Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scrum-Diddly-Umptious Vegan Brownies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scrum-Diddly-Umptious Vegan Brownies

    Average Rating:

    100 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 100

    Sort by:

    • on November 07, 2010

      These brownies are awesome; they have become a staple for me to make for parties, work, edible gifts, etc.
      Obviously great for vegans, but my omnivore friends always ask for the recipe, too! So easy, and amazing texture...

      One tip: I leave these (covered) for at least 12 hours (preferable a day in advance) before serving, so they develop a particularly moist, chewy texture, but also because the apple sauce/puree tends to need a few hours to settle in and not give it a strong taste.

      They are definitely perfection after 12 hours, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2009

      This recipe did not work out for me. The texture was gummy and the consistency was too cakey. I was making them for friends and I couldn't even give them to anyone b/c they ABSOLUTELY tasted like "healthy" brownies and they completely fell apart when I cut them up. Next time I am going to go for the full fat gooey brownies, which I know everyone will love:)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      These were the most disgusting brownies EVER. I thought the chocolate would cover up the taste of the applesauce, but it still came through. The texture was all wrong, they were slimey and rubbery. Don't waste your time with this.

      Also, just because it has appleasauce in it doesn't mean it's healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2007

      Ok, first off brownies need some fat. These are not healthy. White flour, white sugar.. hello not healthy. I made these with sifted whole soft wheat, otherwise followed the recipe. These were rubbery and chewy. The chocolate chips are all that saved it. These were more like cake, NOT brownies. They had no flavor, except for the chocolate chips. I might try it again and tweek it by adding 1/4 cup canola or olive oil. Also cut the baking powder and baking soda in half. Also too much salt. I would cut that in half as well. Couldn't even taste the cinnamon. Didn't need it, it was a waste of a great spice. I only baked these 20 minutes and most likely 12 to 15 would have been plenty since there is no egg so no need to worry about food poisoning. NONE of my kids liked these either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      Finally!! A healthy brownie recipe that actually tastes like brownies! They turned out really moist, decadent and fudgy, which I love (as opposed to cake-like brownies). I did make some changes to the recipe after reading all the reviews and based on what I had on hand in the kitchen. I did not have any applesauce, so I used 1/2cup canola oil and 1/2 cup fat free carmel greek yogurt (stonyfield brand). I used 1/4 cup organic sugar and 1/4 cup organic brown sugar, increased the cocoa powder to 1/2 cup, used 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1/4 cup unbleached flour. I also added 2 flax eggs (1 egg=1tbsp ground flax mixed with 3tbsp water).
      I'm sure the original recipe is a little healthier with the applesauce, but from the reviews it seems like the applesauce makes the brownies turn out a little more cake-like and I like them rich and gooey which is exactly how they turned out! So good you don't even know they're healthy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      What I really love about these brownies (along with their chocolaty goodness) is how fast and easy they are. Because they tend to fall apart when cut, I add a flax egg to the mix. Just mix 1 to 1 1/2 T ground flax with 3 T either hot water or coffee and stir until gooey--about the consistency of an egg. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      God help me I may eat the whole pan myself! Everything it claims to be and more. I was just about to end my vegan brownie recipe after failed attempts when I decided this would be my last shot. Thank you so much for posting this wonderful recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2008

      These were great! At first they were a little cakey, so I put them in the fridge. The next day they were awesome! Very moist and fudgey! More chips = good idea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2006

      As a diabetic vegetarian, I've been looking for a healthy brownie recipe that tasted great and didn't send my blood sugar all over the map. This one definitely fits the bill. I think it's better without the nuts, though. NOTE: If you use raw sugar (like turbinado or sucunat) when baking, be sure to slightly increase the liquids in this recipe...in this case, the applesauce. (I even increased the vanilla slightly by about 1 tsp.) Overall, increase liquid ingredients by about 1/8 cup. This is because raw sugar absorbs more moisture than regular granulated, so if you don't compensate, your brownies will come out dry and crumbly. I adjusted for that and they came out great - mostly gooey but with enough cakey consistency to have nice, yummy brownie squares. I would definitely make these again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2014

      These are the BEST brownies ever!! We have made these 5 or 6 times since I found the recipe and they have been delicious everytime! I always add a little bit of greek yogurt and soy milk at the end until I think it has the right texture. We have them with vanilla ice cream and chocolate syrup! YUM!! Thank you so much for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2013

      This brownies were good - the applesauce makes them light and fluffy. Make sure to include the vegan chocolate chips! I think they would be even better with some vegan whipped cream on the side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2013

      These are so easy to make and delicious! My hubby liked them too, and he doesn't usually like healthier versions of things. I didn't notice any applesauce taste, although I love applesauce and wouldn't mind tasting it. We ate them right out of the oven and again the next day, and thought they were quite tasty. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      These were good but not the best vegan brownie recipe that I have used before. My 5 year old and husband didn't care for them at all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2013

      What a big surprise! I just became vegan just for my love of animals and wanted to venture out trying new recipes. This brownie recipe was very good, even my skeptical mother raved about these. I adjusted to 1/4 of the raw sugar and 1/4 of light brown sugar. My brownies turned out moist and had nice texture - not cake like. I baked it exactly thirty minutes and it was perfect, normally my oven takes longer for baking. Not exactly like regular brownies but with these I won't miss the "real" thing. Thanks for this healthier recipe. I still can't believe thereis no oil in these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2012

      So delicious as is! Loved the chopped nuts in it too. Let it cool and delish! Not sure why the bad reviews. No egg and oil seems healthier to me! Thanks a
      Bunch :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2012

      For vegan brownies these were delish! The only thing I did was add a dash of instant coffee and carob chips (maybe 1/4 C). They weren't exactly brownie consistency, but they taste great! The carob chips melted adding a gooey texture. They aren't too sweet and are the perfect guilt-free chocolatey treat :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2011

      I cannot believe this is Vegan. So good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2011

      Okay, here's the deal...this is an awesome vegan brownie. Period. No additions. No subtractions. No substitutions. But do make them the day before you want to eat them. They are marvelous.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2011

      These were SO good. I made them in mini muffin tins so they were little bite-sized brownies, and no one at our barbecue even suspected that they were vegan! I used 1/4 cup whole wheat flour, mini chocolate chips, regular sugar and opted for the dash of cinnamon, though I didn't notice it affect the taste at all. I stacked them up on a pretty platter and dusted with icing sugar for a finishing touch. I really appreciated that these didn't require any fancy ingredients. Will definitely be making these time and time again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      I am not vegan either, but these are pretty awesome. I think I put nuts in the first time and they developed kind of a weird rubbery texture, maybe sprinkling them on top instead would be better. I think these brownies do taste even better after 12ish hours. I was excited to scrape the bowl and eat a little batter since there's no eggs to worry about, but it's not that great until it's baked:) Thank you for posting this healthier version of a favorite treat! No frosting needed, and I think they're good with at least 1/2 of the flour being wheat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scrum-Diddly-Umptious Vegan Brownies

    Serving Size: 1 (58 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 101.4
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    58%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 281.3 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.2 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 13.7 g
    55%
    Protein 1.7 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    semisweet vegan chocolate chips

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes