29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

5 stars for taste and ease of preparation, 3 for presentation. It was such a shade of green!!! I guess we probably cooked the okra for too long, which I'm guessing is how it got that color. We used shrimp, crab, Chilean Seabass and scallops, and left out the oysters. The seafood was great. We couldn't find the file powder at the grocery store, but they had it at the seafood store. Check there with the boil seasonings and such. We'll do this again, but would really like to find something to do about the color. It was just kind an off-putting shade of green. It didn't stop us from enjoying the wonderful taste of this gumbo!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy November 09, 2009

This was the first time I've cooked a proper Gumbo. Thank you for the instruction to cook the roux to a dark color. I think this was the KEY to the perfect sauce. I cut the recipe in half. Used 1 lb large shrimp, 1/2 lb crab claw meat, 1/2 lb sea scallops, 1/2 lb craw fish tails. The okra melted into the sauce and the crab meat gave a wonderful background richness to the entire dish. Dear Husband said Gumbo was more soup- like than this ( this being more stew- like) but his final comments were, "fantastic, delicious, excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laurie Marie February 16, 2008

Leave out the crab...too expensive and you really can't tell the difference. Use shrimp shells for stock instead of chicken stock. Much richer. This is a lot of seafood for one gumbo. Shrimp and oysters are usually all we have in New Orleans for our seafood gumbo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wineho January 23, 2008

I made the roux in the oven instead of on the stove - it is impossible to burn the roux that way. I put it in a casserole dish and included a tablespoon of bacon grease with the oil and baked the roux for 1 hour and 15 minutes at 325 degrees. I bouled all the shells from the shrimp in the chicken stock for an hour, adding chicken stock as it reduced. The flavor was absolutely stunning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cremon January 23, 2008

Excellent! I added wild duck meat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
John Coleman February 11, 2007

The best gumbo i ever made and eatten the only difference of how i made is i also put a pound of crawfish tails and i used scallops instead of fish. flavor is awsome eaten with crackers is just as good as with rice. BIG JIM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jimbo7488 February 10, 2007

Great gumbo even though I cheated and used roux from a jar. I added about 1 t. of ground thyme and a can of tomato sauce at the end. Everyone enjoyed it immensely!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Donna H August 21, 2006

This was my first attempt at gumbo and I think I will stop right here. Thank you very much. Really yummy!! Didn't use the oysters (my grandpa used to gross me out w/oysters when I was little). Used shark for the fish filets. Could have sworn I had some file powder in my cupboard but I couldn't find it. Next time. And there will be a next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Freya February 26, 2006

Thank you for my new gumbo recipe! Love it, love the flavor that the crab boil gives it. FYI, I happened to have some Zatarains crab boil in powder form which I decided to use so that I wouldn't have to cut open my bag of regular crab boil - I used about 1 1/2 T. and the seasoning/spiciness was perfect for us. Also, prefer my gumbo without okra so left it out and only used the crab and shrimp (no fish or oysters). Perfection, but may add the oysters next time for DH. Yummy, and a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LorenLou September 14, 2005

Incredible gumbo.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
IAteMyGluestick August 17, 2005
Seafood Gumbo