Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Sea Salt Ice Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Sea Salt Ice Cream

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2011

      I have never made a cooked ice-cream batter before, and this was a wonderful introductory recipe. Follow the instructions and don't worry too much about variations like not thick enough (mine was very runny) or poor incorporation of egg whites because these things will work themselves out it the freezing process. I don't know that anyone who is not a fan of KH would seek out this recipe, but they should. This is a perfect cold treat for a hot day. I used 1/2 teaspoon sea salt and it created the perfect salty-sweet taste - *exactly* what I was hoping for! Works well in popsicle molds, too (for the truly authentic KH experience :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2010

      Awesome! I've always wanted to try this! Luckily, I own an icecream maker, though it hasn't been used in a while. The recipes that came with it all involved ice... Thus, it always came out gritty and not very good. Actually having a creamy mixture rather than a liquid one REALLY helps! Thanks for sharing this! LOVE KH!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2010

      this is so awesome im such a huge fan of kingdom hearts and my friends will freak out when i tell them i had sea salt ice cream thank u soo much!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2014

      I loved making this! I don't have an ice cream mixer so it was a bit of a pain to keep checking up on it, but it turned out great! My friends and I found a clock tower and took out pops out on a picnic. It's the perfect treat for a hot summer day before everyone goes back to school.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      I'm a huge Kingdom Hearts fan so when I saw this recipe, I had to try it. My friends and I tried this out for the first time yesterday and it turned out awesome! Ours was a teal-like blue and very creamy. I advise anyone who is a fan (or not) to try this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2010

      I made this with a friend, and it turned out great. We added the sea salt a little at a time, and started out using the two bag method to freeze the cream. Well, we got tired midway through, so we poured it into popsicle molds and froze it the rest of the way, and it turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Delicious! I've also found the perfect garnish for this ice cream...Carambola, commonly known as star fruit! When sliced, the slices have a perfect star shape. They look like paupo fruit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2009

      imma make it soon i hope its good and i would use 1/2 SALT so i does not ruin it first then keep adding salt to see what u like, cus its a matter of taste

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      This recipe was wonderful! I wound up using 1/2 tsp of sea salt and that was the perfect amount. I also didn't use green food coloring, as the yellow of the custard helped to turn it the perfect color. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2009

    • on June 10, 2009

      Made my first batch with this recipe last night. I decided to make a ServingX4 batch so I had adjusted all my measurements. I had issues when boiling the milk of the milk burning on the bottom slightly, leaving clumps of burnt milk in the mixture. I solved this by straining it before adding the egg whites and cooling it and it worked rather well, as well as made the mixture more creamy in texture, though ideas on fixing the burning would be nice. Turning the temperture down as the milk mixture thickens helps it alot. I also measured my sea salt as I added it to taste and found that for the listed size 1/2tsp of the sea salt is a perfect blend for starters. It is a 1:1 ratio of sweet:salty and can be altered once you have made it once and tasted it. The food coloring didnt want to mix in well, so I advise taking an electric mixer with a wisk attachment and running it on a very low setting for about a minute to get it all properly blended. Mine came out rather ice hard in freezing because of bad planning and I couldnt properly stir it as it froze, but the small sample bowl I made and could stir as it froze came out creamy and delicious. The recipe would be easier and probably better with an ice cream maker, but overall was simple to make and came out wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2009

      zOMG coming from one of the biggest KH otaku EVERRR....okay that's a lie, if you're a KH otaku you're pretty much on the same level as the rest of us. but it was delicious. my friends and i couldn't get it to a custard thickness; we had to choose between frozen-liquid ice cream or eggy-chunk-filled-ice cream. so we chose frozen-liquid, and it turned out fine, so if it doesn't get custardy-thick don't freak out ^^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

    • on November 20, 2008

      I made this a fe weeks ago. I liked this a lot even though I wasent so sure. I liked the game as well but I still wasent so sure about sea salt ice cream. I did it to my taste and it turned out wonderfully. I dident have any food colorning but the taste was there. Next time Ill get the colorning so it will look like the one in KH2. Will defiently make this agian! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2008

    • on August 30, 2008

      It came out pretty well. There are just a few things I'd change around. If you're doing this all by hand/whisk (and I was), I recommend saving step two for during step six (edited). Instead of beating the egg whites right off the bat, I'd wait until you have some time to kill. It cuts down on prep time and you don't have to do it over again if it separates while you're cooking the custard. The other thing I'd change about this recipe is the lack of a clear measurement on how much sea salt to put in. I didn't measure how much I put in and it turns out it wasn't enough. When I tasted the final product, it was only just a little saltier than regular French Vanilla ice cream. Two tips I'd give as well: 1. Have friends around to work on multiple steps at once. We cut down on a lot of prep time because we had extra hands. 2. When you're making the custard, you should turn the heat gradually lower as it thickens. It ended up boiling on me because I left it on medium heat a bit too long. 3. If your custard DOES end up boiling, or if your milk ends up getting a skin to it, just whisk it all back in at a rapid pace. It'll melt back into the mixture. 4. Pour the boiling milk slowly into the egg yolk/sugar mixture (which is supposed to be whisked until it's a smooth, pale yellow color) so as to avoid making an omelette. I went just a little too fast at some parts and ended up with little solid bits of egg yolk in the mixture. When I figure out how much sea salt you should put in for a really tasty treat, I'll let you know. Of course different people have different tastes, so any set amount should be tampered with at least a little until you get what's right for you. ~_^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2008

      I haven't even made it yet and I LOVE it I'm making it tonight and I hear it is delicious :] KINGDOM HEARTS FOREVER!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      I made this this morning; i don't have an ice-cream maker, and the mixture didn't go as thick as it probably should have, but it tastes like ice-cream should and it's delicious! A great treat for an Akuroku fan like myself xD thank you for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      I'm a big Kingdom Hearts fan, so I'm so glad you posted this! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      Heehee. This ice cream is very yummy. My friend is about to move away so I tried to "remake" the scene of Axel and Roxas on the big clock in Twilight Town. It tasted like vanilla ice cream with saltyness hidden in it. But, it was yummy. Me and my friend enjoyed it. I can't eat it everyday though...I'm on a diet. But I think I should add a little more sea salt for that salty sweet taste. ^ ^

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Sea Salt Ice Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (179 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 515.4
     
    Calories from Fat 346
    67%
    Total Fat 38.4 g
    59%
    Saturated Fat 23.0 g
    115%
    Cholesterol 255.4 mg
    85%
    Sodium 157.5 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.3 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 22.5 g
    90%
    Protein 11.1 g
    22%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites