Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    More Seafood Recipes >

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    15 Easy Seafood Dinners

    Recipes With Reel Flavor
    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Tuna Noodle Casserole

    Get Ready to Go Fish
    Everything Seafood

    Everything Seafood

    Shrimp, Salmon, Tuna & More
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Seafood Gumbo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Seafood Gumbo

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on December 13, 2002

      This seafood gumbo is awesome!! I cooked the roux until it was a nice caramel brown color. The crab boil entices you with its smell and gives such incredible flavor. I used halibut and included the oysters. Fabulous!! Put some up in the freezer for later. Thanks pappergoddess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Thanks for sending a piece of New Orleans to my home with this recipe. Great authentic flavor!! I've made this a couple of times now. Put in 1 1/2 lbs of shrimp. 2 lbs is a little too shrimpy for me, and 1/2 pint of oysters. They are easier to avoid for those that don't like them. Used bay scallops instead of fish, and Old Bay Seafood Seasoning for the crab boil. Didn't bother with the cheesecloth. Great directions for the roux. It came out perfectly. Even though I tweaked the recipe to my taste, it's still a 5 star recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2012

      Very good recipe..i used old bay bag &.removed 30mins prior to serving..i also added chicken & sausage @ same.time I added my veggies..will skip on crab next time & add more shrimp & crawfish tails...recipe a winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      We made this for our dinner last night (Fat Tuesday) and it was an outstanding gumbo. I followed the directions exactly, except for adding a pkg of mixed seafood (octopus, squid, cuttlefish,shrimp and mussels) to all the other seafood. We loved it. Mine did turn out a little runny but no matter it was still fantastic. I thought maybe it was cuz I added all the oyster liquor to it. Thank you for this new family favorite. We were all so stuffed after dinner we skipped dessert!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      This is THE BEST gumbo I have ever had. I made it twice in the past week since I discovered it, one time for friends who thought it was outstanding as well. As for me, I don't like fish or oysters in my gumbo, so Ieft those out. I love everything else about it. I make my roux in a small sauce pan. It cooks up very quick;y so there's less stirring and doesn't stick. Am giving my family members dutch ovens and this recipe for Christmas presents!! Thanks PaperGoddess

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Have not tried this recipe yet, but as soon as I purchase the ingredients I will. The recipe looks like a very good one and one that won't work you to death. I would like to make a suggestion on the preparation. When you make the roux have your vegetables ready and throw them in the roux just when it reaches perfection. This stops the roux from continuing to cook and possibly burn. When making a roux with okra I put the okra in first. That keeps the okra from being slimy in the gumbo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      So yummy and easy to make. I was too lazy to shell my shrimp, I regret that decision. This recipe is a keeper, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Never made gumbo before. With this recent "Artic Blast" we had in Houston, was looking for something that was a comfort food. Found this recipe and it was exactly what I was looking for. Made it just as the recipe said and it was wonderful. Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks Papergoddess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2009

      Our 14 and 11 yo children just made this, our first Gumbo, for Christmas and it was a big hit. We used shrimp, crab claws, scallops and crawfish tails. I'm from Louisiana and never dreamed we'd be able to make an authentic gumbo, but thanks to this recipe,we were able to recapture a family treasure from back "home". Most of the 5 star seafood gumbos share common traits but you can't go wrong with this recipe. We plan to make it again for New Years. Be sure to have a dark roux and don't overdo the crab boil and your golden. Will post a pic if I can figure how. Thank you, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      5 stars for taste and ease of preparation, 3 for presentation. It was such a shade of green!!! I guess we probably cooked the okra for too long, which I'm guessing is how it got that color. We used shrimp, crab, Chilean Seabass and scallops, and left out the oysters. The seafood was great. We couldn't find the file powder at the grocery store, but they had it at the seafood store. Check there with the boil seasonings and such. We'll do this again, but would really like to find something to do about the color. It was just kind an off-putting shade of green. It didn't stop us from enjoying the wonderful taste of this gumbo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2008

      This was the first time I've cooked a proper Gumbo. Thank you for the instruction to cook the roux to a dark color. I think this was the KEY to the perfect sauce. I cut the recipe in half. Used 1 lb large shrimp, 1/2 lb crab claw meat, 1/2 lb sea scallops, 1/2 lb craw fish tails. The okra melted into the sauce and the crab meat gave a wonderful background richness to the entire dish. Dear Husband said Gumbo was more soup- like than this ( this being more stew- like) but his final comments were, "fantastic, delicious, excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      Leave out the crab...too expensive and you really can't tell the difference. Use shrimp shells for stock instead of chicken stock. Much richer. This is a lot of seafood for one gumbo. Shrimp and oysters are usually all we have in New Orleans for our seafood gumbo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I made the roux in the oven instead of on the stove - it is impossible to burn the roux that way. I put it in a casserole dish and included a tablespoon of bacon grease with the oil and baked the roux for 1 hour and 15 minutes at 325 degrees. I bouled all the shells from the shrimp in the chicken stock for an hour, adding chicken stock as it reduced. The flavor was absolutely stunning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2007

      Excellent! I added wild duck meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      The best gumbo i ever made and eatten the only difference of how i made is i also put a pound of crawfish tails and i used scallops instead of fish. flavor is awsome eaten with crackers is just as good as with rice. BIG JIM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2006

      Great gumbo even though I cheated and used roux from a jar. I added about 1 t. of ground thyme and a can of tomato sauce at the end. Everyone enjoyed it immensely!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      This was my first attempt at gumbo and I think I will stop right here. Thank you very much. Really yummy!! Didn't use the oysters (my grandpa used to gross me out w/oysters when I was little). Used shark for the fish filets. Could have sworn I had some file powder in my cupboard but I couldn't find it. Next time. And there will be a next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2005

      Thank you for my new gumbo recipe! Love it, love the flavor that the crab boil gives it. FYI, I happened to have some Zatarains crab boil in powder form which I decided to use so that I wouldn't have to cut open my bag of regular crab boil - I used about 1 1/2 T. and the seasoning/spiciness was perfect for us. Also, prefer my gumbo without okra so left it out and only used the crab and shrimp (no fish or oysters). Perfection, but may add the oysters next time for DH. Yummy, and a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2005

      Incredible gumbo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2005

      excellent recipe, but I DO like substituting scallops for the oysters as not everyone likes oysters. To maintain the flavor, however, a little oyster juice is in order... just drain a container of fresh osters into the pot... you get the flavor...without the oyster! Substitute scallops, as many as you want! The ROUX makes is all come together!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Seafood Gumbo

    Serving Size: 1 (572 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 478.9
     
    Calories from Fat 135
    28%
    Total Fat 15.0 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.3 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 311.2 mg
    103%
    Sodium 2144.6 mg
    89%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.7 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 62.0 g
    124%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    crab boil

    file powder

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes