14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

this was an excellent recipe ~ i added a bit more half and half to make the sauce a little thicker ( and left out the walnuts :), but it was great, very easy to make as well.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
booper January 08, 2002

These were excellent, and very easy to make. I used canned crab and flour tortillas (personal preference). My grocery was out of fresh cilantro, but I'd use it if I could get it. However, this made two 13x9 inch pans, and I had to double the sauce. Next time I'll make half the filling recipe.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
papergoddess December 15, 2002

Whoo-Hoo-Hooooo!!! These enchiladas were divine. Thanks 1Steve. The only alteration was to use flour tortillas and I warmed them with a quick spin in the microwave. The filling was good and I loved the crunch of the toasted walnuts. The sauce was very rich and creamy--just as expected. Lots of cheese, too, which we adore. Thanks for sharing this 10-star winner.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' May 11, 2003

OMG!!!! These are just simply incredible!! The only thing I changed were the walnuts (was out of 'em) to Pine nuts and used fake crab meat cause I'm in Missouri and well the real thing is out of my budget. Oh and added a healthy dash of Old Bay seasoning. I kept re-reading the recipe cause I was sure this shouldn't be so easy to make. :-) Extremely filling and boy did I impress my dinner guests. tee hee Will be making this often.... THANKS!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbfans May 08, 2010

I love these and so did everyone else! If you use lowfat dairy products, it will curdle.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jprouty October 08, 2009

Very good. Makes quite a bit. I used canned crab meat and only had large pre-cooked shrimp. I chopped up the shrimp and it worked great. I also used fat free half n half, low fat sour cream, and low fat cheese. I used less butter and did not fry the tortillas and it all still was quite yummy. Thanks for the recipe! This is the first one I used on this site. Oh I will definetly half the recipe next time but my mom and brother loved the leftovers when I took them over to them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jrb422 October 01, 2009

I made this Seafood Enchillada Recipe last night that received rave reviews. I loved Chi Chi's Cancun and it was suggested that this was the same or better. I did something REALLY wrong to it. The sauce curdled badly and made the enchilladas soggy. It ruined the whole appeal of the food. The recipe made 8 enchilladas and my family only ate three of them because of the lumpy sauce. I rescued the other 5 and need to find a good cheesy sauce to put over them so all that seafood does not go to waste. My husband doesn't really ever want to see them again if I can't fix them into something edible. I was thinking would Campbells' Nacho Cheese Soup or another Condensed Soup doctored up work?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin Kathie January 10, 2008

Yum, Yum, Yum!!! I can't say enough how wonderful these were! It was just for my DH and I, so we halved the recipe. This was the perfect size for us, as we had enough for dinner and leftovers for another meal. The only changes we made was to leave out the walnuts and use imitation crab. We served it with a nice chardonnay and they went together perfectly. This recipe is one we will make again and again! Thanks 1steve!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kohtzy September 14, 2007

I did not like these one bit. Plus I had a lot of leftover filling. Since this is such a highly rated recipe I didn't want to damage that. I will assume this is more of a "personal taste" thing :O) I did leave a pic though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissTiff16 March 12, 2006
Seafood Enchiladas