101 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These brownies are awesome; they have become a staple for me to make for parties, work, edible gifts, etc.
Obviously great for vegans, but my omnivore friends always ask for the recipe, too! So easy, and amazing texture...

One tip: I leave these (covered) for at least 12 hours (preferable a day in advance) before serving, so they develop a particularly moist, chewy texture, but also because the apple sauce/puree tends to need a few hours to settle in and not give it a strong taste.

They are definitely perfection after 12 hours, though.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scoobywhooo November 07, 2010

This recipe did not work out for me. The texture was gummy and the consistency was too cakey. I was making them for friends and I couldn't even give them to anyone b/c they ABSOLUTELY tasted like "healthy" brownies and they completely fell apart when I cut them up. Next time I am going to go for the full fat gooey brownies, which I know everyone will love:)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elizanne1 February 13, 2009

These were the most disgusting brownies EVER. I thought the chocolate would cover up the taste of the applesauce, but it still came through. The texture was all wrong, they were slimey and rubbery. Don't waste your time with this.

Also, just because it has appleasauce in it doesn't mean it's healthy.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tabbycattt October 16, 2010

Ok, first off brownies need some fat. These are not healthy. White flour, white sugar.. hello not healthy. I made these with sifted whole soft wheat, otherwise followed the recipe. These were rubbery and chewy. The chocolate chips are all that saved it. These were more like cake, NOT brownies. They had no flavor, except for the chocolate chips. I might try it again and tweek it by adding 1/4 cup canola or olive oil. Also cut the baking powder and baking soda in half. Also too much salt. I would cut that in half as well. Couldn't even taste the cinnamon. Didn't need it, it was a waste of a great spice. I only baked these 20 minutes and most likely 12 to 15 would have been plenty since there is no egg so no need to worry about food poisoning. NONE of my kids liked these either.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
razzintaz July 17, 2007

Finally!! A healthy brownie recipe that actually tastes like brownies! They turned out really moist, decadent and fudgy, which I love (as opposed to cake-like brownies). I did make some changes to the recipe after reading all the reviews and based on what I had on hand in the kitchen. I did not have any applesauce, so I used 1/2cup canola oil and 1/2 cup fat free carmel greek yogurt (stonyfield brand). I used 1/4 cup organic sugar and 1/4 cup organic brown sugar, increased the cocoa powder to 1/2 cup, used 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour and 1/4 cup unbleached flour. I also added 2 flax eggs (1 egg=1tbsp ground flax mixed with 3tbsp water).
I'm sure the original recipe is a little healthier with the applesauce, but from the reviews it seems like the applesauce makes the brownies turn out a little more cake-like and I like them rich and gooey which is exactly how they turned out! So good you don't even know they're healthy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovesbaking September 03, 2010

What I really love about these brownies (along with their chocolaty goodness) is how fast and easy they are. Because they tend to fall apart when cut, I add a flax egg to the mix. Just mix 1 to 1 1/2 T ground flax with 3 T either hot water or coffee and stir until gooey--about the consistency of an egg. Thanks for a great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mangomom May 19, 2009

God help me I may eat the whole pan myself! Everything it claims to be and more. I was just about to end my vegan brownie recipe after failed attempts when I decided this would be my last shot. Thank you so much for posting this wonderful recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenkungfu February 25, 2008

These were great! At first they were a little cakey, so I put them in the fridge. The next day they were awesome! Very moist and fudgey! More chips = good idea!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ted & Lauren January 28, 2008

As a diabetic vegetarian, I've been looking for a healthy brownie recipe that tasted great and didn't send my blood sugar all over the map. This one definitely fits the bill. I think it's better without the nuts, though. NOTE: If you use raw sugar (like turbinado or sucunat) when baking, be sure to slightly increase the liquids in this recipe...in this case, the applesauce. (I even increased the vanilla slightly by about 1 tsp.) Overall, increase liquid ingredients by about 1/8 cup. This is because raw sugar absorbs more moisture than regular granulated, so if you don't compensate, your brownies will come out dry and crumbly. I adjusted for that and they came out great - mostly gooey but with enough cakey consistency to have nice, yummy brownie squares. I would definitely make these again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wyaltheou February 19, 2006

I tried this recipe for the first time today. I used the suggestion of using a min muffin tin and baked them for 20 minutes. I also used spelt flour and the flax egg ( 1 1/2 T ground flax to 3 T hot water) They turned out perfect!!! My family devoured them while they were still warm and I told them they would be better after 12 hours as suggested and my husband laughed saying "they won't last that long!!!!" Thanks for a great vegan brownie recipe and thanks for all the suggestions to create perfection!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol S. February 07, 2015
Scrum-Diddly-Umptious Vegan Brownies