Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scrumptious Lemon Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scrumptious Lemon Bars

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2003

      These lemon bars were one of the desserts I made for our Memorial Day cook-out. Scrumptious is an accurate description of the taste. I used fresh lemon juice and they had an intense flavor. The crowd went wild for them. Thanks for making me look like I'm a good cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      Based on other reviews commenting on the over sweetness (overall 2 1/4 c. sugar), I reduced the sugar to 1 1/3 c.(in the lemon filling). While these went REALLY fast and I've had subsequent requests to make them, To speed up the making of the crust, I pulsed those ingredients in the food processor until combined with great results. I also thought the crust was a little thick for the amount of filling (make sure you watch the crust closely, there's a fine line between perfect and overcooked. I used fresh lemon juice and some finely zested lemon peel, the flavor was perfectly lemony. I believe fresh lemon juice is key. Thanks for sharing, with the tweaks, we definetly have a repeat winner!****Update**** I reduced the sugar in the filling down to 1 cup and I think this is just to our taste. Wonderfully lemony and not overly sweet. I also added just a pinch of salt to the crust.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2013

      Not only were these lemon bars easy to make, but they were also easy to cut and remove. I received a ton of compliments and would highly recommend them to anyone who needs to bake sweets for a party or gathering. My friends commented that the bars were soft and not too sugary. The lemon flavor wasn't too overwhelming, either. The minute you set these out, they'll disappear!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      These are perfect. I ate them just after cooling and had the same response that many reviewers did - that these weren't quite lemony enough for me. However, after letting them sit for about an hour I ate another one and the lemon flavor really did shine through. I did add the rind of one lemon based on the other reviews that they flavor was not as intense as they would have liked. Maybe that's what did it? Thanks for posting an easy and delicious recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2003

      Based on all the rave reviews, I tried these lemon bars. They were fantastic and scrumptious is an understatment. The bars were soft and tender and had an exquisite tangy lemon flavor. Hard to eat just one. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I'll be making them again for my women's service club meeting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

    • on July 08, 2012

      Great lemon bars! My family asked for the recipe, so i know it was a hit. Only thing I did different was to add lemon zest. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      I always bring something to my Dentist and her "gals" on my my visits.This so they will not hurt me .They loved them as did I .Will keep this on my make again list as they were enjoyed by all. Don

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2008

      I agree with Heidi and all the others who said the lemon was not as intense as I like them. Very bland taste for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      What a easy recipe to put together. In fact, I went over all the steps again, cause it was so simple, I thought I missed something. These were very good, though they didn't seem too lemony like I thought they would be so next time I will add a bit more juice, and maybe some lemon peel. But they were still delicious, and my family gobbled them faster than it took to make them. Wonderful recipe and will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      These were VERY good. I used a little more fresh lemon juice and fresh grated lemon peel over the top before baking but other than that made as written. I will make these again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      WAY too sweet!!! Sorry, wont make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      I cut this recipe in half and then proceeded to freak out because I have little to no experience with desserts, to say nothing of changing the quantities. But it was fantastic! I love lemon, but not sweets, so after I took a "taste-test", I gave them to my husband who really enjoyed them, saying that they were neither too sweet nor too tart, but just right. I used a smaller Pyrex dish (something like 9x7) to adjust for the overall reduced yield and the thickness of each layer was ideal. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      I gave it three stars because it was edible, but I didnt really like this recipe because there wasnt really any lemon flavor and it was super sweet. I agree with the persons review under me about the crust being too thick and filling too thin. I wont make this again...im sorry

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      Good flavor, but too sweet in my opinion (and I only used 1 1/2 c sugar). The crust was WAY too thick and the lemon filling was too thin. Next time, I would half the crust, double the filling, use squeezed lemon juice (not bottled) and decrease the sugar to 1 cup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      I halved this recipe, and it didn't come out so hot. I followed the directions and used the right portions. The crusty part is excellent and I always used that shortbread cookie for pies, but the lemon part came out too lemony and so sweet, the combinations was practically bitter. It wasn't a light taste, but rather a very very strong sunkist candy. Maybe that was the intention, so I guess it wasn't my taste...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2006

      These were amazing. Very easy to assemble/prepare, and I had everything in the pantry, a big plus. Nover overly sweet either. Thank you for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      Yum. i made these using limes instead of lemons because I love limes so much. The bottom (crust? cookie? whatever you call it) was super buttery and the um, other part (?) was tart and sweet and perfect. Super-easy to make. Thanks NurseDi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2006

      Mmmm, I loved these...Lemon my favorite! Great recipe, Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2005

      These lemon bars are the best! Easy and Delicious, I'll be making these again. This recipe is going straight to my Favorites file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scrumptious Lemon Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (52 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.4
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    39%
    Total Fat 8.5 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 51.3 mg
    17%
    Sodium 87.4 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 0.3 g
    1%
    Sugars 19.2 g
    76%
    Protein 2.3 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites