Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scrum-Diddly-Umptious Vegan Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scrum-Diddly-Umptious Vegan Brownies

    Average Rating:

    100 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 100

    Sort by:

    • on February 21, 2007

      Fantastic, and I'm not even vegan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      These chocolatey wonders fulfilled all of my vegan brownie wishes! They are absolutely fabulous! They were more fluffy and moist like cake, but I have no problem with that. I used only semi-sweet chips, no nuts or cinnamon, and they just melted in my mouth. Since becoming vegan, my co-workers seem to think I only eat veggies and fruit. These are going to prove them wrong! Thank you so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      First of all, I am so pleased to toss all of my previously used brownie recipes! This one is so easy and delicious, I need no other. After reading the other reviews that indicated these might be a little on the cakey side, I substituted 1/4 cup of the flour with whole wheat to get a denser consistency. That worked well and I think it can take some more, so next time, I'll make it half and half in order to make these more healthful and just a little bit denser. The only thing else I changed is that I used Dutch process cocoa. Since they had great cocoa flavor, I'll continue using that with this recipe. I did not include the nuts or cinnamon, but would like to try the nuts in the future. I would also like to try to reduce the baking powder slightly to reduce the sodium. I had some unsweetened home-style applesauce from an orchard. I don't know if that made a difference or not in how delicious they were. I'll find out when I run out. I took them to a potluck vegan dinner. There were 5 other people who voted 5 out of stars. One thought there was too many chocolate chips, but another said that was just the way she liked them, as do I.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2007

      Good thing this review is typed, because my mouth is stuffed full of these DELICIOUS brownies! The only changes I made were a little extra cocoa (I was finishing the container) and 60% cacao bittersweet chocolate chips. No nuts; no cinnamon. Excellent recipe - I will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      Delicious recipe, mine came out with somewhat of a cake texture. I will definitely make these again, next time without the nuts and maybe a little more chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      Really, really, really tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      Yep, no doubt these are delicious. I actually baked half in muffin tins and made half as cookies (after adding a little coffee to thin the batter), then put Kisses and Andes mints in the center. They looked like mud puddles -- but tasted like heaven. Oh, and I also put in 1/2 cup cocoa powder instead of 1/3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2006

      Yum, yum, yum... I cannot believe these are made with applesauce. They are so good. Mine came out very moist and cakey. I omitted the nuts. These are terrific and could it be possible that one big brownie really only has 100 calories? Awesome brownies for a lowcal/fat treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2006

      I just made these brownies, and I thought they were great. I used chopped up dairy free chocolate instead of chocolate chips, and they turned out great. Don't feel guilty eating these..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2006

      These brownies are okay. They are too spongey as we prefer a fudgey brownie. I did like the simplicity (and that they are vegan)! Unfortunately, I used broken chocolate bar pieces since we didn't have any chips which may have messed with the flavor. I will have to give these another shot with chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      These are delicious! I have tried vegan brownies which use tofu, but wasn't keen on the texture, but these are worth more than 5 stars! One recipe I will use frequently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2006

      Surprisingly brilliant! :-) We served them with ice cream for an American-themed meal (I'm in the UK), and they went down really well. I have already had a request to make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      TRY THESE BROWNIES!!! You will NOT be disappointed. These are so moist and fudgy. The large amount of applesauce makes this beautiful texture. My dad called them decadent which is not a usual word he uses. I did use regular chocolate chips as I did not need these to be vegan but I am sure they would be great with carob chips even. I didn't add the walnuts. YUMM!! Thanks soo much chiclet!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2006

      Wow! You would never know its Vegan (and I'm a chocoholic)!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2006

      There's no other way to say how these brownies taste other than they're perfect. They're not bad for you, and they taste great. What more could someone ask for?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      The first time I tried this recipe the brownies were gooey but delicious (I used a little less of every ingredient). The second time I used more flour and more applesauce and they were very cake-like. Then I tried to do it exactly like the recipe and they were perfect. The taste is unbelievable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2006

      this was such an easy recipe and tasted great too. what a yummy and healthy way to satisfy a choco fix. I only tried the recipe once. They did come out very moist and almost cake-like. yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2006

      i loved these brownies! i've tried many recipies for vegan brownies, but they never came out quite right. these were PERFECT! though, i used carob powder in place of the coco powder. thank you so much. i loved the fact that they were chocolate-y, yet nice and moist at the same time. i plan on using your recipie for years to come. thanks again - ~*~Kat~*~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2006

      These were okay - super easy to make, but very spongy and moist where they should have been cakey or fudgy, and didn't keep well. The texture was definitely off for brownies. I might make them again as muffins, but I think there are some recipes where you just can't compromise on the use of fat in cooking, and brownies are one. The chocolate chips did work really well and were the recipe's saving grace.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2006

      As far as "healthy" brownie recipes go, this is fantastic! It's also pretty dang good in the unhealthy brownie arena. ;) These turned out very moist and a good balance between fudgey and cakey, with great mouth feel that didn't turn to paste (as some cakey recipes do) and wasn't doo dense. The chocolate chips were a great touch both visually and texturally. The pic by chiclet made me try them, especially since my mother is vegan and loves chocolate. I couldn't take a pic of my batch b/c my kids got into them while I wasn't looking and there isn't anything picture-worthy left. Thanks for a great, relatively healthy dessert my kids love!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scrum-Diddly-Umptious Vegan Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (58 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 101.4
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    58%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 281.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 13.7 g
    55%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    semisweet vegan chocolate chips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites