Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scrum-Diddly-Umptious Vegan Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scrum-Diddly-Umptious Vegan Brownies

    Average Rating:

    100 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 100

    Sort by:

    • on April 19, 2009

      As far as vegan brownies go, they are very good! I used 1/3 cup white sugar, substituted 1/4 cup whole wheat flour, cut the baking powder to half. These turned out very chocolatey and I'm very satisfied with the results. next time, I'm going to cut the baking powder+soda even more. For those who like fudgey brownies, these may be a little cakier for your tastes. For a fudgey brownie recipe that is healthier than most but not quite as healthy as these ones, I REALLY recommend: http://lovelikeavegan.wordpress.com/2008/06/14/chunky-monkey-brownies/ However those are not oil/butter free. I love these and I will definately make them again! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2009

      great

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This is an EXCELLENT recipe for all those choc lovers who want eat choc without feeling guilty! I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup and the sweetness was just right. Beautiful spongy texture, and wasn't rubbery like vegan cakes that use applesauce. Wonderful recipe! You won't regret trying this :) Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe, will use again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2009

      Followed the recipe exactly and they were deeelish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      These are good, but they definitely taste vegan. They were pretty dense and cakey. Even my mom, who loves everything called a brownie, wasn't a realy fan. They weren't terrible, they just didn't taste much like a normal brownie. It was a decent recipe, but not a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      fabulous flavour but the texture was somewhat chewy/doughy. Will definately make again. Not particularly healthy but better than some. I used spelt flour instead. Have used hazelnuts instead of walnuts a couple of times. I think they are better the next day, they firm up a bit better. I also used Lindt 70% cocoa chocolate which has no dairy in it. I also added nutmeg

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

    • on November 22, 2008

      These were so amazingly moist and delicious and easy to prepare! None of my pals could believe they were vegan. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

      These were good. Not super fantastic. It was my first attempt, but they came out very spongy... still had good flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      Great cakey, spongey brownies. Not very rich though. Tomorrow I'm going to have to buy some frosting to put on these! Maybe vanilla frosting with some cinnamon mixed in? The health factor (pre-frosting) combined with their vegan goodness makes these brownies worth making.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      Just delicious! The texture was cakey just like I like it, and when I served it to my family, no one knew it was any different from a regular brownie. Thank you for this wonderful recipe, I'm so glad I have it on hand in case of a craving :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      These are fantastic! I subbed out half of the sugar for Splenda. I also used half a cup of white flour and half a cup of whole wheat flour. I cooked mine for the full time and they are perfectly done. Thank you SO much for sharing this recipe! These are going to be great in my sons' lunches.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2008

      These are fantastic! They tasted even better the next day, in my opinion. I have made several recipes with applesauce to replace the fat and this is only the second one that is a winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      These are really good for a low fat brownie...REALLY good. I strongly recommend reheating the leftovers because they're not quite the same cold. I'll definitely be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      My search is over and all I can say is !!Wow!! I have tried MANY vegan brownies recipes and this one is the absolute BEST! I added more applesauce per the reviewer who said raw sugar absorbs quite a bit. These brownies came out very cake-like and incredibly moist. I made them for our block party yesterday; I have another batch in the over right now for my family to use to celebrate my birthday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      These were great! I used sweetened applesauce and cut the sugar in half. This is the best oil free, butter-free brownie recipe I've tried! Thank you :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      This is a tasty brownie keeping in mind there is no butter. I agree that it isn't as sweet tasting as your conventional brownie but it is a lot healthier. The ingredients are standard pantry ingredients so you don't need to make a trip to the natural food store. You can add more chocolate chips to get a sweeter brownie, but otherwise this is a great recipe that I will certainly make again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2008

      This was a good recipe for a healthy brownie, but they just were not "chocolatey" enough for me. I could definitely taste applesauce, but it was still a nice sweet treat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I was a little skeptical, but I must say that "scrum-diddly-umptious" is a very accurate way of describing these brownies. They are EXCELLENT! I am vegan; my sister isn't but she is severely sensitive to lactose so I can't give her anything that contains milk products. I wanted to make her some brownies for her birthday and this recipe fit the bill. Wyaltheou, thank you for posting about compensating for the raw sugar by adding a bit more wet ingredients! I made sure to do this and the brownies were very moist. Okay, here’s a confession: I actually inadvertently added too many chocolate chips; I just dumped the ENTIRE BAG of chocolate chips into the batter instead of adding 1/2 C. I wondered why it took 35 minutes to fully bake! It was because I accidentally tripled the amount of chocolate chips. Here’s another confession: I daresay that said mistake was a DELICIOUS mistake. In the future, when I make these brownies again — and that’s WHEN, not IF — I’ll just dump a whole bag into the batter once again. These brownies were perfect, and there’s no reason to mess with perfection. Even if you’re not a vegan, these brownies are definitely worth a try. They are so moist and so delicious. They’re sweet, but not overly sweet. I can honestly say that these are some of the best brownies I have ever had. I am so pleased that my first attempt at vegan brownies was a success! From what I’ve read here and there on the internet, there’s some pretty nasty vegan brownie recipes out there. I guarantee you that this is not one of them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2008

      Wow! I needed a lactose-free recipe for a friend, and at first I was pretty sceptical but these are fantastic! Easy to make, and good with banana icing (#111194). Had to distribute the recipe around my office!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scrum-Diddly-Umptious Vegan Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (58 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 101.4
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    58%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 281.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 13.7 g
    55%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    semisweet vegan chocolate chips

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites