19 Reviews

Lubie, this recipe is one of the best recipes I have made on zaar (and I have made many, LOL). The recipe was easy to follow and produced the best BBQ chicken I have ever eaten. I only made one change to the recipe. I didn't cook the onions in water. Instead, I placed it in the skillet with chicken so that the flavor from the onion would infuse more in the chicken. This is a recipe that you can make on the nights you don't have a lot of time to cook or just don't feel up to cooking. Next tme, I will make it in the crockpot and cook it for 4-6 hours on low. Thanks so much for this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Audrey M August 22, 2003

This was a great recipe! Really simple and my family loved it!!! By far the best BBQ chicken I've ever had.The only changes I would make is omitting the oil (It's not necessary and makes the chicken to oily) and reduce the salt (It's too much for my taste). Otherwise, this was amazing! I'll be making this again. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy :) March 06, 2013

What an excellent sauce! I cut out the oil (was not needed) used my own bbq sauce that I had made up, half Dijon mustard, half hot mustard, no salt and lots of pepper. I served this over baby back ribs that I had slow cooked in the oven and finished over the bbq. As I was only serving 4 people, there was enough sauce that I cut the recipe in half and will freeze the rest for another time. Kudos on a great find!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Abby Girl September 17, 2011

Delicious! My boyfriend isn't even a "barbecue person" and he said during dinner, "Honey, this is amazing." =) Served with mashed potatoes and garlic almond green beans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefCallapitter January 25, 2010

Five stars for ease of preparation and great taste. I used boneless chicken breasts. I deviated from the recipe in the following ways: I used much less oil and less brown sugar and lemon juice. I added a chopped chipotle pepper to the sauce. I didn't brown the chicken before baking. The house smelled marvelous for 2 1/2 hours. The chicken was a moist and tender as could be. Thanks for the recipe, Lubie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
windhorse23 December 20, 2009

AMAZING ... making this tonight for my grandparents and the whole house smells AMAING!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kayleen has a heart January 05, 2009

This recipe allowed me to use up the dribs and drabs of barbecue sauce, etc, that had accumulated in the fridge. I omitted the salt as the nutrition facts show that the sodium content of this recipe is pretty high; we didn't miss it. Way too much oil; it just sat on top of the sauce. Maybe it was supposed to be used to brown the chicken? Next time I will cut back on the oil as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halcionne July 19, 2008

I used Sweet Baby Rays barbecue sauce with this recipe and it made a delicious topping along with the other ingredients. I used Pace salsa, as it's chunky and full of flavor. I used Heinz ketchup as it's the best, and I used bone in split chicken breasts and just adjusted the cooking time. Cooking at 250 gave it enough time for the sauce to absorb into the chicken, making it really delicious! 5 stars here all the way. Thanks Lubie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MichelleOnTheLake May 29, 2008

Super! Used chicken thighs, baked with the skin and bone on, and then cut the chicken meat up for sandwiches, dousing with the sauce. Delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christiedkj May 25, 2008

This was very good bbq sauce. I added some crushed garlic, and used a brown sugar substitute. Will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
QueenChefTC May 05, 2008
Scrumptious Barbecue Chicken or Spareribs