41 Reviews

This is more than a five-star recipe in my book...easy, really delicious, and very forgiving. I've made them twice, the first time following the recipe to the letter. They were wonderful, slightly sweet, nicely textured, crunchy on the outside moist on the inside. Fantastic warm, but still really good when they cooled. The next time, I had to substitute dried cranberries (because somebody forgot to cover the currants and they became little pebbles) so I also added a couple of teaspoons of orange zest. I also had some help the second time, and despite some rough handling of the dough and a bit of compromise in the mixing department, they still came out nicely. Because of the high oatmeal and low fat content, this is a pretty healthy on-the-run breakfast that I plan to make in lieu of oatmeal! Thank you for posting this!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Akikobay March 30, 2003

Being a "non baker", I can guarantee that this is a quick & easy recipe. I couldn't get currants at my local market - the joys of living in a village - but I had raisins in the pantry & they worked just fine. But the 5 stars was given by my dad who comes from Campbellford Scotland. Thanx Miller - from me & my dad!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady May 23, 2003

Wonderful! These were a breeze to make and bake. I used raisins instead of currants and they are very good. Of course we had to eat them right out of the oven when they were hot! Oh so good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Brock July 01, 2003

Perfect comfort food. Made the first batch according to the recipe. Like some other reviewers, I found them too dense and heavy, and they didn't rise much. Still they tasted good. For the second batch, I substituted dried cranberries for the currants, and added the grated zest of one orange. Also, I reduced the rolled oats to 1 cup. Everything else was the same. Perfection. And so easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
allison.morgan March 08, 2016

Very good! I made exactly as recipe stated, with currants too. Sprinkled a little sugar on top. Baked 20 minutes. I love the flavour of the oats, my dad liked them vey much as well. Not too rich like most scones, will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wildwoodflour October 04, 2015

Great, simple recipe with ingredients I almost always have on hand. I used raisins instead of currants. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bauline Baker July 06, 2015

This recipe did not turn out for me. I made it as directed except I substituted brown sugar, instead of white. Other reviewers have made that substitution and did not have problems. My 2 circles of dough did not rise one centimeter. I baked one for 15 minutes, and the other for about 17 minutes, hoping against hope that it would rise if I baked it a little longer. After baking, my husband described them as "curling stones". They were hard, dry pucks with little to no flavor. I fed them to the deer in our backyard. I admit I am not a great baker but I have made other scones successfully before. I tried this recipe because I was looking for a baking recipe using rolled oats. I will not make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spencer #2 March 05, 2014

These turned out beautifully, exactly as I remember when I was on foreign study in Scotland and the rest of the UK. My English hubby-to-be said this is the first time he's had a really authentic scone since he moved to the USA. <br/><br/>One quick comment -- when making the recipe I realized I only had 1 1/2 cups of rolled oats, but I had plenty of oat bran, so I used 1/2 cup of oat bran to make up the difference. They still tasted delicious (and now there's extra fiber too, which is never a bad thing).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
podkaynelives June 11, 2013

This is a great recipe. It's actually in the Company's Coming Muffins and More cookbook and I love it

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ashleystone7 April 13, 2012

Wow. These are easy. In the time it took to preheat the oven to 425 I prepared these and they were ready to go into the oven. The texture is a little heavier than other scones but I assume due to the rolled oats. They taste delicious right out of the oven. I followed the recipe exactly except I don't have current so used raisins instead. Love them. Next time I will use blueberries and maybe a teaspoon of vanilla to make it richer. Thank you for a delicious, quick, easy and healthy recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nado2003 January 28, 2012
Scottish Scones