Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Seafood Recipes >

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    Recipes With Reel Flavor
    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Get Ready to Go Fish
    Everything Seafood

    Everything Seafood

    Shrimp, Salmon, Tuna & More
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Seafood Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Seafood Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-28 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2005

      This is delicious! We really like this recipe. The smell is great. Best gumbo ever! Used snow crab this time but next time I'll do the oysters!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2004

      This is an excellent recipe and my family liked it very much. I will definitely fix it again soon. I did however subsitute scallops for the oysters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2004

      This was an excellent gumbo. I added a chopped bell pepper as well to the chopped vegetables, omitted the oysters (allergy reasons) and prepared the roux in a cast-iron skillet, adding the vegetables to cook (when the color was just right) with the roux. Served this with a big bowl of potato salad and garlic bread...now that's the Creole way! Thanks for sharing this recipe...it's a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2004

      I'm only giving this recipe 3 stars because I have issues with it as written. If the recipe is edited to address my concerns, I'll be updating with a 5 star review. First, let me start with why I would give it 5 stars. The flavor is spot-on. This turned out to be the gumbo I get whenever I hit the French Quarter. The only variations were based on ideas I got from another gumbo recipe posted here; I added 2 chopped peppers, one red and one green. I used butter to make the roux, and actually made it in the stockpot, instead of a seperate pot. Other than that, I did use a little less seafood than suggested. That was mainly because I have never cooked with seafood before, and that large of an amount was somehow intimidating to me. What I'll do differently next time is to go more with the fish and crab, less with the shrimp. I'll also go with 1/2 pound okra. I'll also make sure I have a better white rice with it. The rice I had was puny grains, not what I'm used to with gumbo. I was very impressed with the outcome, and will definitely be making this again. I really never thought I'd be capable of making authentic Cajun seafood gumbo at home! As for my issues with the recipe... I'm a novice cook, so maybe I'm expecting too much, but I like a recipe to be pretty clear. Sure, I may not understand a particular cooking term, but my issues went further than that. First, exactly when does the gumbo file go into the gumbo? Is it when the other spices are added? When you list salt, pepper, and hot sauce, was there a particular amount, or did you mean that I should add until I achieved the desired taste? Your directions on making roux are not specific enough, you could suggest people go to #47651 for directions on how to make. With roux, it is so important to stir constantly, and any novice will surely mess it up if not given specific instructions. Finally, the mention of crab boil was what got me. I've never heard of crab boil. I looked at your other recipes, but didn't see anything listed. I did an online search, and came up with oils and several different spice recipes, many of which were intended for cooking crabs for a crowd (like 1/2 cup of each ingredient). It took me 3 hours of online searching to find what appeared to be the right combo. You say not to omit that ingredient, as it's the key, so why not list what spices you used? So, to sum it all up, the taste is amazing. Definitely like what you get in New Orleans. It's a 5 star dish, and I hope I get to update with a 5 star review!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2004

      After a long search and many tasty attempts, I have finally found the ULTIMATE gumbo recipe. I served this with brown rice and it was marvelous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2003

      I have been using this recipe for over a year and thought it was about time I gave my review. I wasn't looking specifically for a seafood gumbo but this recipe did the trick. I use whole crabs, shrimp, chicken, and sausage. Even though I boil my chicken I prefer the canned chicken broth. This recipe gave my gumbo the foundation I was looking for. It is excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2003

      This is FABULOUS!! I added just a bit more pepper sauce to my portion, since I like things very spicy, but otherwise no changes. And since there are only two of us, I put half in the freezer to enjoy later. A definite MUST try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2002

      This was superb! My whole family loved it. It was so good I took the remaining gumbo to my sister and her family. I love that it is spicy. I wouldn't change a thing about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Seafood Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (572 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 478.9
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    28%
    Total Fat 15.0 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 311.2 mg
    103%
    Sodium 2144.6 mg
    89%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 62.0 g
    124%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crab boil

    file powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes