Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scrumptious Cranberry Angel Food Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scrumptious Cranberry Angel Food Cake

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on February 02, 2010

      I'm not much on making angel food cakes, but This one caught my attention because of those tart red berries & I did use a nicely rounded measure of 'em, as well as all the zest from a rather large orange! Am not sure what I did RIGHT, but my berries were well distributed throughout! Can't wait to make this one again, when we have company over! [Made & reviewed in Healthy Choices ABC tag]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      VERY yummy! However, my cranberries sunk to the bottom. So it wasn't pretty and it was quite difficult to serve. I'm sure there's a way to deal with that particular issue... I'll have to do a bit of research next time and see if I can get it to work. Maybe it's because I'm high altitude?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Overall this is very good. I rolled the whole cranberries in sifted cake flour but they all still settled to the bottom. I think I may chop them next time. I love how the flavor of the cranberries is showcased and not too sweet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      This was my first from scratch angel food cake and it worked out very well. I used my Kitchenaid mixer to whip everything up and it was very easy. The color in the cake was very pretty. I will make this again using my individual mini angel food cake pans. I need to chop up the zest next time so I don't have such long pieces. I used up the leftover egg yolks by making a double batch of my favorite Egg Yolk Cookies. Made and Reviewed for Please Review My Recipe Tag - Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      This was my first angel food cake as well. I have had the old fashioned baking pan for it for ages but always held back, thinking all the egg whites were too much work to deal with. Well, I made it easy for myself! I used 1 1/2 cups of store bought egg whites (like egg beaters, only they are egg whites). My Kitchen-Aid mixer made short work of whipping the egg whites. Since my pan had the prongs to hold it up while inverted, when the cake was done I just inverted over a wooden cutting board I use for bread and let it sit till it was cool. I ran a narrow knife along all the edges and it cake free as you see in my picture. It is wonderfully moist, light as air, and the cranberries give a touch of tartness without taking away from the delicate flavor of the cake. Thanks so much for the recipe, we all love it here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This was a nice cake and I loved the orange zest in it. One problem I had was after it was baked there were large air pockets around the berries. So I was wondering if a person could prevent this by rolling the berries in some extra sifted cake flour. You do it when you make blueberry muffins, why not here? I made this to serve at our Christmas meal 2007.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I love angel food cake and this recipe is a delight! The orange peel is a perfect flavoring and the tartness of the cranberries is an excellent foil for the sweetness of the cake. I made a small bundt cake and then used a portion of the batter to make muffin-sized 'cake-ettes' I dropped extra cranberries in the center of each and did spray the muffin pan. When the little cakes came out and were invertd, they looked like tiny tarts. I sprinkled the cranberries in the center of each with a bit of granulated sugar and served them out--everyone loved them, particularly liking the contrast of sweet/sour. I'm thinking lime rind next time...Thanks, Maito!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Other than trying to find a recipe to use up the 12 egg 'yolks' for (which I found a creme anglaise recipe to make with them), this was simple to make. (My first angel food cake). Very flavorful, light yet dense too. Hard to describe, but very good. I would add more cranberries next time though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scrumptious Cranberry Angel Food Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 243.0
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    25%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 228.8 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 53.3 g
    17%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 38.4 g
    153%
    Protein 6.8 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes