63 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We really enjoyed these little gems! I used chopped ham in place of the sausage -- just a personal preference that my family has. I also sauteed the onion (I used green onion) and bell peppers and then added the ham for a couple minutes as well. I might pump up the garlic powder a little bit the next time I make these. I also went a little heavy on the cheese. I baked these in my silicone muffin pans and they fell right out after baking. I did increase the baking time to about 30 minutes. I wrapped the leftover ones and have them in the freezer -- plus I did reheat one yesterday morning and it turned out great -- just about 20-25 seconds in the microwave. I think you could also add some chopped brocolli or shredded zucchini -- or even some hash browns to these. Thank you, Nicole for posting this recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie October 05, 2010

These are terrific!!! They have transformed our breakfast rush into a calm and peaceful dance!! Best of all they take about a minute in the microwave to go from frozen to a hot brekky!! I have used pork, italian, farmers,and turkey sausage. I have added 1/2 c. frozen hash browns to the mix as well as many different kinds of cheeses. We love these muffins and they are a nice change from the usual breakfast fare. Thank you for sharing!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn302 February 19, 2010

I made this for a Fathers Day potluck at church today. I originally found the recipe in one of my mothers cookbooks and copied it down. They went over great I even got asked for the recipe. Next time I might try bacon or ham.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Triple BQ June 20, 2010

Turned out great, quick and easy! I didn't have sausage so I made mine into a mock pizza flavor, add tomatoes, green pepper, red onion, pizza seasoning, pizza cheeses and pepperoni.(that is what the red strips are in my pic.) Wallah! Turned out wonderfully, kids loved them. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imOatmeal June 08, 2010

Tasty, quick, and these reheat well from the fridge. I used turkey bulk sausage; I sauteed the onion and green peppers with the sausage and also added sliced mushrooms and about a tsp diced jalapeno. These baked up very fluffy, and I just stored them in a ziplock bag in the refrigerator for quick work-week breakfasts. *Oh, and you DO need to REALLY coat the muffin pans with spray, probably more than you think. A few of mine stuck and I'd coated the pan pretty well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newspapergal December 08, 2009

These are so good and very handy. I made this recipe for that "on the go" morning before football games. We literally grabbed a couple a piece and ate in the car! This recipe is perfect for that morning commute or those busy weekend mornings. Thank you for sharing withus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour October 18, 2013

Nice simple recipe that is easy to adjust to personal taste. I cut it in half as there's only 3 of us but think they'd make great left overs or an easy breakfast for a crowd. I first sauted some chopped onion and red peppers and used bacon instead of sausage as that's what I had - also went heavy on the cheese and it worked out fine. I did find that 15 minutes in my oven was about right. Like another reviewers idea of adding hash browns and think I'd then make them in my BIG muffin tins to accommodate it all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 August 09, 2013

I Made These This Morning. I Was Trying To Find A Way To Use Up A Roll Of Pork Sausage. Im Not A Big Fan Of Pork Sausage... These Were Fabulous! I sauTeed An Onion Half A Red Pepper & A Few Shrooms. I Used About 3/4 Lb Of Sausage & 10 Eggs. Measuring Them Out @ 1/3 Cup Each It Made 13 Muffins. As Reccommended I Sprayed The Muffin Pans Generously With canola Oil. No Problem Getting Them Out Of The Pans.Thanks For A Great New Bfast Idea!! :-D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Noonie July 29, 2013

These are simple to make, taste great and you can modify the recipe to your own liking. One equals about one egg. They also freeze very well, takes roughly 45 sec. in microwave to thaw/heat. Thanks Nicole for sharing your version of this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookingOnTheFlyKathy May 18, 2013

I made these today and they are very good. I only used 10 eggs and 2 tbsp. of heavy cream . I added 1/4 tsp onion powder 1/4 tsp mustard powder. I cooked my sausage and cooked the veggies with sausage for the last minute or two. These are very nice and full of meat and veggies. I had no problems with sticking. I will be making these often. These are great when you are low carbing. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLA December 30, 2012
Scrambled Egg Muffins