11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

How did I forget to rate this after all this time! One word - YUM! No eggs (good for me) and easy. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookingpompom August 10, 2012

WOW! Despite the positive reviews, I also didn't expect much from such a simple recipe when I picked it, but figured it was so simple it was worth a shot. I was pleasantly surprised! It took about 3/34 to 4 cups of flour, plus the flour on the kneading board, to get this dough to a consistency that could be cut and transferred to cookie sheets. I used half salted butter and half unsalted butter; next time I will use all salted butter as I did feel the cookies needed that little extra oomph. I will also probably use a little more brown sugar, maybe a 1/4 cup, but that's my personal preference as I would like them just a little sweeter when I serve them at my office Christmas party. However, the amount of sugar in the recipe does produce a very nice shortbread cookie that is perfect with coffee. This recipe gets five stars for being easy and delicious, the best of everything!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jujusmommy December 09, 2007

These cookies are tender & delicious! I love the almost-carmelized flavor that the brown sugar brings. I cut the recipe in half; used salted butter and liked that tiny hint of salt with the sweet. I meant to add a bit of my homemade vanilla-rum extract, but forgot; next time! Thank you so much, Chef Vseward!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyjaypee1 May 07, 2007

Loved these cookies!! My rating is a bit overdue, but I made these as a part of a Christmas Cookie gift package for friends and relatives, and everyone loved them!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SophSheldrick February 13, 2007

Delicious shortbread, perfect for a college student who only has butter, brown sugar, and flour =) I did find it a bit hard to keep the dough from crumbling when I was cutting the cookies out though. I thought I might have used too much flour since I only made one dozen but maybe not, it tastes great.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Santa's_Elf November 12, 2006

Wow! What a great cookie!!! I'm so happy I found this recipe. This will be my Go-To Shortbread cookie. They baked so nicely. I wasn't sure how the Brown sugar and omitting Vanilla extract was going to come out, but it was Divine. They are light and flaky with just the right amount of sweetness. I made sure to use the good Butter, Kerrygold. I even creamed the butter by hand instead of using my Kitchen aid. I'm telling you this recipe is too easy to mess up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rora1313 October 20, 2012

This was a quick and easy recipe to create. I mixed the recipe in 10 minutes, and had them cut out and in the oven in no time. Cookies are a bit too bland for me, but I will add something to the cookies next time. The cooking time needed tpo be adjusted for my oven.

I did add sugar sprinkles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aradia1963 May 26, 2012

I am writing this as the cookies are coming out of the oven. They are decent, but know that they will be wonderful once they've sat for a day or so. Not one to make a recipe as is, I had to throw my own spin on it. So...I dbld the recipe and added an orange's worth of zest and about 1 tsp orange extract and 1/2 tsp allspice. Rolled and cut out the cookies, then sprinkled with cinnamon sugar before baking. These are tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamaindakitchen December 23, 2009

These were ok, a bit too soft for my taste and I was expecting them to be a little sweeter. But they weren't bad considering the simplicity of the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KosherCook February 22, 2008

I'm not a huge fan of shortbread cookies, but these were incredible! Not only that, but I was short on time and couldn't refrigerate them and they still turned out amazing! I was quite impressed!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PumpKIM December 14, 2007
Scottish Shortbread Cookies