Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scottish Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scottish Scones

    Average Rating:

    38 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 38

    Sort by:

    • on March 30, 2003

      This is more than a five-star recipe in my book...easy, really delicious, and very forgiving. I've made them twice, the first time following the recipe to the letter. They were wonderful, slightly sweet, nicely textured, crunchy on the outside moist on the inside. Fantastic warm, but still really good when they cooled. The next time, I had to substitute dried cranberries (because somebody forgot to cover the currants and they became little pebbles) so I also added a couple of teaspoons of orange zest. I also had some help the second time, and despite some rough handling of the dough and a bit of compromise in the mixing department, they still came out nicely. Because of the high oatmeal and low fat content, this is a pretty healthy on-the-run breakfast that I plan to make in lieu of oatmeal! Thank you for posting this!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2003

      Being a "non baker", I can guarantee that this is a quick & easy recipe. I couldn't get currants at my local market - the joys of living in a village - but I had raisins in the pantry & they worked just fine. But the 5 stars was given by my dad who comes from Campbellford Scotland. Thanx Miller - from me & my dad!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2003

      Wonderful! These were a breeze to make and bake. I used raisins instead of currants and they are very good. Of course we had to eat them right out of the oven when they were hot! Oh so good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2014

      This recipe did not turn out for me. I made it as directed except I substituted brown sugar, instead of white. Other reviewers have made that substitution and did not have problems. My 2 circles of dough did not rise one centimeter. I baked one for 15 minutes, and the other for about 17 minutes, hoping against hope that it would rise if I baked it a little longer. After baking, my husband described them as "curling stones". They were hard, dry pucks with little to no flavor. I fed them to the deer in our backyard. I admit I am not a great baker but I have made other scones successfully before. I tried this recipe because I was looking for a baking recipe using rolled oats. I will not make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2013

      These turned out beautifully, exactly as I remember when I was on foreign study in Scotland and the rest of the UK. My English hubby-to-be said this is the first time he's had a really authentic scone since he moved to the USA. <br/><br/>One quick comment -- when making the recipe I realized I only had 1 1/2 cups of rolled oats, but I had plenty of oat bran, so I used 1/2 cup of oat bran to make up the difference. They still tasted delicious (and now there's extra fiber too, which is never a bad thing).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 13, 2012

      This is a great recipe. It's actually in the Company's Coming Muffins and More cookbook and I love it

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2012

      Wow. These are easy. In the time it took to preheat the oven to 425 I prepared these and they were ready to go into the oven. The texture is a little heavier than other scones but I assume due to the rolled oats. They taste delicious right out of the oven. I followed the recipe exactly except I don't have current so used raisins instead. Love them. Next time I will use blueberries and maybe a teaspoon of vanilla to make it richer. Thank you for a delicious, quick, easy and healthy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      I made these for my three kids and didn't have any currants and substituted raisins. They are so delicious and the kids will be thrilled to find them in their lunch boxes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2011

      I made the scottish scones and thought, "There are so good, how can I make this into a breakfast meal for my family as they rush out the door?" OK, here goes:

      I followed the basic recipe (using butter). In addition, add 1 cup sliced almonds to the flour mixture and one large tablespoon of applesauce to the wet ingredients. Sprinkle 6" circle with almonds before cutting into 4 sections (instead of 8). Bake as directed.

      These freeze nicely. Take one out in the morning, slice it in half, spread with favorite jam, microwave for 60 seconds and serve with a fruit smoothy. You have successfully covered every food group and will not be hungry until lunch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2010

      YUM! I made these with frozen blueberries (3/4 cup) and they were absolutely delicious. Perfect with tea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2010

      These are so easy to make! I am a very beginner baker and found this very simple. I substituted brown sugar for white and nearly doubled the amount, because I prefer sweet scones. I also used frozen blueberries instead of currants. My only complaint is that these are a bit crumbly, but I have no problem eating them with a fork on a plate. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Great change of pace! Old-fahioned rolled oats make this a hearty, well-balanced recipe. I used fresh blueberries instead of currants. I needed about 10-more minutes in the oven because, I think, my scones were thicker. Still, they rose well and were a substantial Sunday morning treat slathered with butter and served up with a hot pot of coffee. Next time, to satisfy the wife and son's sweet tooths, I'll sprinkle with cinnamon and sugar. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      These are quite different than the scones I am used to, but I liked the change of pace. I will use some of the same descriptors used by other reviewers; dense, crumbly and rustic. The only thing that I did differently was that I patted the whole recipe into one round instead of two. I still only got 8 scones out of it; in other words my scones were larger. I still used the same temp and cook time. They turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      My only mistake was cutting the recipe in half -- we needed more! Family ate them up right out of the oven at night, so there were not enough left for breakfast. That's easily fixed next time. I used raisins instead of currants, also added cinnamon. Oven note: 12 minutes at 400 degrees was enough in my hot oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      Just made these while sick at home with the flu - they are very authentic and rustic - not like the fluffy devonshire scones - but I like that! I made them with salted butter accidentally but still great tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2009

      The flavor is awesome. But 15 minutes baking was too long in my oven. When it was done, the scones were too hard. So make sure you watch your oven temperature.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2009

      Really wonderful recipe! I love how healthy they are with the oatmeal...next time I plan on making them with whole wheat flour. I used cranberries because we are a family of cranberry lovers! I love anything Scottish and this hit the spot! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      Buttery, hearty & satisfying scone. =) I agree that it's also pretty easy for a non-baker. Our family is really a fan of oatmeal, so I opted to try this recipe. I like the fact that it seems not quite as high in calories or fat content as some other scone recipes. I used "salted" butter, so I cut the salt down to 1/4 t. Also, I used craisins instead of currants. We'll really enjoy these for breakfast or snacks--bless you for sharing this Scottish childhood recipe! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Great and easy recipe. My college girls and their suitemates loved these. Not too sweet with a great rustic flavor. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      Just finished baking these and wow! I am enjoying a scone as I type this review...warm, crumbly, dense. and incredibly rustic with oats. Easy to prepare, the only change I made was to omit the currants...not a fan. I will make these again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scottish Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (46 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 165.0
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    38%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 3.9 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 27.5 mg
    9%
    Sodium 172.3 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites