102 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were SO good. I made them in mini muffin tins so they were little bite-sized brownies, and no one at our barbecue even suspected that they were vegan! I used 1/4 cup whole wheat flour, mini chocolate chips, regular sugar and opted for the dash of cinnamon, though I didn't notice it affect the taste at all. I stacked them up on a pretty platter and dusted with icing sugar for a finishing touch. I really appreciated that these didn't require any fancy ingredients. Will definitely be making these time and time again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
day-hee July 04, 2011

I am not vegan either, but these are pretty awesome. I think I put nuts in the first time and they developed kind of a weird rubbery texture, maybe sprinkling them on top instead would be better. I think these brownies do taste even better after 12ish hours. I was excited to scrape the bowl and eat a little batter since there's no eggs to worry about, but it's not that great until it's baked:) Thank you for posting this healthier version of a favorite treat! No frosting needed, and I think they're good with at least 1/2 of the flour being wheat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anabanna January 30, 2011

Tasty! Although I almost want to call them a "brownie snack." They are not very dense. They are very fudgy and yummy though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laura Meehan January 20, 2011

I have used this recipe over and over again and each time with fantastic results! I have only altered the addition of chocolate chips, swapping it out for nuts or leaving them out all together for a bit of variety. I am making them again today because I have some homemade apple sauce to use up and had to post a review to say thanks for a delicious and definitely healthier recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cococupcakequeen November 07, 2010

These were very easy & my husband said they were perfect! I couldn't find vegan choc chips so I skipped them and they were fine. Thanks so much for an easy treat to satisfy the sweet tooth!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mindelicious August 02, 2010

This was great and so easy!! Once I found it, I have cooked twice in 2 days as my cat destroyed my first batch! I did change it a touch, replacing half the raw sugar with brown sugar and adding chopped cashews and no choc-chips. The result was still delicious and the brown sugar made them just a touch fudgier, so I will keep that change and recommend people to try. All in all a great recipe! Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shea #2 July 18, 2010

Totally yummy! I made a couple of changes due to availability of ingredients in my kitchen (like part lowfat soy vanilla yogurt in place of part of the apple sauce) but they still came out delicious! I chopped up the chocolate chips a little and there are tiny chunks of melty chocolate in every bite of brownie...mmm. :) And just fyi the texture is very nice--sort of in between cakelike and chewy. Thanks to chiclet for sharing these w/us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CoastalCat July 01, 2010

I am not into healthy cooking primarily because the food always comes out tasting like cardboard. But, being nearly 40yrs old, I figure it's high time I cut back on the butter. Scrolling through all the brownie recipes using applesauce this one caught my eye...and it's delicious. Just fed it to my 4 kiddos and the pan is empty. The texture is superb and is full of flavor. I used tessj139's idea and used whole wheat flour...absolutely delicious. I will be a favorite at our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
motherof4northpole June 30, 2010

I made this according to the recipe, except I didn't ad any nuts or chips. I added an extra bit of cocoa (1/2c. total) They came out great! I love how chewy and thick they are. Great recipe, thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lisa__lynn June 29, 2010

These are delicious! I increased the cocoa to 1/2 cup, decreased the sugar to 1/4 cup (still plenty sweet), and incorporated whole wheat flour (1/2 cup WW, 1/4 cup regular). I topped mine with a chopped up dark chocolate almond bar- yum! They were so good that I just made them again- every other "healthy" brownie I've made has been rubbery or strange. This one is awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tessaj139_ June 12, 2010
Scrum-Diddly-Umptious Vegan Brownies