102 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fantastic! I followed the recipe precisely and was delighted with the result. I used vegan chocolate chips, baked for 25 minutes. A tip: I found the brownies were a bit dry and cake-y when they first cooled down. I left them in a ziplock bag overnight (room temperature). They were much moister with a richer texture the next morning.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kaivalya June 06, 2010

These were the best brownies I have ever tasted hands down! Even my non vegan husband and his friends agreed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jordankids June 03, 2010

Delish! I only had 3/4 cup applesauce so I used about 1/8 cup canola oil, and followed the rest of the recipe exactly. I added some chopped dark chocolate pieces before baking and oh my what a decadent tasting treat! And low fat! Thank you! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meringue May 18, 2010

Outstanding, especially for a vegan recipe! Very moist - be sure to use raw sugar, not white refined sugar. It makes a huge difference. I like that these are not too sweet or artificial tasting. After eating so many out of the box brownies, I almost forgot what real chocolate was supposed to taste like.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
supercrafty March 27, 2010

These are fantastic!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond March 24, 2010

fii February 21, 2010

Delicious! I'm not vegan, but I made these for my brother and his family who are and they enjoyed them, as did some of us in the family who are not vegan or vegetarian. I used the vegan choc chips from Whole Foods and did not add the nuts or cinnamon. I did add an icing mix from Whole Foods (Pamelas I think) and made it added water and vegan margarine. It was excellent on top of the brownies. I'd definetly make again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NurseLuvs2Bake February 08, 2010

yummy! at the top of my 'favorites'...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OmnivoreNoMore February 03, 2010

First vegan recipe I've made and they were wonderful! Next time will try using agave syrup or brown rice syrup instead of sugar. Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mad-catter December 30, 2009

I doubled the ingredients cuz I didn't have a 8x8 pan, turned out great!! Moist, taste like chocolate and VERY soft. Just the the way I like em 5 stars, thank you for this almost fat-free and low-sugar recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vegan_Danny92 December 19, 2009
Scrum-Diddly-Umptious Vegan Brownies