Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scrumptious Barbecue Chicken or Spareribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scrumptious Barbecue Chicken or Spareribs

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on August 22, 2003

      Lubie, this recipe is one of the best recipes I have made on zaar (and I have made many, LOL). The recipe was easy to follow and produced the best BBQ chicken I have ever eaten. I only made one change to the recipe. I didn't cook the onions in water. Instead, I placed it in the skillet with chicken so that the flavor from the onion would infuse more in the chicken. This is a recipe that you can make on the nights you don't have a lot of time to cook or just don't feel up to cooking. Next tme, I will make it in the crockpot and cook it for 4-6 hours on low. Thanks so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2013

      This was a great recipe! Really simple and my family loved it!!! By far the best BBQ chicken I've ever had.The only changes I would make is omitting the oil (It's not necessary and makes the chicken to oily) and reduce the salt (It's too much for my taste). Otherwise, this was amazing! I'll be making this again. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2011

      What an excellent sauce! I cut out the oil (was not needed) used my own bbq sauce that I had made up, half Dijon mustard, half hot mustard, no salt and lots of pepper. I served this over baby back ribs that I had slow cooked in the oven and finished over the bbq. As I was only serving 4 people, there was enough sauce that I cut the recipe in half and will freeze the rest for another time. Kudos on a great find!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2010

      Delicious! My boyfriend isn't even a "barbecue person" and he said during dinner, "Honey, this is amazing." =) Served with mashed potatoes and garlic almond green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Five stars for ease of preparation and great taste. I used boneless chicken breasts. I deviated from the recipe in the following ways: I used much less oil and less brown sugar and lemon juice. I added a chopped chipotle pepper to the sauce. I didn't brown the chicken before baking. The house smelled marvelous for 2 1/2 hours. The chicken was a moist and tender as could be. Thanks for the recipe, Lubie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      AMAZING ... making this tonight for my grandparents and the whole house smells AMAING!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2008

      This recipe allowed me to use up the dribs and drabs of barbecue sauce, etc, that had accumulated in the fridge. I omitted the salt as the nutrition facts show that the sodium content of this recipe is pretty high; we didn't miss it. Way too much oil; it just sat on top of the sauce. Maybe it was supposed to be used to brown the chicken? Next time I will cut back on the oil as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2008

      I used Sweet Baby Rays barbecue sauce with this recipe and it made a delicious topping along with the other ingredients. I used Pace salsa, as it's chunky and full of flavor. I used Heinz ketchup as it's the best, and I used bone in split chicken breasts and just adjusted the cooking time. Cooking at 250 gave it enough time for the sauce to absorb into the chicken, making it really delicious! 5 stars here all the way. Thanks Lubie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2008

      Super! Used chicken thighs, baked with the skin and bone on, and then cut the chicken meat up for sandwiches, dousing with the sauce. Delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      This was very good bbq sauce. I added some crushed garlic, and used a brown sugar substitute. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      Thanks Lubie for posting this amazing recipe. I made it tonight with assorted chicken pieces and my family went wild for it. The flavour was to die for! I made only a few little changes. Instead of using water, I sauteed the onions in a little bit of the oil before adding the rest of the ingredients for the sauce. I also added a couple cloves of crushed garlic and a few shakes of hot sauce. I also skipped the salt -- the ketchup, BBQ sauce, etc, already provide enough salt. When I make it again, and that will be very soon, I'm going to cut the oil down a bit too. Anyway, this is a most fabulous recipe and I thank you big time for posting it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2007

      Very tasty. We thought that the sauce had the right balance of sweetness and tang. Instead of using the oil, I chopped and sauteed 1/4 lb of bacon and then added the onions to that. I used the juice of one large lemon which was less than what the recipe called for.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      Lubie thanks for a good recipe. Dh and DS loved the sauce. After reading the other reviews I added gresh garlic, red pepper flakes, honey and cornstarch plus a little liquid smoke. I put the chicken breasts in the crockpot for 6 hrs on low and walked into a wonderful aroma when I came into from work. This will go into my keeper book.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2007

      I added some fresh garlic, 1 tsp red pepper flaked and 1/4 cup honey and 1 Tbsp cornstarch. Everyone asks for this recipe! I made it in the crock pot with spareribs - cooked ribs all day and added the sauce for the last hour. SCRUMPDILLYICIOUS!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      My girlfriend made this as a surprise romantic dinner. We ended up eating close to midnight...but it was so amazing. You would think chicken baked for 2 hours or more would be dry, but it was perfect. Great recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2005

      Very good and easy recipe to follow. I added an extra Tablespoon of br. sugar and a little extra ketchup. I made the BBQ sauce in the morning and cut the ribs up and put them in the pan without browning. They turned out great. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      This was very good! I had leftover sauce because I only cooked three chicken breast and it was delish as a topping on a hotdog w/slaw. Imagine that!:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2004

      Awesome recipe, Lubie! I used chicken legs in the recipe instead of the breasts. The flavor really permeates through the meat. Everyone in our family gave this one a thumbs up. I was thinking that this would be a great easy dish to prepare for church potlucks. I'm sure it would be a big hit! Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2004

      Just delicious Lubie! I made this with skin-on chicken thighs, and added about one heaping Tbsp fresh minced garlic (we love garlic with everything!), and doubled the recipe, this was so good DH was licking his plate clean LOL!!. I will be trying this with spareribs soon, I love the sauce, it was delicious! Thanks so much for sharing Lubie, we enjoyed this tonight with rice...Kittencal:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scrumptious Barbecue Chicken or Spareribs

    Serving Size: 1 (241 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 5

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 462.9
     
    Calories from Fat 228
    49%
    Total Fat 25.3 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 2006.7 mg
    83%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 25.9 g
    103%
    Protein 26.6 g
    53%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites