25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great! I usually make this red curry with whatever veggies I have at hand (yesterday it was julienned zucchini, carrots, tomatoes, potatoes and onion), really anything works. I sometimes add a tbsp of peanut butter like in massaman curry. Delicious with short grain rice, hubby loves it, so do I!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dinu June 19, 2012

Oh my!!!! This was absolutely scrumptious indeed! I tripled it & had guests, who all raved about it. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs, and used most all of a 4oz jar of red curry paste. Next time, I'll add a little more fresh basil. A nice addition is chopped peanuts, toasted unsweetened coconut, chopped fresh jalapenos, and Thai hot sauce, all on the table for each person to doctor their plate to taste. But it is fabulous without doctoring. Thanks for a GREAT recipe - I've been trying curry unsuccessfully until your recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
butterzbetter March 05, 2012

I've made this twice now and just had to say how great it is. First time I used dried basil,this time had fresh and added the chicken. Used 1 1/2 tablespoons curry paste, might even bump it up a bit. Skipped the green peppers(personal preference) but did everything else per your instructions. Beautiful to look at as well. Fantastic, my husband and i can't get enough! Oh, used light coconut milk but didn't miss the fat. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuvToEat September 10, 2011

This is one of my favorites at our local asian restaurant so I wanted to try it here. I followed the directions exactly, except for leaving out the peppers (weren't avaliable). The fish sauce taste was a little strong for me, but other than that good recipe. I also had to quadruple the red curry paste, but I think the brand I was using was less spicy than the authors. I made it with chicken and served over basmati rice. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet Soup game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krista Roes September 25, 2008

This is the best curry recipe! We absolutely love it! We like it spicy so I add 4 Tbsp of red curry paste and then a couple of shakes of red pepper flakes. I also add extra mushrooms and some fresh green beans. We serve it over Basmati rice. This has become a once a week dish!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shellbeans September 29, 2014

The curry is so delicious. It tastes just like one in a restaurant. Now, I have to cook every week because my children want it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dw_enterp August 17, 2014

This recipe is generally good, but as other reviewers have stated, you have to add way more curry paste than it says. I have been using 3+ tablespoons ((prefer using green curry paste actually) and also throwing some chopped thai chilies and crushed red pepper in to add more of a kick...don't use the low fat coconut milk; I tried that the 2nd time and it wasn't nearly as good<br/><br/>With these modifications, it is delicious and as good (or better) than you would get out at a lot of Thai restaurants outside of Thailand

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marc.j.eisenberg August 15, 2014

Just cooked my first ever Thai red curry..umm yummy,my Hubbie said it was better than any takeaway Thai curry we have had,he then had seconds..It was gorgeous even if I say so myself..will definately be making in the very near future..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helen F. May 05, 2014

Very good and easy. I like to make the curry sauce and change up now and then what I put into it. Sometimes vegetarian sometimes with chicken etc. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tunamanphd March 30, 2014
Scrumptious Thai Coconut Red Curry