Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Scotcheroos Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Scotcheroos

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 17, 2011

      This is such an easy and yummy treat. I had a hard time with them getting too hard once set up the first few times I made these - but I learned NOT to 'boil'/overcook the sugar/syrup mixture. The moment the sugar is dissolved, it is ready for the pb.

      Also, because I worry about my kids getting some nutrition with their sugar, I use Total Bran Flakes instead of the rice krispy bars. There is almost no taste/texture difference, believe it or not, and the kids are getting extra fiber and vitamins with that brand of cereal instead. Bonus - I found the "Store Brand" of the Total Bran Flakes at Aldi's for less than $2/box, so they're yummy, nutritious AND inexpensive to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      These bars are so good! I did decrease the rice krispies to 5 1/2 cups, because I wanted to make sure the bars were more gooey-chewey. As another reviewer suggested, I added the peanut butter to the cooked karo/sugar mixture then mixed with the rice krispies. This was easy to make and the taste is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2007

      These are great. I have made them in the past, but never knew them by this name. It is a great description for the same recipe I know as "Iced Rice Krispie Treats". The one thing I do differently (and it makes it a great deal easier) is to add the peanut butter to the hot sugar/syrup mixture after the sugars have boiled on the stove. That way, you do not have "pockets" of peanut butter in the cereal. This is a terrific snack... just make sure the kids that have peanut allergies are aware of the peanut butter! Everyone wants a Rice Krispie Treat and may not know of the peanut butter in these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      This is the same recipe that my Gramma has been using for years. It's always been a family favorite! I like them with both milk chocolate and semi-sweet chocolate chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      These are AMAZING. My grandma and mom always would make these. They were (and maybe stil are...)my favorite sweet treat. Pretty easy and simple, but couldn't taste any better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2007

      Made by DD1 this weekend, very successfully! Apart from setting the pan on fire on her first attempt (heating the empty pan for too long, syrup & sugar went up in a whoosh of flames when she added it :)), the second attempt was good! A lesson learnt! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2007

      This is just like my mom makes! My whole family has loved them for quite a few decades!!! They will disappear from the pan!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      My mother has made these for over 20 years!!! I finally got the recipe from her a few years back, and this is EXACTLY how she made them, and EXACTLY what we always called them. This is an EXTEMELY easy recipe as my 8 and 11 yr. old girls love to help me make them. I even made them instead of cupcakes to take to school for my daughter's bday party. I suggest this recipe to EVERYONE!!! Soooo yummmmmmy!!! ~Kelly

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      My mother-in-law makes these all the time. When I moved in with my husband he always asked for Rice Krispy Treasts meaning these. He finally called his mom for the recipe. The only change we made to them is using all chocolate chips and leaving out the butterscotch chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2007

      I agree, these are the very, very best! We had a dog that use to cry when I would fix them, wanting some. The smell must have made him go crazy. Our youngest son said these were his very favorite and I use to make them for him all of the time. This recipe brings back memories.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Bar Cookie Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Scotcheroos

    Serving Size: 1 (59 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 24

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 266.1
     
    Calories from Fat 111
    41%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 129.2 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.4 g
    5%
    Sugars 22.8 g
    91%
    Protein 4.9 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites