23 Reviews

Easy and with that special "short" that you can only find with expensive bought shortbread. I want to say thanks for such a CLEAR step-by-step recipe. Rotating the tins is an important part of the recipe as it ensures uniform colour. I like this recipe as it is so like one I used to use in Scotland. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scots Lass/Cairo November 20, 2011

THE perfect traditional shortbread recipe & so easy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
-Sam I Am- September 16, 2010

Highly recommend! ***** After searching for ages for a decent simple shortbread recipe i finally found the one. Amazing! Thanks for sharing it with us. x :o)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Lady July 07, 2010

Loved this recipe! I did add a bit of salt maybe 1/4 or 1/2 tsp and 1 tsp vanilla. I cannot believe how easy this was to make! I made my batch extra thick (all dough patted into a 9x9 pan) and scored it prior to baking to mark cut lines. I got 8 nice wedges from it. I had actually purchased the same cookie at a local bakery and paid $7 for 4 wedges JUST LIKE THESE! So happy to find I don't have to anymore:lol: Thanks for sharing this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dmac085 July 06, 2010

Steve, I already knew when I was handling the raw pastry that this recipe was going to be stunning and I was not wrong! I have my own recipe that I have used for years, but decided to try yours this year and it's going to be "my" recipe from now on!! 5 stars all the way :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bokenpop aka Madeleine December 10, 2014

Based on other reviews I read, I added 1/2 tsp salt (and for my personal taste added 1 tsp high-quality vanilla), which takes this recipe to 5 stars. I imagine that without salt this would be a little flat (hence the 4 rating). Although purists would probably clutch their pearls I always add an extract to my shortbreads-usually vanilla, but sometimes almond.

The vanilla especially highlights the dairy notes in the butter, but one caveat when using extracts here is that because there are such subtle and few flavors in shortbread a good extract is a must here...shortbread is not the place to use an imitation or cheap flavoring. For that matter, the quality of the butter for shortbread should be the best you can afford-the better the butter the better the shortbread.

Anywhoo, this shortbread is easy to make, has a great texture and a nice buttery taste. Hit a wedge with a little Bonne Maman blueberry and I was a happy man.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TotalFark March 13, 2013

This shortbread tastes exactly like the shortbread my Scottish grandmother used to make. So simple and easy (using food processor method). I did add a pinch of salt. Excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristinpotter December 10, 2012

Really simple and exactly the way shortbread should be!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittenhands December 06, 2009

This cookie was a big hit during the holidays at my house. It is now in my list of favorite (& easy) cookies to make all year round. I did not split the dough up into two pans and I wish I had. I thought it would be too thin, but the cookie does rise and it was almost too rish when it was all in one pan. Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biszeemom December 27, 2008
Scottish Shortbread