32 Reviews

Based on other reviews commenting on the over sweetness (overall 2 1/4 c. sugar), I reduced the sugar to 1 1/3 c.(in the lemon filling). While these went REALLY fast and I've had subsequent requests to make them, To speed up the making of the crust, I pulsed those ingredients in the food processor until combined with great results. I also thought the crust was a little thick for the amount of filling (make sure you watch the crust closely, there's a fine line between perfect and overcooked. I used fresh lemon juice and some finely zested lemon peel, the flavor was perfectly lemony. I believe fresh lemon juice is key. Thanks for sharing, with the tweaks, we definetly have a repeat winner!****Update**** I reduced the sugar in the filling down to 1 cup and I think this is just to our taste. Wonderfully lemony and not overly sweet. I also added just a pinch of salt to the crust.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau September 24, 2013

These lemon bars were one of the desserts I made for our Memorial Day cook-out. Scrumptious is an accurate description of the taste. I used fresh lemon juice and they had an intense flavor. The crowd went wild for them. Thanks for making me look like I'm a good cook.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ainsleydoll May 27, 2003

Not only were these lemon bars easy to make, but they were also easy to cut and remove. I received a ton of compliments and would highly recommend them to anyone who needs to bake sweets for a party or gathering. My friends commented that the bars were soft and not too sugary. The lemon flavor wasn't too overwhelming, either. The minute you set these out, they'll disappear!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jpatel02004 January 13, 2013

These are perfect. I ate them just after cooling and had the same response that many reviewers did - that these weren't quite lemony enough for me. However, after letting them sit for about an hour I ate another one and the lemon flavor really did shine through. I did add the rind of one lemon based on the other reviews that they flavor was not as intense as they would have liked. Maybe that's what did it? Thanks for posting an easy and delicious recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
invictus November 12, 2008

Based on all the rave reviews, I tried these lemon bars. They were fantastic and scrumptious is an understatment. The bars were soft and tender and had an exquisite tangy lemon flavor. Hard to eat just one. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I'll be making them again for my women's service club meeting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
celeste and co. June 18, 2003

FINALLY!!! This is the lemon bar recipe I have been looking for. Perfect combination of sweet and tart, and super easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GeorgiaPeach January 21, 2015

Great lemon bars! My family asked for the recipe, so i know it was a hit. Only thing I did different was to add lemon zest. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjgerard77 July 08, 2012

I always bring something to my Dentist and her "gals" on my my visits.This so they will not hurt me .They loved them as did I .Will keep this on my make again list as they were enjoyed by all. Don

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Don Steele May 20, 2010

I agree with Heidi and all the others who said the lemon was not as intense as I like them. Very bland taste for me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skozell December 27, 2008
Scrumptious Lemon Bars