Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Seafood Chowder Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Seafood Chowder

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2008

      Excellent seafood chowder! Quick, easy, and delicious. I followed the recipe and used shrimp and scallops, Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Excellent: made it for a large family gathering and everyone liked it !!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2008

      I made this recipe exactly as written, except that I probably put in a little more onion, and I did add some minced fresh garlic. I like my chowder a little thicker than this turned out, so next time, I think I'd add another tablespoon or two of the baking mix. Had no fresh parsley, so I used dry parsley flakes. Gotta have 'em! They added a lot. Looking forward to trying leftovers tomorrow, as I think it will probably improve with age.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2008

      Delicious and so ez. My only change was to use low sodium soup.Also threw in a few fresh shucked oysters

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2008

      Who knew that a couple of cans of soup could taste so good. I tinkered with it a bit by adding a couple of rashers of diced bacon to the onion and celery saute. A also added a few glugs of white for some of the milk. For the seafood, I used shrimp and a can of hot smoked salmon salmon. The result was fantastic. DH had 3 helpings!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      This is delicious! My husband made this when my mom came to visit, amd she was blown away by what a good cook he is!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2008

      Absolutely delicious and easy to make. Made this for supper one cold snowy New England evening and it was a huge family hit. I particularly like the fact that it’s easily adaptable to any fish or seafood you want to add, just throw in your favorite. This recipe is definitely a ‘keeper’.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Fabulous, easy and extremely comforting on a cold, dreary day! I substituted cream of celery soup to reduce the carbs and used some cream with the milk to make it even more heavenly!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      This was quick, easy, and delicious. I used a frozen seafood mixture of shrimp, bay scallop, calamari and I added a can of clams, and a can of corn. I like a lot of seasoning so I added celery seed(since I didn't use celery), paprika, old bay, and garlic powder. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      The best seafood chowder I've ever had! Didn't have cream of potato soup so used cream of chicken soup instead. Can't wait to make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      A delicious chowder and so easy! I used cream of celery soup to make it low carb and a combination of cod chunks, scallops, shrimp and crab meat. Another keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      This was rich, creamy, very flavorful, and easy to prepare - an excellent chowder, in spite of my changes. I used less butter and less milk (to thicken), used low-fat buttermilk, added more onion plus a cubed potato. I didn't have potato soup, so used cream of shrimp soup. Will try it with potato soup next time just to compare, but can't imagine it topping this. I used 1 lb. of frozen/thawed shrimp and 1 pound of fresh crabmeat. Thanks for a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2006

      Really good. I halved the butter to just 4 tablespoons, and used canned seafood (1 can each of shrimp, crab & clams). Of course this would be much better with fresh seafood (especially the shrimp since canned shrimp has a weird texture) but if you are on a budget it works okay. Has a nice kick from the cayenne. Very thick, comforting soup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      Great soup! I cut the recipe in half and used shrimp, tilapia and a can of crab for the seafood. It was quick and easy to make. This is a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2006

      Really easy to make and oh so good. I had made a fish chowder years ago and had lost the recipe. This one takes it's place and it wont be lost again. It was fantastic. I used tilapia, shrimp and scallops for the seafood and substitued 1/2 c of the milk with heavy cream. Umm Umm GOOD!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2006

      This was really good. The only thing I did differently was to add 1 cream of celery soup instead of one of the potato soups. I used canned minced clams, imitation crabmeat, cod, and bay scallops. I doubled this and served it for a birthday party and there were no leftovers. It was a little too spicy for some people, so depending on who I am making it for, I would cut down on the pepper next time. Also...the canned soup made it salty, but if you don't have to worry about your sodium intake, it's perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      This simply can't be this good and still be this easy. The only things I changed (didn't really need too) was I used shallots instead of onion. I also added a minced garlic clove.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2005

      This was easy to whip up and it taste absolutely delicious! I just loaded it with every kind of seafood; canned crab meat, mussels, baby clams, shrimp, scallops, and squid. It was great, but next time I might leave out the squid though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2005

      This was very tasty and plan on making often and maybe even use different seafood ideas as suggested. I used canned crab and canned baby shrimp. yumm!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2005

      I made this with scallops and shrimp. The cayenne pepper gives it a nice bite. Very easy to prepare. It was a big hit!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Seafood Chowder

    Serving Size: 1 (400 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 387.6
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    55%
    Total Fat 23.6 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 14.0 g
    70%
    Cholesterol 208.5 mg
    69%
    Sodium 1344.6 mg
    56%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 22.2 g
    44%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes