleans Style

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2005

      My DD has befriended a recently jobless homeless young man from St. Bernard Parish, LA, whose home was destroyed by hurricane Katrina. He hasn't had good Cajun food since he evacuated to Texas, and was missing it, so we invited DD and her friend to share this recipe with us. He said it was seasoned just right, and he ate every drop in the bowl. Considering the expert source, that's a high compliment for the recipe. We thought it was mighty tasty too, by the way. Thanks for sharing it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2013

      Yummmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      It was some of the best gumbo I have ever had or made. It is very easy to make, and I only added one additional thing, Craw Dads. Nothing better than the little river lobsters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Excellent flavor and just the right amount of heat!! I followed other reviewers suggestions and took it easy on the Tabasco (added just a splash) because the cayenne already adds quite a bit of heat. I will add additional seafood next time like squid because you do have a lot of the broth. I also think okra would make a great addition as well. Thank you very much for a taste of the bayou!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      Loved it. I would add more seafood next time. Also would cut back a bit on the cayenne pepper (but just for company!!). I personally loved it the heat it was...I actually added more tobasco to mine. Thank you !!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2006

      This recipe was absolutely delicious. I had an old friend from New Orleans that use to make this for me and this tastes really authentic just the way I like it! A+

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2006

      Very Very good except go lightly on the tobassco sauce, excellent dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2005

      This was absolutely delicious! I cut the roux in half to lower the fat content. I don't know how that affected the flavor or consistency, but we certainly didn't think it was missing anything.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Seafood Gumbo - New Orleans Style

    Serving Size: 1 (465 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 856.3
     
    Calories from Fat 506
    59%
    Total Fat 56.3 g
    86%
    Saturated Fat 7.9 g
    39%
    Cholesterol 148.5 mg
    49%
    Sodium 635.2 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 59.4 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 8.1 g
    32%
    Protein 28.8 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites