9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Ah, a wonderful pie indeed. I really love single-crust pies with plenty of fruit, so I put a little foil lid on it to mimic the top crust and stop it drying out too much. Yes, the result looks a bit goofy, but it ended up tender and perfectly done. After reading some of the "soupy" comments I cut the butter back to two tablespoons, and then added a teaspoon of cardamom to punch it up a bit. It pairs beautifully with vanilla ice cream. My mom and sister and I mowed through more than half of it, and they said to feel free to bring this pie again when we have our next family dinner. Oh wait, I also subbed Splenda for the sugar and we never knew the difference. Thanks for a winner.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin R. May 03, 2009

This pie was tasty, but I found it a little too sweet. I think I'd use less sugar next time. Other than that, I enjoyed it and will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakingbrit January 25, 2009

This was my first attempt at pear pie. It was yummy, but I don't think 45 minutes is quite enough cooking time. My pie came out really soupy and the pears were still hard. It was tasty enough that I'm going to try it again...I'll just extend the cooking time a bit next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AltoRose October 26, 2008

i made this. it rocked. its also comforting that its so similar to apple pie when you're making it, maybe thats just me. but are you supposed to use ripe or firm pears? because mine was so soupy but it disappeared in 2 seconds anyway. whatever works, right? it was so sweet and peary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ssf January 12, 2008

This pie is just heavenly!! I will definitely make this again...absolutely melts in your mouth - a wonderful change to a traditional apple pie- I will make this for Thanksgiving this year!!!! I may try a little nip of brandy or something next just to see if it works nicely like with apple! Thank you for a wonderful recipe I wouldn't have thought of on my own! **Aussie recipe swap/tag Sept2007**

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommy Diva September 24, 2007

Delicious! I threw a handful of chocolatechips on top of the pearfilling. Yummmm........

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ingridwijckmans September 24, 2007

OH MY GOODNESS!!!! THIS is a fantastic pie! I can not believe that I have not had a pear pie before. I made this this am, and the smell of it baking was delightful....I could not wait for my husband to get home, I HAD to sample it. It is incredable. So simple, so tasty, you will love it. I used fresh pears.....followed the recipe exactly...except I used less butter than called for. I did not think it needed that much and it is perfection itself as far as I am concerned. This has been added to my favorite dessert cookbook and I promise I will be making this again...I also mailed this recipe to all my friends. THANK YOU for posting this. I would give it more than 5 stars if it was allowed! PAC-Fall07

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thymestudio September 14, 2007

this sounds like a really good recipe i cant wait to try it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sis barnes September 05, 2002
Scrumptious Pear Pie